Royal Suite Lodge

1 star
3811 Minnesota Dr, Anchorage, AK 99503
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
1.8
out of 5
31 reviews
Friendly

The Royal Suite Lodge was very comfortable, we actually were given a two bedroom apartment to stay... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 29, 2008
a little travel worn

The staff at Royal Suite Lodge was very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The suite was comfortable... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 2, 2008
The Royal Suites Lodge extends a warm welcome to our guests into the Anchorage area Our hotel is conveniently located in midtown Anchorage Alaska and just 10 minutes from the Ted Stevens International Airport Our location provides easy access to shopping centers restaurants entertainment venues and local businesses Daily weekly and monthly accommodations are available for our guests during both the summer and winter seasons Our hotel features spacious apartment size one and two bedroom suites that are accommodated with full size bathrooms and kitchens Affordable studio units are also available with or without kitchenettes As a complimentary service for our guests we provide free Cable TV with HBO local phone calls and high speed internet services as requested An on site laundry facility is conveniently located on site We provide free shuttle service to and from the Ted Stevens International Airport and Alaska Railroad train station Come and experience the Royal treatment in our spacious suites without paying a kings ransom We would like to thank you ahead of time for your patronage and hope your time in Alaska is a pleasant one Complimentary Airport Shuttle Local Calls Coffee Tea

Hotel Map

61.1853 -149.9128
Nearby airports
Anchorage Intl Airport, (ANC), 2.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Suite Lodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Royal Suite Lodge Rooms

Standard
120 AC Bath Tub Coffee Tea Maker Direct Dial Telephone Iron Ironing Board Microwave Private Bath or Shower AM FM Alarm Clock Refrigerator In Room Movies Cable Satellite TV Shower High Speed Internet Access
Suite
One Bedroom Suite - One bedroom suite with one queen bed kitchenette coffee maker living room loveseat high speed internet accesss complimentary airport shuttle. Non smoking rooms on request. City parking lot or mountain views.
Suite
Studio Suite - Studio suite with one queen bed kitchenette coffee maker high speed internet accesss complimentary airport shuttle. Non smoking rooms on request. City parking lot or mountain views.
Suite
Two Bedroom Suite - Two bedroom suite with 1 queen bed and 1 double bed kitchenette coffee maker high speed internet access complimentary airport shuttle Non smoking rooms on request City parking lot or mountain views.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
General
Air conditioned
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Sauna
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Family plan
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
Gift shop
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Alaska Anchorage: 2.9 mi

Dining

AMORES PIZZERIA
Located next door
CHINA GARDEN
Located 1 mile Northeast
GWENNIES
Located 4 blocks West
OUTBACK STEAKHOUSE
Located near hotel
VILLAGE INN
Located 5 blocks from hotel
WAYNES TEXAS BBQ
Located one and half miles Northeast

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
09:00 AM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (31)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Suite Lodge

Overall score

1.8 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
1.6
Room cleanliness:
2.2
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.1
Location:
2.4
Value:
2.2

6% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 7, 2008

Basic and fills a niche

The Royal Suite Lodge was sufficient. As a tired fisherman who had just gotten off the river I welcomed a reasonable, basic place to regroup, shower, and get some sleep. My non-smoking room still had lingering cigarette aroma and needed to be aired out. The pillows were in need of replacement, and the restaurant choices near-by were very limited here. The Royal Suite Lodge does fill a niche. It is affordable, while providing basic amenities. The owner is a gentleman who extends himself to be accommodating to his patrons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Worth
Jul 6, 2008

run don't walk away

We did have a suite with a kitchen. There were no kitchen items there. The only coffee pot was in the lobby. The carpet was dirty and sticky we only walked on the carpet with shoes or socks. There were ice trays in the freezer, but God only knows who have touched them. The only positive was the bed and bathroom were clean. There were miss matched chairs in the room. The table was a card table that was unsteady. We had a car for transportation no restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 29, 2008

Not a good choice!

There were no screens for the windowsm giving a choice of mosquitos or heat. There was an empty beer can on the floor between the wall and bedside table, a lot of filth under the bed, human hair on the shower wall. The decals on the shower bottom were rising, being annoying under foot. There is a bowling alley next door and people were outside fighting one night. However, the location is good, fairly close to both the airport and downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

About 5 minutes from downtown anchorage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 24, 2008

excellent staff

this hotel was clean but very used. stained carpet, cobwebs. the people that run it are extremely nice, but it really needs an update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose
Jun 22, 2008

Very Bad Service

We stayed at Royal Suite Lodge in Anchorage on June 21 for a night in Room 208. To our surprise, there was no hot water in this room. We notified the front desk, who came to verify the water temperature, but told us there was nothing he could do. He left you a note because you are the owner/manager, and because he would be off duty at 12 am. Nothing was done, so our family had to take a cold shower or skip showers. There was still no hot water the next morning until we checked out at 11 am, and the new front desk person again told us there was nothing she could do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aurora, CO
Jun 14, 2008

One step up from a flop house

Royal Suite Lodge is a pooly maintained property. Pooly furnished. Furnished only with a bed an a small, very small, round table with a plastic folding chair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Is not far from the airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Joe
Jun 7, 2008

it needs to be condemed.

The Royal Suite Lodge is a hud housing complex that rents out units when they happen to be empty. It is a old dirty building that should be torn down. It is a dark and dirty place with no right to be called a motel or hotel. The card table and folding chairs where a laugh. The kitchen was a mess. The room was just a place to sleep. Other than being inside I cant say anything good about it. I would tent camp rather than stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nashua
Jun 7, 2008

Don't go there

It is not clean. It is a studio. It has a kitchen but don't have any cookware and utentils. We have this hotel two times. The second time it does not have a kitchen at all. The room is not clean and very noise at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

close to shopping and airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Braintree
Jun 6, 2008

Tired and Worn....Both Us and This Hotel

Royal Suite is too grand a title for this very tired and worn out motel. The legions of visitors before us obviously disregarded the smoking ban in what is only a motel room, hardly a suite. The grungy broken-down couch and overall sloppy housekeeping made us fearful to turn down the bed covering but the sheets were clean....a surprise. The front office staff is pleasant. Close to the airport, it permitted us a night's sleep, but we were glad our stay wasn't any longer. You get what you pay for...perhaps looking here for a good value in Anchorage was naive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Not far from the airport...appealing after a long flight from The Lower 48.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Suite Lodge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jupitermurph
Business
USA
May 3, 2008

central location

It was very large for the price - 2 bedrooms and living area with kitchen - and located in an area central to everything we needed to do in Anchorage. It was, however, also an apartment rental building and the walls and floors were paper thin. You could clearly hear the TV in other rooms and loudly hear walking overhead. I only dealt with 2 staff members while there. One was lazy and rude and the other was very helpful and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next door to a bowling alley

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top