$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 24, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

Westmark Anchorage Hotel

3 stars
View map of 720 W. 5th Ave., Anchorage, AK 99501

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
72 reviews
Great nights sleep

The staff was wonderful, the room was nice, clean and the bed was super comfy. They made us feel... See full review

  • David J.
  • Jan 20, 2015
Short Stay

We just stayed briefly for a few hours because we had a long layover in Anchorage. It was a... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jan 22, 2015
Central Anchorage hotel suitable for business and leisure travelers

The Westmark Anchorage hotel is located in the heart of the city, close to the convention center and business facilities, as well as some of the area's leading entertainment venues, such as the Center for the Performing Arts. The hotel has been recently refurbished and is 100% non-smoking. Facilities include a fully equipped fitness center and business center. Room service is available, as is tour reservation assistance.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Located in the heart of the city's downtown district, close to the convention center
  • Business and conference facilities have everything that the business traveler needs
  • Fitness and health club facilities for all guests
Westmark Anchorage Hotel Rooms

Accommodations at the Westmark Anchorage include Standard Double and Standard King rooms. Double rooms include two double beds and a private balcony and are equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, a data port, Wi-Fi, voicemail, iron and ironing board, and hairdryer. King rooms include a king-sized bed and otherwise the same amenities as doubles. 

Things To Do:
  • Imaginarium – Science Discovery Center (next door)
  • Holy Family Cathedral (<0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Alaska Center for the Performing Arts (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Egan Civic and Convention Center (0.2 mi/0.2 km)
  • Anchorage Historic City Hall (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Town Square Municipal Park (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Leopold David House (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Fifth Avenue Mall (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Alaska Statehood Monument (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Oscar Anderson House Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee is $12 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Westmark Anchorage Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Westmark Anchorage Hotel Rooms

Standard King Room
Guest room with one king bed, coffeemaker, data port, voicemail, iron and ironing board.All rooms non-smoking
Standard Double Double Room
Guest room with two double beds, coffeemaker, data port, voicemail, iron and ironing board.All rooms non-smoking

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Alaska Anchorage: 3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Westmark Anchorage offers professional planning expertise, which can make your job easier as you plan your meeting, conference, banquet or special event. Since the Westmark Anchorage is located right in the heart of downtown, it's the perfect location to meet! Catering is one of the hallmarks of this hotel, and our experts have the experience and talent to get you what you need and to work within your budget. The 5 meeting rooms total over 2,500 square feet, and can accommodate medium-size banquet groups as well as boardroom-size events.

Dining

Solstice Cafe
Upscale American cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paperclip
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 29, 2013

Perfect Location

Perfect Location for Anchorage, new art venues, restaurants, and museums. Great young staff wiling to help. Good price considering the summer tourist season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ginger is a great restaurant with Italian Asian fusion. Anchorage hosts some very creative young chefs, who knew.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Debbie L.
Business
Fort Myers
Apr 6, 2015

Needs Updating

The hotel staff was incredibly friendly. The lobby of the hotel is pretty nice. The rooms are very outdated. Need new beds, tvs, and decor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N/A
Jan 22, 2015

Short Stay

We just stayed briefly for a few hours because we had a long layover in Anchorage. It was a pleasant stay for the time we were there, I would book a room again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elizabeth R.
Business
honolulu
Jan 22, 2015

OK hotel

Staff will put you in a better room if you push them to do so (for instance, if they unreasonably kept you waiting). It may not be the best dollar value and there was some hair in the shower (always a peeve of mine) but otherwise OK. Staff is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David J.
Business
Eagle River
Jan 20, 2015

Great nights sleep

The staff was wonderful, the room was nice, clean and the bed was super comfy. They made us feel right at home. Plus the Solstice bar and grill served wonderful food. Can't wait for another reason to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cecilia h.
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

Great over night stay

We like to stay over night when we see a show in anchorage. The Westmark is a great deal because it's clean, has great customer service and so close when you are downtown for a show at the Atwood or Discovery theater. They also have a good resturant right inside. Parking has a fee but you can park yourself and it's con isn't and not too pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to downtown entertainment venues. If you are planning on a broadway how in anchorage this is a great go to hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ticker33
Business
Houston, ask
Nov 27, 2014

Business night in ANC

Was pleased with location and quietness of the Westmark

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wrennie
Business
Ketchikan, AK
Nov 20, 2014

Downtown

The area is a little scary at night, which is sad. I don't think that they have an airport shuttle service. I took a cab, about $15. The hotel lobby and restaurant are nice, and the staff is attentive. My room and the floor it was on were a bit creepy--the chain locks were broken, and adjoining doors on both sides of the room seemed questionable. The king bed was more comfortable than many. The ice maker didn't work. Overall, I wouldn't stay here again, although it is evident that they are trying. They certainly cannot be held responsible for the lackluster location---a couple of the better hotels are there as well. Anchorage has a distressing homeless and drug problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kseniia
Business
Valdez, Alaska
Oct 24, 2014

$12.00 parking!!!

This used to be a pretty good hotel couple years ago. what we saw not I would not want other people to see: hair in the bath tub after previous customers I believe. I was shocked that we had to pay a $12.00 parking fee staying in this hotel and parking on their parking lot. we had an 8-months-old baby and asked for a crib. we'd better not! this crib was like in a horror movie. we preferred that baby slept with us in our bed. old TVs, old smell in the room. Very bad impression. Would not recommend. They need renovation and over look there prices. Parking and these king of things should be included in the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Glacier brew house. Good atmosphere, good beer, good American food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wanderer1103
Business
anchorage, alaska
Oct 10, 2014

gave it another chance

After staying at the westmark in Fairbanks I decided ti give the Anchorage one another chance. Again I was disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jebb11
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Aug 2, 2014

Good location

Reminda me of a 70's hotel. Very dated. Old tv's and sloppy beds. Do not eat breakfast at the resturant. Terrible service and is worse than most places I have been. This hotel is a Holland America cruise ship hotel. Most people don't have a choice when they stay there because this is where the cruise line puts them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Glacier Brewery is across the street. Good beer and great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top