Royal Suite Lodge

1 star
3811 Minnesota Dr, Anchorage, AK 99503
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.8
out of 5
31 reviews
Friendly

The Royal Suite Lodge was very comfortable, we actually were given a two bedroom apartment to stay... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 29, 2008
a little travel worn

The staff at Royal Suite Lodge was very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The suite was comfortable... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 2, 2008
The Royal Suites Lodge extends a warm welcome to our guests into the Anchorage area Our hotel is conveniently located in midtown Anchorage Alaska and just 10 minutes from the Ted Stevens International Airport Our location provides easy access to shopping centers restaurants entertainment venues and local businesses Daily weekly and monthly accommodations are available for our guests during both the summer and winter seasons Our hotel features spacious apartment size one and two bedroom suites that are accommodated with full size bathrooms and kitchens Affordable studio units are also available with or without kitchenettes As a complimentary service for our guests we provide free Cable TV with HBO local phone calls and high speed internet services as requested An on site laundry facility is conveniently located on site We provide free shuttle service to and from the Ted Stevens International Airport and Alaska Railroad train station Come and experience the Royal treatment in our spacious suites without paying a kings ransom We would like to thank you ahead of time for your patronage and hope your time in Alaska is a pleasant one Complimentary Airport Shuttle Local Calls Coffee Tea

Hotel Map

61.1853 -149.9128
Nearby airports
Anchorage Intl Airport, (ANC), 2.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Suite Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Royal Suite Lodge Rooms

Standard
120 AC Bath Tub Coffee Tea Maker Direct Dial Telephone Iron Ironing Board Microwave Private Bath or Shower AM FM Alarm Clock Refrigerator In Room Movies Cable Satellite TV Shower High Speed Internet Access
Suite
One Bedroom Suite - One bedroom suite with one queen bed kitchenette coffee maker living room loveseat high speed internet accesss complimentary airport shuttle. Non smoking rooms on request. City parking lot or mountain views.
Suite
Studio Suite - Studio suite with one queen bed kitchenette coffee maker high speed internet accesss complimentary airport shuttle. Non smoking rooms on request. City parking lot or mountain views.
Suite
Two Bedroom Suite - Two bedroom suite with 1 queen bed and 1 double bed kitchenette coffee maker high speed internet access complimentary airport shuttle Non smoking rooms on request City parking lot or mountain views.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
General
Air conditioned
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Sauna
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Alaska Anchorage: 2.9 mi

Dining

AMORES PIZZERIA
Located next door
CHINA GARDEN
Located 1 mile Northeast
GWENNIES
Located 4 blocks West
OUTBACK STEAKHOUSE
Located near hotel
VILLAGE INN
Located 5 blocks from hotel
WAYNES TEXAS BBQ
Located one and half miles Northeast

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
09:00 AM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Suite Lodge

Overall score

1.8 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
1.6
Room cleanliness:
2.2
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.1
Location:
2.4
Value:
2.2

6% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mabie west virginia
Jun 21, 2010

The Royal Suite Lodge was a dump.

The Royal Suite Lodge was a dump. It was not fit for a person to stay in. I refused to stay and went somewhere else.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marathon, FL
Sep 30, 2009

5 star rating less than the Bates Motel

We were shocked when we arrived at how unsafe the area was. The hotel appears to house construction workers. The door to our room was severely damaged and looked to have been kicked in several times. The door did not even fit the frame it hung it. The room was extremely filthy as far as moldy smells, filthy carpet, damp and dirty and animal excretions inside the bathroom cabinet as well as heavy cigarette smoke filled the room.The area was not a secure area that I would advise anyone - even men to stay at.Actually, the Department of Health should be called in. [...]The manager was very unreasonable as to our request for a full refund as we only unlocked the door and looked around. He couldn't seem to find anything wrong and felt they were good accomodations. He asked the desk clerk if she put us in room #16 as that was supposed to be the best accomodations. We could only imagine what the other rooms must have looked like. After a long conversation with him, he finally did agree to refund one night to us.We only made the reservation for two days prior to our arriving there as we felt that we would need someplace to stay once we flew into Anchorage, AK from Key West, FL and thought we were making a good choice based on info that we had seen on the Orbitz website. It is a place that is beyond description.I wouldn't even house my dog there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Wayne, IN
Jul 16, 2010

