$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2015 Check-out: Sep 27, 2015

Westmark Anchorage Hotel

3 stars
View map of 720 W. 5th Ave., Anchorage, AK 99501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wrennie
Business
Ketchikan, AK
Nov 20, 2014

Downtown

The area is a little scary at night, which is sad. I don't think that they have an airport shuttle service. I took a cab, about $15. The hotel lobby and restaurant are nice, and the staff is attentive. My room and the floor it was on were a bit creepy--the chain locks were broken, and adjoining doors on both sides of the room seemed questionable. The king bed was more comfortable than many. The ice maker didn't work. Overall, I wouldn't stay here again, although it is evident that they are trying. They certainly cannot be held responsible for the lackluster location---a couple of the better hotels are there as well. Anchorage has a distressing homeless and drug problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kseniia
Couples
Valdez, Alaska
Oct 24, 2014

$12.00 parking!!!

This used to be a pretty good hotel couple years ago. what we saw not I would not want other people to see: hair in the bath tub after previous customers I believe. I was shocked that we had to pay a $12.00 parking fee staying in this hotel and parking on their parking lot. we had an 8-months-old baby and asked for a crib. we'd better not! this crib was like in a horror movie. we preferred that baby slept with us in our bed. old TVs, old smell in the room. Very bad impression. Would not recommend. They need renovation and over look there prices. Parking and these king of things should be included in the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Glacier brew house. Good atmosphere, good beer, good American food.

Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wanderer1103
Single
anchorage, alaska
Oct 10, 2014

gave it another chance

After staying at the westmark in Fairbanks I decided ti give the Anchorage one another chance. Again I was disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jebb11
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Aug 2, 2014

Good location

Reminda me of a 70's hotel. Very dated. Old tv's and sloppy beds. Do not eat breakfast at the resturant. Terrible service and is worse than most places I have been. This hotel is a Holland America cruise ship hotel. Most people don't have a choice when they stay there because this is where the cruise line puts them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Glacier Brewery is across the street. Good beer and great food.

Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
msu64
Couples
crossville
Jun 13, 2014

Great location to see the city

Staff were very helpful. Enjoyable one night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joshua Johnston
Friends
Omaha, NE
Apr 29, 2014

Excellent Stay

The room was a tiny bit outdated and the hotel was a bit older, but the location was perfect for everything in downtown Anchorage. The staff was very accomodating, and our stay was perfect. Would definitely recommend for the price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sloper stuck in ANC
Business
California
Apr 27, 2014

Good stay for one night

Great value for April and for one night-only. There is a $12 parking fee that was not initially stated prior booking, but overall value is good because of the central location in downtown area. No meal is included, but there is a good restaurant conveniently located. Staff were very friendly and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sherry01
Single
Kodiak, AK
Mar 24, 2014

Will not stay here again

Room was very noisy at night - even though I was on the eighth floor! Cleaning crew were across street and had a vacuum or steam cleaner running out of their van from midnight through 2:30am first night here. During the day - I heard lots of jackhammers and saws, etc due to construction of a high rise building a block away. My third day in the room I found a rolled up soiled diaper under the bed skirt - when I was looking for something I dropped. Finally, after I checked out - I heard a hotel desk person greeting and checking in a new visitor and he was offered lots of options and given details about the gym, the restaurant, etc. that I was not - would have like to have had the information as well. Oh, and the restaurant is NOT open for all of the hours advertised - they close early sometimes - so plan accordingly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sullivan's - Phenomenal!

Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Akrower
Business
Alaska
Feb 16, 2014

Close to great food.

As a frequent traveler I appreciate food options within walking distance. This Hotel has many.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jsulliv
Business
Vancouver, WA
Jan 11, 2014

Westmark, Anchorage

horrible internet and there was a stabbing outside the hotel at 9:30 on January 7th.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent food across the street at the Brew House

Back to menu Return to top