$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Westmark Anchorage Hotel

3 stars
View map of 720 W. 5th Ave., Anchorage, AK 99501

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
77 reviews
Great nights sleep

The staff was wonderful, the room was nice, clean and the bed was super comfy. They made us feel... See full review

  • David J.
  • Jan 20, 2015
Short Stay

We just stayed briefly for a few hours because we had a long layover in Anchorage. It was a... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jan 22, 2015
Central Anchorage hotel suitable for business and leisure travelers

The Westmark Anchorage hotel is located in the heart of the city, close to the convention center and business facilities, as well as some of the area's leading entertainment venues, such as the Center for the Performing Arts. The hotel has been recently refurbished and is 100% non-smoking. Facilities include a fully equipped fitness center and business center. Room service is available, as is tour reservation assistance.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Located in the heart of the city's downtown district, close to the convention center
  • Business and conference facilities have everything that the business traveler needs
  • Fitness and health club facilities for all guests
Westmark Anchorage Hotel Rooms

Accommodations at the Westmark Anchorage include Standard Double and Standard King rooms. Double rooms include two double beds and a private balcony and are equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, a data port, Wi-Fi, voicemail, iron and ironing board, and hairdryer. King rooms include a king-sized bed and otherwise the same amenities as doubles. 

Things To Do:
  • Imaginarium – Science Discovery Center (next door)
  • Holy Family Cathedral (<0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Alaska Center for the Performing Arts (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Egan Civic and Convention Center (0.2 mi/0.2 km)
  • Anchorage Historic City Hall (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Town Square Municipal Park (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Leopold David House (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Fifth Avenue Mall (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Alaska Statehood Monument (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Oscar Anderson House Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee is $12 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Westmark Anchorage Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Westmark Anchorage Hotel Rooms

Standard King Room
Guest room with one king bed, coffeemaker, data port, voicemail, iron and ironing board.All rooms non-smoking
Standard Double Double Room
Guest room with two double beds, coffeemaker, data port, voicemail, iron and ironing board.All rooms non-smoking

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Alaska Anchorage: 3 mi

Dining

Solstice Cafe
Upscale American cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Westmark Anchorage offers professional planning expertise, which can make your job easier as you plan your meeting, conference, banquet or special event. Since the Westmark Anchorage is located right in the heart of downtown, it's the perfect location to meet! Catering is one of the hallmarks of this hotel, and our experts have the experience and talent to get you what you need and to work within your budget. The 5 meeting rooms total over 2,500 square feet, and can accommodate medium-size banquet groups as well as boardroom-size events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 77
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.3

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wanderer1103
Business
anchorage, alaska
Oct 10, 2014

gave it another chance

After staying at the westmark in Fairbanks I decided ti give the Anchorage one another chance. Again I was disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sherry01
Business
Kodiak, AK
Mar 24, 2014

Will not stay here again

Room was very noisy at night - even though I was on the eighth floor! Cleaning crew were across street and had a vacuum or steam cleaner running out of their van from midnight through 2:30am first night here. During the day - I heard lots of jackhammers and saws, etc due to construction of a high rise building a block away. My third day in the room I found a rolled up soiled diaper under the bed skirt - when I was looking for something I dropped. Finally, after I checked out - I heard a hotel desk person greeting and checking in a new visitor and he was offered lots of options and given details about the gym, the restaurant, etc. that I was not - would have like to have had the information as well. Oh, and the restaurant is NOT open for all of the hours advertised - they close early sometimes - so plan accordingly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sullivan's - Phenomenal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
carol55555
Business
Valdez
Nov 24, 2013

Good location/good value

Average in Anchorage means bad anywhere else in my book, but for the price ($90) the Westmark was a really nice surprise. The staff are really nice and really caring and the room was cleaner than most. Paid parking was tight, but staff were able to help every time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mooses tooth for pizza and outrageous beer

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ramey
Business
denver, colorado
Feb 16, 2013

Mrs Ramey Joihnson

the hotel is lovely, good location. However, the entire stay- 3 days my room was never cleaned, Had to ask for clean towels, tea, etc every night when i got ind late. that was disappointing, Could use more parking next to building. I would stay again IF I knew the issue of having the roon cleaned everyday was settled,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
michaelin99603
Business
homer alaska
Feb 7, 2013

the best downtown location

a very comfortable hotel just across the street from 2 of the best restaurants in anchorage. then it is less than a 5 min walk to the preforming arts center!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Digger of gold
Business
Anc
Oct 22, 2012

fantastic getaway

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel I will tell my friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julie the Quilter
Business
Santa Rosa, CA
Aug 25, 2012

Perfect for my needs

My one night stay at the Westmark Anchorage before boarding the train to Denali National Park made it possible to utilize the time to enjoy a quick glimpse of Anchorage. One block to the People Mover which brought me in to town from the airport, two blocks to the Trolley tour of the city, across the street from the Glacier Brewhouse wonderful dinner, a short walk to the train depot and even just one block from a quilt shop to "feed" my fabric passion. Perfect !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patrick Portland
Business
Portland, OR
Aug 24, 2012

Would Stay Here Again

First time visiting Anchorage & this hotel was a good fit. Reasonable daily charge for self parking; convenient location; clean & nice size room & bathroom. Only had breakfast once at the restaurant onsite at the hotel - Solstice. For the money, not that great - staff seems aloof & clueless. Look around - you can do better for breakfast. All in all, the hotel is a good deal considering it's in downtown Anchorage & conveniently located to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Glacier Brew House right across the street from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zuminstructor
Business
Juneau AK
Jun 28, 2011

wonderful weekend

I really liked the location. Everything I needed or wanted was within walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zuminstructor
Business
Juneau AK
Jun 28, 2011

wonderful weekend

I really liked the location. Everything I needed or wanted was within walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top