$249 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

Westmark Anchorage Hotel

3 stars
720 W. 5th Ave., Anchorage, AK 99501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
89 reviews
Perfect Location

Perfect Location for Anchorage, new art venues, restaurants, and museums. Great young staff wiling... See full review

  • Paperclip
  • Jun 29, 2013
Great location to see the city

Staff were very helpful. Enjoyable one night stay. See full review

  • msu64
  • Jun 13, 2014
Central Anchorage hotel suitable for business and leisure travelers

The Westmark Anchorage hotel is located in the heart of the city, close to the convention center and business facilities, as well as some of the area's leading entertainment venues, such as the Center for the Performing Arts. The hotel has been recently refurbished and is 100% non-smoking. Facilities include a fully equipped fitness center and business center. Room service is available, as is tour reservation assistance.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Located in the heart of the city's downtown district, close to the convention center
  • Business and conference facilities have everything that the business traveler needs
  • Fitness and health club facilities for all guests
Westmark Anchorage Hotel Rooms

Accommodations at the Westmark Anchorage include Standard Double and Standard King rooms. Double rooms include two double beds and a private balcony and are equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, a data port, Wi-Fi, voicemail, iron and ironing board, and hairdryer. King rooms include a king-sized bed and otherwise the same amenities as doubles. 

Things To Do:
  • Imaginarium – Science Discovery Center (next door)
  • Holy Family Cathedral (<0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Alaska Center for the Performing Arts (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Egan Civic and Convention Center (0.2 mi/0.2 km)
  • Anchorage Historic City Hall (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Town Square Municipal Park (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Leopold David House (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Fifth Avenue Mall (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Alaska Statehood Monument (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Oscar Anderson House Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee is $12 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Westmark Anchorage Hotel Rooms

Standard King Room
Guest room with one king bed, coffeemaker, data port, voicemail, iron and ironing board.All rooms non-smoking
Standard Double Double Room
Guest room with two double beds, coffeemaker, data port, voicemail, iron and ironing board.All rooms non-smoking

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Westmark Anchorage Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

61.2175 -149.8961
Area served
Anchorage, Alaska
Nearby airports
Ted Stevens International Airport.
Area description
In the center of downtown Anchorage.

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Alaska Anchorage: 3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Westmark Anchorage offers professional planning expertise, which can make your job easier as you plan your meeting, conference, banquet or special event. Since the Westmark Anchorage is located right in the heart of downtown, it's the perfect location to meet! Catering is one of the hallmarks of this hotel, and our experts have the experience and talent to get you what you need and to work within your budget. The 5 meeting rooms total over 2,500 square feet, and can accommodate medium-size banquet groups as well as boardroom-size events.

Dining

Solstice Cafe
Upscale American cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fairfield bay arkansas
Jun 12, 2011

Westmark Anchorage Hotel

excelent We arrived the day before our cruse started.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fairfield bay arkansas
Jun 12, 2011

Westmark Anchorage Hotel

excelent We arrived the day before our cruse started.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
anchorage
May 10, 2011

VERY disappointed!

From the moment I checked in, I was disappointed. There was a musty smell in the lobby, halls, and my room. The clerk was rude and at first told me I didn't have a reservation. He then found it and tried to put me in a double instead of the king I booked a month ago. he also told me in order to get the room for the second night booked I had to check out and then in again in the morning. I also had to pay extra for parking in a lot across the street. I finally got the king room I booked but it was of very poor quality and across from the ice machine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston
Aug 9, 2008

Terrible Restaurant

The Westmark Anchorage Hotel was typical of this class of hotels. The room was fine and a little larger than ordinary. However, the restaurant was terrible. The first meal that I ate there was breakfast. The scrambled egs were cold and the ham burned on the edges. The next day, I ate lunch at the hotel because it was raining fairly hard and I was being picked up by a shuttle to take me to a cruise. Most of the outside of the burger was burned on both sides. I tried to cut the burned portions off thinking I would be able to eat the unburned inside. I wasn't able to do so because the inside was raw. I'd consider staying at the hotel again, but I would resign myself to having to go out to eat, even if it were pouring rain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J and D
Van Wert, OH
Sep 14, 2011

location good, room not so great

We weren't very impressed with the rooms at the Westmark. I really didn't feel like the room was as clean as it should be. It was small and the bathroom was tiny. Lots of noise from outside. We won't choose to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 18, 2008

Expected better

I expected more from the Westmark. Trash was still in the room when I checked in. Had to ask for coffee and cups two of three days. Shampoo removed and never replaced. Floor never vacuumed. Parking was extra. Had to wait to check in...rooms not ready. For Anchorage, location was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Irish Pub Mc Ginty's near was gret!

Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nazinga 2000
ny N.Y.
Dec 30, 2013

weekend getaway

The location was excellent, right in the middle of downtown anchorage, one block from the shopping mall, resturants and clubs. However, they didn't offer complementary parking for their guests, the rooms don't have microwaves nor refrigerators and the furniture need to be upgraded for example, they can replace the tv box for a flat screen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The 5th ave. mall is one block along with some other stores on the way.

Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
georg8
central coast
Aug 27, 2012

Pre curise

Very average and high $ Location is good for walking to meals. Brewery across the street is good, but quite crowded with cruise ship folks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Had a less than adequate experience at Capt. Cook restaurant. High $ / low value. Stick to the brewery across the street.

Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J and D
Van Wert, OH
Sep 14, 2011

location good, room not so great

We weren't very impressed with the rooms at the Westmark. I really didn't feel like the room was as clean as it should be. It was small and the bathroom was tiny. Lots of noise from outside. We won't choose to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston
Aug 9, 2008

Terrible Restaurant

The Westmark Anchorage Hotel was typical of this class of hotels. The room was fine and a little larger than ordinary. However, the restaurant was terrible. The first meal that I ate there was breakfast. The scrambled egs were cold and the ham burned on the edges. The next day, I ate lunch at the hotel because it was raining fairly hard and I was being picked up by a shuttle to take me to a cruise. Most of the outside of the burger was burned on both sides. I tried to cut the burned portions off thinking I would be able to eat the unburned inside. I wasn't able to do so because the inside was raw. I'd consider staying at the hotel again, but I would resign myself to having to go out to eat, even if it were pouring rain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top