$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Merrill Field Inn Anchorage

2 stars
420 Sitka Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
13 reviews
Great place for budget traveling.

The room has two queen size beds and it was clean. Hotel offers complementary breakfast and... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 6, 2007
friendly

Check in very fast provide breakfest location is ok, but too much trafic noise Bathroom... See full review

  • Limei
  • Jul 17, 2007
The Merrill Field Inn, a Magnuson Hotels affiliate, is a family owned and operated hotel, less than a mile from downtown Anchorage and its many tourist attractions. The hotel personalized tours and free shuttle to popular tourist attractions in the area, to ensure that your trip is as great as it can be. The Merrill Field Inn is right across the street from Merrill Field Airpark and minutes from Sullivan Arena, Elmendorf Air Force Base, Providence Alaska Medical Center, and Fort Richardson. Other popular sites include Eagle River, Elmendorf State Hatchery, Sullivan Arena, Alaska Museum of Natural History, Anchorage Football Stadium and Mulcahy Stadium. Guests enjoy convenient access to fine gift shops, restaurants and a Sam's Club. Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport is also nearby.The Merrill Field Inn welcomes guests in affordable, spacious rooms, recently remodeled and equipped with all necessary amenities to make your stay as comfortable as possible. All rooms include complimentary high speed internet, air conditioners, phone with free local calls, cable television, refrigerator, hair dryer, radio alarm clocks, and smoking/non-smoking options.Hotel amenities available to all guests include complimentary continental breakfast with coffee and juice available anytime, complimentary 24-hour airport shuttle for arrival and departure, 24-hour front desk service, ATM, on-site laundry facility, and free parking with room for trucks, buses and RVs, as well as large freezers for storing fish or meat from hunting (long term storage available).Small pets allowed with a $10 fee per day, per pet. The hotel also offers AAA, AARP, military, and trucker discounts.

Hotel Map

61.2181 -149.8459
Area served
The Merrill Field Inn is right across the street from Merrill Field Airpark and minutes from Sullivan Arena, Elmendorf Air Force Base, Providence Alaska Medical Center, and Fort Richardson.
Nearby airports
ANC - Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport is 7 miles.
Area description
Merrill Field Inn Anchorage is located just minutes from downtown Anchorage

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Merrill Field Inn Anchorage also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Merrill Field Inn Anchorage Rooms

2 Queen Beds Nonsmoking
Free continental breakfast, free high speed wireless internet, air conditioning, coffeemaker, radio alarm clock, free local calls, hairdryer, iron and board, microwave, mini fridge, color cable TV with Disney, ESPN, CNN and HBO. Smoking room may be available upon request. Connecting rooms available upon request. Requests are not guaranteed and will be granted based on availability at check-in.
1 Queen Bed Nonsmoking
Free continental breakfast, free high speed wireless internet, air conditioning, coffeemaker, radio alarm clock, free local calls, hairdryer, iron and board, microwave, mini fridge, color cable TV with Disney, ESPN, CNN and HBO. Smoking room may be available upon request. Connecting rooms available upon request. Requests are not guaranteed and will be granted based on availability at check-in.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
General
Pet friendly
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Alaska Anchorage: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for Merrill Field Inn Anchorage

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
2.4
Value:
2.5

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Merrill Field Inn Anchorage

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AlsoJoyce
Moose Pass, AK
Aug 27, 2014

Merrill Field Inn

This is a shabby appearing hotel in a tough, if central, location. The price alone is what attracted me. I was pleasantly surprised by the spacious, very clean, interior. The two queen beds were comfortable, and the bedding and towels new appearing. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merrill Field Inn Anchorage

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Adventure Ali
Seattle, WA
Jun 10, 2014

Made it out alive!

