Royal Suite Lodge

1 star
3811 Minnesota Dr, Anchorage, AK 99503
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.8
out of 5
60 reviews
Friendly

The Royal Suite Lodge was very comfortable, we actually were given a two bedroom apartment to stay... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 29, 2008
Friendly

The Royal Suite Lodge was very comfortable, we actually were given a two bedroom apartment to stay... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 29, 2008
The Royal Suites Lodge extends a warm welcome to our guests into the Anchorage area Our hotel is conveniently located in midtown Anchorage Alaska and just 10 minutes from the Ted Stevens International Airport Our location provides easy access to shopping centers restaurants entertainment venues and local businesses Daily weekly and monthly accommodations are available for our guests during both the summer and winter seasons Our hotel features spacious apartment size one and two bedroom suites that are accommodated with full size bathrooms and kitchens Affordable studio units are also available with or without kitchenettes As a complimentary service for our guests we provide free Cable TV with HBO local phone calls and high speed internet services as requested An on site laundry facility is conveniently located on site We provide free shuttle service to and from the Ted Stevens International Airport and Alaska Railroad train station Come and experience the Royal treatment in our spacious suites without paying a kings ransom We would like to thank you ahead of time for your patronage and hope your time in Alaska is a pleasant one Complimentary Airport Shuttle Local Calls Coffee Tea

Royal Suite Lodge Rooms

Standard
120 AC Bath Tub Coffee Tea Maker Direct Dial Telephone Iron Ironing Board Microwave Private Bath or Shower AM FM Alarm Clock Refrigerator In Room Movies Cable Satellite TV Shower High Speed Internet Access
Suite
One Bedroom Suite - One bedroom suite with one queen bed kitchenette coffee maker living room loveseat high speed internet accesss complimentary airport shuttle. Non smoking rooms on request. City parking lot or mountain views.
Suite
Studio Suite - Studio suite with one queen bed kitchenette coffee maker high speed internet accesss complimentary airport shuttle. Non smoking rooms on request. City parking lot or mountain views.
Suite
Two Bedroom Suite - Two bedroom suite with 1 queen bed and 1 double bed kitchenette coffee maker high speed internet access complimentary airport shuttle Non smoking rooms on request City parking lot or mountain views.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
General
Air conditioned
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Sauna
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Suite Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

61.1853 -149.9128
Nearby airports
Anchorage Intl Airport, (ANC), 2.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Airport

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Alaska Anchorage: 2.9 mi

Dining

AMORES PIZZERIA
Located next door
CHINA GARDEN
Located 1 mile Northeast
GWENNIES
Located 4 blocks West
OUTBACK STEAKHOUSE
Located near hotel
VILLAGE INN
Located 5 blocks from hotel
WAYNES TEXAS BBQ
Located one and half miles Northeast

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
09:00 AM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Suite Lodge

Overall score

1.8 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
1.6
Room cleanliness:
2.2
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.1
Location:
2.4
Value:
2.2

7% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Valdez
Aug 21, 2008

Nothing good here

First thing that went wrong was the airport shuttle they had discontinued so I had to get a cab to the hotel. They reimbursed for the cab, but it was a pain. Then the hotel is not in a good neighborhood and I was propositioned on the way to my room. There was no place to eat within a reasonable walking distance and leaving the room did not seem like a good idea. The residents were loud and in the early morning hours I was rousted out of bed due to the police executing a search/sweep of the rooms for unlawful activites. Then in the morning I was left to fend for myself to get back to the airport for my flight home. The airport shuttle was still sitting outside and not taking anyone to the airport. I had to catch a ride with the shuttle from a neighboring hotel. I will never go stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Nothing worth leaving your stuff in your room for.

Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Valdez
Aug 21, 2008

Nothing good here

First thing that went wrong was the airport shuttle they had discontinued so I had to get a cab to the hotel. They reimbursed for the cab, but it was a pain. Then the hotel is not in a good neighborhood and I was propositioned on the way to my room. There was no place to eat within a reasonable walking distance and leaving the room did not seem like a good idea. The residents were loud and in the early morning hours I was rousted out of bed due to the police executing a search/sweep of the rooms for unlawful activites. Then in the morning I was left to fend for myself to get back to the airport for my flight home. The airport shuttle was still sitting outside and not taking anyone to the airport. I had to catch a ride with the shuttle from a neighboring hotel. I will never go stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Nothing worth leaving your stuff in your room for.

Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 20, 2008

Short stays fine

This hotel/motel is spacy, providing plenty of room. A single unit can accommodate 3 people easily and is OK for small or large groups (more than one room may be required though) . Food service/facilities are about a mile away and there are no courtesy cars available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Stop by at Carrs grocery store (well stocked) and buy foods of your preference as the closest restaurant is more than a mile away. Other option is to rent a car to get around Anchorage. Otherwise you may cook at the small kitchenet that is part of your rental.

Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 20, 2008

Short stays fine

This hotel/motel is spacy, providing plenty of room. A single unit can accommodate 3 people easily and is OK for small or large groups (more than one room may be required though) . Food service/facilities are about a mile away and there are no courtesy cars available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Stop by at Carrs grocery store (well stocked) and buy foods of your preference as the closest restaurant is more than a mile away. Other option is to rent a car to get around Anchorage. Otherwise you may cook at the small kitchenet that is part of your rental.

Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 8, 2008

Adequate

The facility was minimal. The building is old and maintenance is ok the utilities worked but some need to be replaced as they have cracks and show age. There are no dining facilites on site and the closest is a few blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 8, 2008

Adequate

The facility was minimal. The building is old and maintenance is ok the utilities worked but some need to be replaced as they have cracks and show age. There are no dining facilites on site and the closest is a few blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jul 26, 2008

Being that my airfare to ...

Being that my airfare to me was a lot of money, I figured that I would save a little on my lodging. So I knew that the ammenities wouldn't be much if any. So when I arrived at my hotel The staff was pleasent enough and gave me my room key and directions to find it. I found the room and checked the windows being that it was a first floor room. There was signs that they have been pryed open more than once. I went to the office to see if there were any 2nd floor rooms, which there was and I was on my was to my new room. When I got to the 2nd room The door was open and someone rearranged the mattresses on the floor in front of the T.V. which was on. I went down stairs only to find out later, when the police arrived that someone must have broke in. The staff appologuised and offered me a larger 2nd floor room at the same rate,which was nice of them. The new room was okay, except for the fact that there was an overseas container push up against my window, which made my room the same as a 1st floor room, because anyone could come up and visit. I used a metal coathanger to secure that window and wedged a chair in front of the front door to sleep. If I was traveling with my family I would have had to leave that hotel and book another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a bowling alley less than a block away.

Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jul 26, 2008

Being that my airfare to ...

Being that my airfare to me was a lot of money, I figured that I would save a little on my lodging. So I knew that the ammenities wouldn't be much if any. So when I arrived at my hotel The staff was pleasent enough and gave me my room key and directions to find it. I found the room and checked the windows being that it was a first floor room. There was signs that they have been pryed open more than once. I went to the office to see if there were any 2nd floor rooms, which there was and I was on my was to my new room. When I got to the 2nd room The door was open and someone rearranged the mattresses on the floor in front of the T.V. which was on. I went down stairs only to find out later, when the police arrived that someone must have broke in. The staff appologuised and offered me a larger 2nd floor room at the same rate,which was nice of them. The new room was okay, except for the fact that there was an overseas container push up against my window, which made my room the same as a 1st floor room, because anyone could come up and visit. I used a metal coathanger to secure that window and wedged a chair in front of the front door to sleep. If I was traveling with my family I would have had to leave that hotel and book another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a bowling alley less than a block away.

Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 7, 2008

Basic and fills a niche

The Royal Suite Lodge was sufficient. As a tired fisherman who had just gotten off the river I welcomed a reasonable, basic place to regroup, shower, and get some sleep. My non-smoking room still had lingering cigarette aroma and needed to be aired out. The pillows were in need of replacement, and the restaurant choices near-by were very limited here. The Royal Suite Lodge does fill a niche. It is affordable, while providing basic amenities. The owner is a gentleman who extends himself to be accommodating to his patrons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 7, 2008

Basic and fills a niche

The Royal Suite Lodge was sufficient. As a tired fisherman who had just gotten off the river I welcomed a reasonable, basic place to regroup, shower, and get some sleep. My non-smoking room still had lingering cigarette aroma and needed to be aired out. The pillows were in need of replacement, and the restaurant choices near-by were very limited here. The Royal Suite Lodge does fill a niche. It is affordable, while providing basic amenities. The owner is a gentleman who extends himself to be accommodating to his patrons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top