$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge

3 stars
View map of 1255 TVSA Way, Fairbanks, AK 99709-4678

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
74 reviews
Traveler

I travel to Fairbanks on a regular basis, I choose this hotel every time. I like the staff and the... See full review

  • Josephine R.
  • Jun 30, 2015
Staff!

Nicest staff we have ever encountered. Went above and beyond our expectations. Great location in... See full review

  • MormonDMD
  • May 19, 2015
This Alaska hotel offers friendly service and modern accommodations all within minutes of the airport and bustling downtown Fairbanks. Feel right at home at this recently opened Fairbanks, Alaska hotel with modern furnishings and generous amenities. The sizeable, tidy and smoke-free rooms at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge offer high-speed Internet access, a refrigerator, a desk, cable satellite television and a coffeemaker. Each morning, hotel guests can get a start to their day with a complimentary full continental breakfast. This Fairbanks hotel's business center allows business travelers to stay productive. This Alaska lodge also offers meeting spaces accommodating up to 15 people. Unwind after a long day of sightseeing or out-of-town work in the fitness center at this Fairbanks hotel. Vacationers can enjoy convenient freeway access, allowing for quick and easy visits to nearby local attractions - such as the Museum of the North, Alaska at 40 below, the El Dorado Gold Mine and the Ice Museum - most of which are only five minutes away. Families vacationing at this Fairbanks, AK hotel will be delighted to spend the day taking a cruise on the Riverboat Discovery or playing at Pioneer Park, Alaska's largest amusement park. This Fairbanks, AK hotel is the closest hotel to the University of Alaska, Fairbanks, making this the perfect location for visiting parents, students and staff to stay. Guests can rest assured, as a hospital is only five minutes away. The Fairbanks International Airport is also only a couple miles away from this Alaska hotel. For an affordable stay at an exceptional hotel in Fairbanks, Alaska, reserve a stay online at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge! Enjoy your stay.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,32LCDTV,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,32LCDTV,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,32LCDTV,REFRIG,HI SPEED,COFMKR,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,ROLL IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,WALK IN SHOWER,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Dining

Turtle Club
14.10 mile(s) from Turtle Club, Full Service, Steak House, Open for: dinner,
Pad Thai
2.00 mile(s) from Pad Thai, Full Service, Thai, Open for: lunch, dinner,
The Roundup Steak House
4.20 mile(s) from The Roundup Steak House, Bar/Lounge, Steak House, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Chilli's Grill & Bar
5.00 mile(s) from Chilli's Grill & Bar, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Pagoda
15.10 mile(s) from Pagoda, Full Service, Chinese, Open for: lunch, dinner,
The Cookie Jar
2.50 mile(s) from The Cookie Jar, Full Service, American, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner,
Brewster's
Adjacent to Brewster's, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Pike's Landing
1.40 mile(s) from Pike's Landing, Full Service, American, Open for: breakfast, dinner,
Pump House Restaurant
1.90 mile(s) from Pump House Restaurant, Bar/Lounge, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Chena's Fine Dining
Adjacent to Chena's Fine Dining, Full Service, Seafood, Open for: dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Road Trip Fun
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
Sep 17, 2012

Last road trip for the summer

I went up with friends for the weekend, the hotel is gorgeous! We were all very excited to stay here. Rooms are very welcoming and big! But I have to say they have poor management, on several occasions we had many problems with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nickolson
Business
Oakland, California
Feb 5, 2014

Very good

Very good position, warm and cozy coming from below 0 outside. Stuff very polite, but they need a little more training regarding touristic information.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the airport, shopping center and restaurant area

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mishygirl
Business
Alaska
Sep 20, 2012

Nice

Clean, comfy room !! I would stay again. Really enjoyed the waffle maker with the breakfast. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BGallen
Business
Northway, Alaska
Dec 2, 2012

Disappointed with staff

The bed is great! I love the mattress-that is one of the reasons I like staying at this hotel in Fairbanks. I was disappointed in not getting my room cleaned on one day and then it getting halfway cleaned on another day. When I called the desk for the second day, the desk clerk said she would check on it and get back to me. She never called back. The check-in was great, but two of my contacts were with unconcerned desk personal who did not seem friendly to me as a customer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Turtletraveler
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Jan 31, 2013

Convenient

A short walk to Fred Meyers, a quick cab ride to the airport, a quick trip to UAF... The rooms were clean, shower was HOT, room was warm - even when 47 below outside. Yep, a good value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Fred Meyer.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CloudDancer
Business
Fairbanks, Alaska
Feb 21, 2013

Good Basics

Free breakfast was typical Best Western...i.e. SLIGHTLY above average. Staff was very cordial. Only downside for those driving their car (or a rental) in the winter...not enough electric plug-ins to plug your car in overnight. Get there late, your car will be unplugged..Could be a problem in the morning for you when it's really cold (below - 10) in the mornings. Rooms and building very nice and well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaw Traveler
Business
Daly City, CA
Sep 6, 2010

Very risky, non-refundable cancellation

Hair dryer and the plug did not work. No automatic wake up call for Aurora borealis. We forgot to request them, too bad!!! People had seen them in the sky on the 25 night of August.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Alaska
Dec 5, 2009

Weekend out

Our experience was good overall. We did have a few complications; the hotel did not have us registered under our names [...], and it took awhile to register because of the typo, and we were charged $20 extra because of the mistake in registration [...]. Also, room cleaning changed our linens after the first day, but only gave us 1 towel and a mat. The hotel was clean and quiet, though, and we would visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alaskafan
Business
Columbus, GA
Apr 19, 2010

Good location for the price

Experience okay. Very noisy night time hours and especially weekend nights. Walls paper thin, can hear neighbor's talking and TV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Loved Alaska
Business
Detroit Lakes, MN
Aug 14, 2010

Frustrating

[...] did a good job on booking our hotel, but we had problems upon our arrival. The hotel would not accept our [...] transaction even though we paid for the room in May (our stay was in August). They would not allow us into our room. Finally, the hotel clerk let us in the room with my charge card and double dipped my card. I got charged rack rate for the night or an additional $210 plus I already paid for the hotel through orbitz. I would not recommend booking this hotel through an online company as they will dispute the payment. Hotel was fine, but one of the staff members tried to rip us off. I'm still disputing the additional charge. Heard it happen to others through online companies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The sternwheeler was very educational and interesting along with the University (great museum).

Back to menu Return to top