$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2014 Check-out: Sep 13, 2014

Puffin Inn

3 stars
4400 Spenard Rd, Anchorage, AK 99517
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
20 reviews
My review of Puffin Inn

Very friendly but had to wait for my room to be ready. Had heavy luggage and no elevator in... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 6, 2008
cheap and good value

The noise from the snow moving trucks a bit much but only lasted an hour.Breakfast was decent and... See full review

  • BKkk
  • Mar 15, 2012
The Puffin Inn is conveniently located near the Ted Steven's International Airport and Lake Hood and just 10 minutes from downtown Anchorage, shopping and the Anchorage Railroad. It's still just a short drive from scenic Alaska and all of its natural beauty. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Puffin Inn has 4 distinct room styles to perfectly suit your needs. By request of many of our guest, the Puffin Inn is now a completely non-smoking hotel. Plus, new in 2006, all our rooms have air conditioning. Our deluxe section, built in 2001, has spacious, attractively appointed rooms with many comfortable features. Offering a unique blend of comfort and privacy, the Chandler Inn, which houses our boutique style rooms, is a small, completely separate building ?? block from the Puffin Inn. The moderate section building was built in 1984 and remodeled in the spring of 2002. These spacious rooms have exterior entrances making them ideal for hunters, fishermen or families with a lot of gear. While much older and smaller, our original section rooms are a bargain for the budget traveler. Newly remodeled in 2006 with new beds, furnishings, linens and carpet, these rooms are ideal when just a bed will do. Independently owned and operated, the Puffin Inn?s dedicated owner, management and staff have been serving the needs of visitors to Alaska for over 20 years. Near the Airport and Lake Hood - minutes from downtown Anchorage.

Hotel Map

61.1813 -149.9362
Nearby airports
Anchorage International Airport, (ANC), 2.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Puffin Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Puffin Inn Rooms

Boutique 1 Queen Bed
Boutique 1 queen bed-air conditioned-Separate Building one half block away-In room coffee-Sleeps 2
Moderate 2 Queen beds
Moderate 2 queen beds- AC-exterior entrance-NS In room coffee-TV-Desk- Microwave-refrigerator-Sleeps 4
Moderate Handicap Room
Moderate Handicap- 1 Queen Bed-1 Twin bed- TV Microwave-refrigerator-exterior entrances-Sleeps 3
Original 1 Queen
1 Queen bed-shower no tubs-air conditioned Older and smaller but fully renovated in 06-Sleeps 2
Original 2 Twins
2 twin beds-full bath-free continental bkfst-AC older and smaller but fully renovated in 2006-Sleeps 2
Boutique 2 Queen beds
Boutique 2 queen beds-air conditioned-separateBuilding one half block away -In room coffee-Sleeps 2
Boutique Handicap 1 Queen
Boutique handicap 1 Queen- air conditionedSeparate bldg one half block away-micro-refrig-Sleeps 2
Boutique Suite
Boutique Suite-2 queen beds-sofa sleeper-TV Air conditioned-separate bldg-mini kitchen-Sleeps 5
Deluxe 1 Queen bed
Deluxe 1 queen bed-AC-In room coffee-TV-Desk Microwave- refrigerator-hairdryer- nonsmoking-Sleeps 2
Deluxe 2 Queen Beds
Deluxe 2 queen beds-AC-In room coffee-TV-Desk Microwave-refrigerator-hairdryer-nonsmoking-Sleeps 4
Deluxe Handicap 1 Queen
Deluxe Handicap - 1 queen bed- 1 sofa sleeper AC-TV-high speed internet-microwave-frig-Sleeps 3
Deluxe Jr. Suite
Deluxe Jr Suite-1 queen bed-1 sofa sleeper AC-in room coffee-microwave-refrigerator-NS-Sleeps 3
Deluxe Suite
Deluxe Suite- 2 queen beds-sofa sleeper-2 TV AC-kitchen-jacuzzi-hairdryer-in room coffee-Sleeps 6

Amenities

  • Free parking
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Telephone

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Alaska Anchorage: 3.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Puffin Inn

Overall score

1.8 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 20
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2.2
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
1.6
Location:
3.4
Value:
2.2

20% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Puffin Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gloryb
Overland Park, KS
Jul 20, 2014

Older part of motel

We booked a good time in advance of our visit, and asked for an accessible room. While the room was on the first floor, it was in the older part of the motel. The age of the room was evident, although it was clean. Since we only stayed for one night, we didn't choose to upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Puffin Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TerryandSandy
Epping, New Hampshire
Aug 21, 2013

Dont expect anything but cheap

Pick-up from airport was disappointing -shuttle was a no show after 20 minutes--called back and was told the driver was loading fish in the freezer and hadn't left yet. So took about 40 minutes waiting at the curb to get picked up. Staff was rude and unfriendly. I could go on an on this one but will summarize -- we would avoid this hotel ever again just based on how were not welcomed or acknowledged by the driver and front desk staff. Our room was relatively clean but the trash can had dirty candy wrappers in it--if you reserve a room DO NOT book the OLD section--the closet has been turned into a shower / toilet and the sink is in the bedroom! Bedding cover was odd--100% nylon. On a positive note the AC worked great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several fast food places nearby.

Review of Puffin Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Traveling Yodas
Kodiak, AK
May 2, 2009

Small and not clean

The rooms were extremely small and there was hair all over the bed and in the shower. The hotel did allow dogs which was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were numerous eating facilities right across the street.

Review of Puffin Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bloomington
Aug 8, 2008

Close to airport

The inn was close to the airport, which was important to us. The room was in the old part of the hotel and was tiny and seemed tired. But it worked for the night before we flew out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Puffin Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
fiorentino
USA
Jun 24, 2007

big disappointement

The property lacked basic equipment ie. elevators to get to the second and third floor. The property looked unkept!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

short distance from downtown main shopping area

Back to menu Return to top

Change search