"Nothing to brag about"

Made use of local hiking trails. Hotel was sub-standard with no air conditioning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hiking, visitor center, and zoo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 26, 2008

Being that my airfare to ...

Being that my airfare to me was a lot of money, I figured that I would save a little on my lodging. So I knew that the ammenities wouldn't be much if any. So when I arrived at my hotel The staff was pleasent enough and gave me my room key and directions to find it. I found the room and checked the windows being that it was a first floor room. There was signs that they have been pryed open more than once. I went to the office to see if there were any 2nd floor rooms, which there was and I was on my was to my new room. When I got to the 2nd room The door was open and someone rearranged the mattresses on the floor in front of the T.V. which was on. I went down stairs only to find out later, when the police arrived that someone must have broke in. The staff appologuised and offered me a larger 2nd floor room at the same rate,which was nice of them. The new room was okay, except for the fact that there was an overseas container push up against my window, which made my room the same as a 1st floor room, because anyone could come up and visit. I used a metal coathanger to secure that window and wedged a chair in front of the front door to sleep. If I was traveling with my family I would have had to leave that hotel and book another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a bowling alley less than a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alaska Fisherman
Business
AZ
Jun 25, 2009

Don't expect much staying here.

If you don't expect much when you check in here, if you're in late and out early, then your stay won't be so bad. Not a place I'd stay with my family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Oded
Business
New York
Jul 2, 2010

horrible!! remove it from your site NOW!

[...]please check all the reviews on the net.it is a skatchy place, we slept with our money under the pillow, everything is rotten and disgusting. drunk man hanging outside, noisy, and scary.please remove it from your site, it is your reputation that is at stake here!and btw the photo above isnt how the "hotel" looks like. it's all a fraud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Fork, CO
Jun 24, 2011

royal suite lodges

Please check your hotels and motels before booking them. I knew I was in trouble when my shuttle pulled in and the parking lot was full of kids. It is the type of motel where people live who cannot afford other housing. The term suites was a misnormer. There were no plates, utensils, coffer maker or anything else. I called for a coffee maker and they sent one with no filters or coffee. The light bulb in the fridge did not work nor the one over the stove. The only good thing about it was that it was clean, fairly quiet and within walking distance of the marathon finish line which was why I went to Anchorage. If you need someone to check out your bookings, let me know and I will be glad to do it for a price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 29, 2008

Not a good choice!

There were no screens for the windowsm giving a choice of mosquitos or heat. There was an empty beer can on the floor between the wall and bedside table, a lot of filth under the bed, human hair on the shower wall. The decals on the shower bottom were rising, being annoying under foot. There is a bowling alley next door and people were outside fighting one night. However, the location is good, fairly close to both the airport and downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

About 5 minutes from downtown anchorage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth
Jul 6, 2008

run don't walk away

We did have a suite with a kitchen. There were no kitchen items there. The only coffee pot was in the lobby. The carpet was dirty and sticky we only walked on the carpet with shoes or socks. There were ice trays in the freezer, but God only knows who have touched them. The only positive was the bed and bathroom were clean. There were miss matched chairs in the room. The table was a card table that was unsteady. We had a car for transportation no restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ontario,canada
Sep 3, 2009

not at all as shown in brochure

First impression,Not at all as displayed in the brochure.The couch was a tiny love seat it was the only piece of furniture to sit on to view tv it was filthy we put the bed spread over it to use it and were unable to stretchout to relax and view tv as we both had to sit up on it it was narrow and short.Very dissappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top