This hotel (motel) is situated around the corner from the Merrill Field Airport, and shares the same parking lot as a Chinese food restaurant (not sure this was open) and an adult novelty shop. Already skeezy, upon arrival. We checked in very late at night, having arrived on a 10:30pm flight, so we figured it wouldn't matter. Boy were we wrong! There was a hole punched in the bathroom door, a radiator that went Through a closet wall (ever hear of a Fire Code?!), unidentified goo on the duvet, and the mattress was wrapped in plastic (or at least it felt/sounded like that!) And then there were the loitering...locals?...who were shouting across the parking lot to each other from open room to open room. NOT a pleasant experience. And definitely Not worth the $132 per night?!?! Do Not Go There!! Stay near Ted Stevens if you need to save some dough. The closet proximity to downtown is Not worth your life and health! :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Flattop Mountain hike! Definitely a scramble, and not for the short of breath, but completely worth the view!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merrill Field Inn Anchorage

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy Lady3
Seattle, WA
Jun 18, 2013

couple trip

The hotel offers free airport shuttle, it was very good for our needs. Hotel is old, but better than our expectations. Staff are very friendly. Nothing wrong for this hotel with the money paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merrill Field Inn Anchorage

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bubblez
anchorage,ak
Sep 2, 2012

cheap and clean

When you first arrive the outside makes you want to turn around and go to another hotel, but once you get inside its clean and the staff is very nice. I would recommend because its cheap but they keep up with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merrill Field Inn Anchorage

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Forrest Gee
Hartselle, AL.
Aug 3, 2010

Whatcha Want

I vacationed there to see my son that is stationed in Anchorage and to see surrounding area. Everything in room I tried worked excluding the clock on microwave [who cares?]. While on vacation I do not spend much time in a room. It comes down to what you want. If you want a clean room with hot shower. A room with a fridge, microwave, and tv then this is worth considering. I stayed during the week so the club across the street didn't seem to be a problem and the planes taking off from the airstrip wasn't too much of a problem either. There is some noise associated with that. My son stated he thought the room was better than one rented by previous family members at another hotel close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I would suggest trying Country Cookin on 5th. You park in lot on corner of 5th and Denali and walk over to it. They have a great breakfast menu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merrill Field Inn Anchorage

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Annapolis, MD
Jul 7, 2010

Merrill Field Inn Anchorage

Location very shaky, sandwiched between a dilapitated chinese resturant and stripper bar. Colorful people "hang out" in the parking lot and we had a strong feeling that there was some prostitution occurring. We reluctantly spent 1 night, then left the following morning and checked into the Puffin Inn in Anchorage, paid 20.00$ more per night, and wer very pleased with location and services. I do not recommend the Merril Inn. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merrill Field Inn Anchorage

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Aug 6, 2007

Great place for budget traveling.

The room has two queen size beds and it was clean. Hotel offers complementary breakfast and internet access in the lobby. It?s not a fancy hotel but it?s great for tourist with limited travel budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

A Chinese restaurant is located next door for easy dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merrill Field Inn Anchorage

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Jul 29, 2007

You get what you pay for

The Merrill Field Inn is not in the best area of Anchorage AK.It was very hard to find from the airport.Out side area was very loud when the(Clubs)closed.Room was musty but clean, I was worried about our car and its contents and did not get a good nights sleep.I learned a lesson about a TWO star motel.Never again will I pick one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merrill Field Inn Anchorage

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 23, 2007

Merrill Inn Anchorage AK

The bed was comfortable is about all I can say positive about this place... The carpet turned my feet BLACK inside of 15 minutes of walking on it! The checkin/check out person was very sullen and disinterested in the transaction or me as a person. He did not know the directions to anything anybody asked him ! I reported the carpet issue and that the toilet was not functioning well to this person and he couldn't have cared less. I wonder if it even got to the right people? The neighborhood was awful...with striptease joints within a block or two. Never again ! The shuttle driver was friendly and very helpful zi owuld like to add...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

NOTHING !!! A Chinese restaurant on the same grounds not open on Sundays....but the XXX bookstore also on the same grounds was !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Merrill Field Inn Anchorage

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Limei
USA
Jul 17, 2007

friendly

Check in very fast provide breakfest location is ok, but too much trafic noise Bathroom separate from sink area Very close downtown and restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search