$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

SpringHill Suites by Marriott Anchorage University Lake

3 stars
4050 University Lake Drive, 4050 University Lake Drive, Anchorage, AK 99508
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
29 reviews
Fantastic hotel in Anchorage

It was my first time to ever be in Alaska and I was there alone so it was a little overwhelming.... See full review

  • Hayden1228
  • Jan 20, 2014
Fell in Love

I stayed there 9 days while on vacation. I loved everything about the hotel except one small thing... See full review

  • Brian Visiting Alaska
  • Sep 20, 2013
Natural beauty and contemporary style near Anchorage universities

SpringHill Suites by Marriott Anchorage University Lake offers modern design, up-to-date amenities and sweeping mountain views. The University of Alaska Anchorage and Alaska Pacific University are minutes from the hotel. Providence Alaska Medical Center and Alaska Native Medical Center are also nearby. Stylish studio suites at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Anchorage University Lake are decorated in vivid colors, with chrome accents and sleek lines. A free breakfast buffet and complimentary Wi-Fi are provided.

Highlights
  • Free breakfast buffet 
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Some suites feature lake and mountain views
  • Indoor pool and whirlpool
Rooms

Complimentary Wi-Fi is provided, along with sofa sleepers with chaise lounges. A desk nook features a frosted glass screen that opens to the sleeping space. LCD TVs are connected to cable channels and in-room movies. iPod docking stations, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards are provided. An additional convenience in each room is a kitchenette with coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator and sink. Rooms at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Anchorage University Lake look out onto the Chugach Mountains or downtown Anchorage.

Features

A complimentary breakfast buffet is included at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Anchorage University Lake. The 24-hour Market sells snacks and beverages. A fitness center features an elliptical machine, exercise bike, free weights and treadmills. The fitness center overlooks the indoor pool and whirlpool.

An outdoor patio provides expansive views of University Lake and the Chugach Mountains. Free high-speed Wi-Fi can be accessed throughout the hotel. On-site parking at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Anchorage University Lake is complimentary.

Transportation
  • Alaska Route 1 (2 mi/3 km) 
  • Alaska Railroad Depot (4 mi/6 km)
  • Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport (6 mi/9.5 km)
  • Local area shuttle available
Attractions
  • Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center (3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Dimond Center mall (3 mi/5.5 km)
  • Fifth Avenue Mall (3 mi/5.6 km)
  • Dena'ina Civic and Convention Center (4 mi/5.7 km)
  • Alaska Center for the Performing Arts (4 mi/5.8 km)
  • William A. Egan Civic and Convention Center (4 mi/5.8 km)
  • Alaska Native Heritage Center (4 mi/7 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 580 square feet of function space

Hotel Map

61.1882 -149.8018
Area served
Anchorage
Nearby airports
Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport, (ANC), 7.00, MI, E;
Area description
Suburban, Location Type: Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed SpringHill Suites by Marriott Anchorage University Lake also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Alaska Anchorage: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for SpringHill Suites by Marriott Anchorage University Lake

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Anchorage University Lake

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tampa Family
Tampa, FL
Aug 21, 2014

Alaskan Adventure

This hotel was decent and provided for a safe and comfortable "home away from home". The rooms were clean but set-up a bit awkward. We were put in a disabled room for some reason, and the toilet was a whole separate room from the shower, and the doors did not close off completely, which was strange. But it was comfortable. The breakfast is included, which is great, but the food was average at best. The hotel was full, but yet they still only set up one side of the breakfast area, so we had to wait in line and it was a tight squeeze. But overall, it was good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a restaurant called the "Sea Galley" not too far from the hotel that has fantastic seafood. Don't let the appearance of the place throw you off (because it is a bit shabby)! This was recommended by a local, and it was REALLY good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Anchorage University Lake

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rhodester
San Antonio, TX
Aug 7, 2014

