Westmark Anchorage Hotel

3 stars
720 W. 5th Ave., Anchorage, AK 99501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
66 reviews
Perfect Location

Perfect Location for Anchorage, new art venues, restaurants, and museums. Great young staff wiling... See full review

  • Paperclip
  • Jun 29, 2013
Great location to see the city

Staff were very helpful. Enjoyable one night stay. See full review

  • msu64
  • Jun 13, 2014
Central Anchorage hotel suitable for business and leisure travelers

The Westmark Anchorage hotel is located in the heart of the city, close to the convention center and business facilities, as well as some of the area's leading entertainment venues, such as the Center for the Performing Arts. The hotel has been recently refurbished and is 100% non-smoking. Facilities include a fully equipped fitness center and business center. Room service is available, as is tour reservation assistance.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Located in the heart of the city's downtown district, close to the convention center
  • Business and conference facilities have everything that the business traveler needs
  • Fitness and health club facilities for all guests
Westmark Anchorage Hotel Rooms

Accommodations at the Westmark Anchorage include Standard Double and Standard King rooms. Double rooms include two double beds and a private balcony and are equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, a data port, Wi-Fi, voicemail, iron and ironing board, and hairdryer. King rooms include a king-sized bed and otherwise the same amenities as doubles. 

Things To Do:
  • Imaginarium – Science Discovery Center (next door)
  • Holy Family Cathedral (<0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Alaska Center for the Performing Arts (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Egan Civic and Convention Center (0.2 mi/0.2 km)
  • Anchorage Historic City Hall (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Town Square Municipal Park (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Leopold David House (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Fifth Avenue Mall (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Alaska Statehood Monument (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Oscar Anderson House Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee is $12 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Westmark Anchorage Hotel Rooms

Standard King Room
Guest room with one king bed, coffeemaker, data port, voicemail, iron and ironing board.All rooms non-smoking
Standard Double Double Room
Guest room with two double beds, coffeemaker, data port, voicemail, iron and ironing board.All rooms non-smoking

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

61.2175 -149.8961
Area served
Anchorage, Alaska
Nearby airports
Ted Stevens International Airport.
Area description
In the center of downtown Anchorage.

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Alaska Anchorage: 3 mi

Dining

Solstice Cafe
Upscale American cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Westmark Anchorage offers professional planning expertise, which can make your job easier as you plan your meeting, conference, banquet or special event. Since the Westmark Anchorage is located right in the heart of downtown, it's the perfect location to meet! Catering is one of the hallmarks of this hotel, and our experts have the experience and talent to get you what you need and to work within your budget. The 5 meeting rooms total over 2,500 square feet, and can accommodate medium-size banquet groups as well as boardroom-size events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wrennie
Business
Ketchikan, AK
Nov 20, 2014

Downtown

The area is a little scary at night, which is sad. I don't think that they have an airport shuttle service. I took a cab, about $15. The hotel lobby and restaurant are nice, and the staff is attentive. My room and the floor it was on were a bit creepy--the chain locks were broken, and adjoining doors on both sides of the room seemed questionable. The king bed was more comfortable than many. The ice maker didn't work. Overall, I wouldn't stay here again, although it is evident that they are trying. They certainly cannot be held responsible for the lackluster location---a couple of the better hotels are there as well. Anchorage has a distressing homeless and drug problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kseniia
Business
Valdez, Alaska
Oct 24, 2014

$12.00 parking!!!

This used to be a pretty good hotel couple years ago. what we saw not I would not want other people to see: hair in the bath tub after previous customers I believe. I was shocked that we had to pay a $12.00 parking fee staying in this hotel and parking on their parking lot. we had an 8-months-old baby and asked for a crib. we'd better not! this crib was like in a horror movie. we preferred that baby slept with us in our bed. old TVs, old smell in the room. Very bad impression. Would not recommend. They need renovation and over look there prices. Parking and these king of things should be included in the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Glacier brew house. Good atmosphere, good beer, good American food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wanderer1103
Business
anchorage, alaska
Oct 10, 2014

gave it another chance

After staying at the westmark in Fairbanks I decided ti give the Anchorage one another chance. Again I was disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jebb11
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Aug 2, 2014

Good location

Reminda me of a 70's hotel. Very dated. Old tv's and sloppy beds. Do not eat breakfast at the resturant. Terrible service and is worse than most places I have been. This hotel is a Holland America cruise ship hotel. Most people don't have a choice when they stay there because this is where the cruise line puts them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Glacier Brewery is across the street. Good beer and great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mozzie
Business
Massachusetts
Jun 27, 2014

Westmark, ANC

This hotel has a wonderful downtown location where you can walk to everything. Although it appears to have been updated some things still could use a little sprucing up. The elevators are very old and have a weird stone floor in them and other floors in the hotel are also a bit weird. The room was very nice and comfortable and staff was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Snow City Cafe great for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
msu64
Business
crossville
Jun 13, 2014

Great location to see the city

Staff were very helpful. Enjoyable one night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joshua Johnston
Business
Omaha, NE
Apr 29, 2014

Excellent Stay

The room was a tiny bit outdated and the hotel was a bit older, but the location was perfect for everything in downtown Anchorage. The staff was very accomodating, and our stay was perfect. Would definitely recommend for the price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sloper stuck in ANC
Business
California
Apr 27, 2014

Good stay for one night

Great value for April and for one night-only. There is a $12 parking fee that was not initially stated prior booking, but overall value is good because of the central location in downtown area. No meal is included, but there is a good restaurant conveniently located. Staff were very friendly and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cinnamoninak
Business
Wasilla, Ak
Apr 15, 2014

Business trip

Hotel staff very nice, $12.00 is expensive to park and when asked about the high price about parking, staff said" Well, that's downtown parking for ya" So maybe your hotel can be the ones to tell their guests "Parking is free" for Hotel guests... Thank you for Choosing Westmark... Also, none of the ice machines worked, I went to 4 different floors looking for ice, and when I called the front desk, they said try the 9th floor.. This info would be great at time of check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Westmark Anchorage Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sherry01
Business
Kodiak, AK
Mar 24, 2014

Will not stay here again

Room was very noisy at night - even though I was on the eighth floor! Cleaning crew were across street and had a vacuum or steam cleaner running out of their van from midnight through 2:30am first night here. During the day - I heard lots of jackhammers and saws, etc due to construction of a high rise building a block away. My third day in the room I found a rolled up soiled diaper under the bed skirt - when I was looking for something I dropped. Finally, after I checked out - I heard a hotel desk person greeting and checking in a new visitor and he was offered lots of options and given details about the gym, the restaurant, etc. that I was not - would have like to have had the information as well. Oh, and the restaurant is NOT open for all of the hours advertised - they close early sometimes - so plan accordingly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sullivan's - Phenomenal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top