$144 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Puffin Inn

3 stars
4400 Spenard Rd, Anchorage, AK 99517
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
30 reviews
My review of Puffin Inn

Very friendly but had to wait for my room to be ready. Had heavy luggage and no elevator in... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 6, 2008
My review of Puffin Inn

Very friendly but had to wait for my room to be ready. Had heavy luggage and no elevator in... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 6, 2008
The Puffin Inn is conveniently located near the Ted Steven's International Airport and Lake Hood and just 10 minutes from downtown Anchorage, shopping and the Anchorage Railroad. It's still just a short drive from scenic Alaska and all of its natural beauty. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Puffin Inn has 4 distinct room styles to perfectly suit your needs. By request of many of our guest, the Puffin Inn is now a completely non-smoking hotel. Plus, new in 2006, all our rooms have air conditioning. Our deluxe section, built in 2001, has spacious, attractively appointed rooms with many comfortable features. Offering a unique blend of comfort and privacy, the Chandler Inn, which houses our boutique style rooms, is a small, completely separate building ?? block from the Puffin Inn. The moderate section building was built in 1984 and remodeled in the spring of 2002. These spacious rooms have exterior entrances making them ideal for hunters, fishermen or families with a lot of gear. While much older and smaller, our original section rooms are a bargain for the budget traveler. Newly remodeled in 2006 with new beds, furnishings, linens and carpet, these rooms are ideal when just a bed will do. Independently owned and operated, the Puffin Inn?s dedicated owner, management and staff have been serving the needs of visitors to Alaska for over 20 years. Near the Airport and Lake Hood - minutes from downtown Anchorage.

Hotel Map

61.1813 -149.9362
Nearby airports
Anchorage International Airport, (ANC), 2.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Puffin Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Puffin Inn Rooms

Boutique 1 Queen Bed
Boutique 1 queen bed-air conditioned-Separate Building one half block away-In room coffee-Sleeps 2
Moderate 2 Queen beds
Moderate 2 queen beds- AC-exterior entrance-NS In room coffee-TV-Desk- Microwave-refrigerator-Sleeps 4
Moderate Handicap Room
Moderate Handicap- 1 Queen Bed-1 Twin bed- TV Microwave-refrigerator-exterior entrances-Sleeps 3
Original 1 Queen
1 Queen bed-shower no tubs-air conditioned Older and smaller but fully renovated in 06-Sleeps 2
Original 2 Twins
2 twin beds-full bath-free continental bkfst-AC older and smaller but fully renovated in 2006-Sleeps 2
Boutique 2 Queen beds
Boutique 2 queen beds-air conditioned-separateBuilding one half block away -In room coffee-Sleeps 2
Boutique Handicap 1 Queen
Boutique handicap 1 Queen- air conditionedSeparate bldg one half block away-micro-refrig-Sleeps 2
Boutique Suite
Boutique Suite-2 queen beds-sofa sleeper-TV Air conditioned-separate bldg-mini kitchen-Sleeps 5
Deluxe 1 Queen bed
Deluxe 1 queen bed-AC-In room coffee-TV-Desk Microwave- refrigerator-hairdryer- nonsmoking-Sleeps 2
Deluxe 2 Queen Beds
Deluxe 2 queen beds-AC-In room coffee-TV-Desk Microwave-refrigerator-hairdryer-nonsmoking-Sleeps 4
Deluxe Handicap 1 Queen
Deluxe Handicap - 1 queen bed- 1 sofa sleeper AC-TV-high speed internet-microwave-frig-Sleeps 3
Deluxe Jr. Suite
Deluxe Jr Suite-1 queen bed-1 sofa sleeper AC-in room coffee-microwave-refrigerator-NS-Sleeps 3
Deluxe Suite
Deluxe Suite- 2 queen beds-sofa sleeper-2 TV AC-kitchen-jacuzzi-hairdryer-in room coffee-Sleeps 6

Amenities

  • Free parking
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Telephone

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Alaska Anchorage: 3.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Puffin Inn

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.2

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Puffin Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BKkk
Italy
Mar 15, 2012

cheap and good value

The noise from the snow moving trucks a bit much but only lasted an hour.Breakfast was decent and the coffee was good.The price was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Puffin Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gloryb
Overland Park, KS
Jul 20, 2014

Older part of motel

We booked a good time in advance of our visit, and asked for an accessible room. While the room was on the first floor, it was in the older part of the motel. The age of the room was evident, although it was clean. Since we only stayed for one night, we didn't choose to upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Puffin Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TerryandSandy
Epping, New Hampshire
Aug 21, 2013

Dont expect anything but cheap

Pick-up from airport was disappointing -shuttle was a no show after 20 minutes--called back and was told the driver was loading fish in the freezer and hadn't left yet. So took about 40 minutes waiting at the curb to get picked up. Staff was rude and unfriendly. I could go on an on this one but will summarize -- we would avoid this hotel ever again just based on how were not welcomed or acknowledged by the driver and front desk staff. Our room was relatively clean but the trash can had dirty candy wrappers in it--if you reserve a room DO NOT book the OLD section--the closet has been turned into a shower / toilet and the sink is in the bedroom! Bedding cover was odd--100% nylon. On a positive note the AC worked great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several fast food places nearby.

Review of Puffin Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marvelous Mim
Alaska
May 24, 2013

Clean basic room, good breakfast, fair price

Basic small room in older section, new carpet, no cabinet or drawer or clothes hanger area. I had a special need for early check-in and the staff was very helpful about it. There was a dog barking in the morning next door.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

It's cheaper to rent a small car than to take a cab around town! (Call or rent online, walking up to the counter is the most expensive.)

Review of Puffin Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jan the tourist
Phoenixville
Aug 26, 2012

Convienient but not very clean

Close to airport. 2 groups we traveled with complained their rooms were not very clean. Ours was OK. Would not recommend based on that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Puffin Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roadtripper178
Arlington, VA
Jul 10, 2012

Cheap accommodation near the airport

That's basically it. They have an airport shuttle and continental breakfast. Needless to say, its somewhat scruffy, but given what you pay- its a fairly average motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Puffin Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BKkk
Italy
Mar 15, 2012

cheap and good value

The noise from the snow moving trucks a bit much but only lasted an hour.Breakfast was decent and the coffee was good.The price was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Puffin Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
raely
Naknek, AK
Jan 6, 2012

convenient

Nothing to describe. Just needed a place to rest after flying into Anchorage. We were only there for 6 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Puffin Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Paisano
Juneau, AK, USA
Dec 2, 2011

Nothing terrible/nothing great

For the price the stay was acceptable, but nothing to write home about. The property has three buildings, and the main one looks nice and modern. I stayed in the smallest building, furthest from the lobby -- I suspect it was another small motel at one point that Puffin Inn bought out. The room was tiny, and though the bedding and furniture was clean, the carpets were in pretty bad shape. The staff was competent, but nothing special, and the complimentary breakfast was definitely not that appealing. It's a clean place to crash, but not a memory maker, for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Puffin Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
907P
Homer, Alaska
Oct 16, 2011

Overnight in Anchorage

was warm and clean, nothing fancy but was still cleaner than the high priced hotels up the street

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Puffin Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rockinron
Business
Hydaburg, AK, USA
Sep 16, 2011

Great room for a Great Price

The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful. A great place to stay in Anchorage while you attend to buisness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top