Anchorage stay

Location was good so long as you have a car to get around. The hotel staff were courteous. The room they gave us was a handi-capped room, said it was the only one they had left with the 2 queen beds and was not facing the lake, which was a ittle disappointing. The room itself was spacious, clean and had a small fridge and microwave, which was nice. The continental breakfast was adequate. I would have preferred they stayed open until 10am rather than close down at 9am. The 2 biggest issues I had was that the room walls/door were paper thin as we could hear the noise from the hallway quite loudly. I tried stuffing towels in the door frame where we could see through to the light in the hallway to try to muffle sound. The 2nd big issue was the hot tub. I was disappointed that several times in the evening when I wanted to use it, it was closed due to children being in the pool and hot tub earlier and having "accidents", causing it to be closed down. The one night I did get to use the hot tub, it was about 10PM and there were still young children in the pool and tub, and there was no time for just adult time in that area. I would recommend they monitor this area better with the young children, and have later evening times only for adults. Even with these issues, it was still a nice hotel for the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Look into buying an AK entertainment book or AK coupon book before paying separately for all the activities, this might save you money. I did not know about a coupon book for sale until the end of our stay, and we may have been able to save money on the museums, zoo, conservation center, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Anchorage University Lake

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve in AK
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 17, 2014

Above Expectations

The hotel was a pleasant surprise. The rooms were very modern and clean. The view was fantastic with access to the running trails behind the building. And the breakfast that was complimentary was well above expectation - very good with a wide range of choices. You can get downtown from this hotel in 10 minutes with an easy commute. No problems with the location. The pool and workout room were not all that impressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Anchorage University Lake

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mamasaur
San Pedro, California
Jul 7, 2014

Great location and service

Breakfast was great and being right next to a lake for a morning walk was fantastic. I really liked that there is a shuttle service to and from the airport as well as to downtown Anchorage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Anchorage University Lake

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Extended Summer
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 30, 2014

Nice Place to Getaway

Room view of lakeside much better than other (parking lot). Nice studio environment. Included breakfast is quite ordinary--but could save $, especially for families/groups. Major complaints were noise from rampaging/crying children very basic cable (limited selection, no HBO), and slower Internet connection. Folks looking to be closer to Anchorage proper might want to stay on the Westside (hotel is on Eastside), altough good transportation available from hotel. Very close to Providence hosptial, Univ of Alaska. I've liked this hotel for extended (3 week +) stays and will probably use again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Anchorage University Lake

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moose tracks
Homer, Alaska
Jun 17, 2014

Typical midrange stay

The tiny suite at 275 sq feet had clogged sinks and only fair noise isolation. Our door actually malfunctioned and we had to wait for the maintenance man to jimmy the door open with his homemade lock picker. For over 200/nite it wasn't anything special but the breakfast was nicely done, real eggs, fair at best coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Anchorage University Lake

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Adopted Daughter
Anchorage, Alaska
Jan 20, 2014

Needs a little TLC...

Had an amazing spread for the free continental breakfast, a perfect temperature jacuzzi, and very accomadating staff. Unfortunately, my family and i went there basically for the swimming -- the water was a little murky and seemed dirty (but a great hot tub i must add!) and the rooms need a little more TLC from the maids...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Anchorage University Lake

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hayden1228
Dallas,Texas
Jan 20, 2014

Fantastic hotel in Anchorage

It was my first time to ever be in Alaska and I was there alone so it was a little overwhelming. The staff here made me feel so welcomed and helped me find so many things to do. And the shuttle service is great! I will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Anchorage University Lake

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AK LA Family
Mandeville, LA
Nov 24, 2013

Large Modern Rooms

Loved this hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean and modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SpringHill Suites by Marriott Anchorage University Lake

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brian Visiting Alaska
Gilroy, CA
Sep 20, 2013

Fell in Love

I stayed there 9 days while on vacation. I loved everything about the hotel except one small thing (which I will get to below). The rooms are laid out in an interesting way and the view of the lake is so peaceful. The hotel is super quiet and the staff are very friendly. My one criticism is the smokers who congregate near the front and side entrances. I didn't come to Alaska to open the side door and take a big breath of nature only to smell stupid cigarette smoke. Do not let the smokers ruin the experience of the people who are using the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to see the Portage Highway. It's really really pretty.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search