$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2014 Check-out: Sep 16, 2014

Anchorage Grand Hotel

2 stars
505 W. 2nd. Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
18 reviews
Alaskan Vacation

Great hotel, clean rooms and close to everything you will wanna walk to. However really close to... See full review

  • Ron E V
  • Aug 12, 2013
Great anniversary getaway

We were perfectly situated to watch the 2012 Iditarod races. We could walk everywhere & watch all... See full review

  • Lucy D.
  • Mar 10, 2012
Living rooms, bedrooms, and full kitchens all come with each suite at the intimate, 31-room boutique Anchorage Grand. Its the perfect option for anyone looking for space to spread out and prepare anything from coffee to a gourmet dinner. And with a superb downtown location, youll be within walking distance of the railroad, Denaina Convention Center, Performing Arts Center , and Saturday Market, as well as all of the downtown shopping and restaurants. Be sure to enjoy the free continental breakfast each morning. And don't miss the fresh-baked cookies, made at 5PM every day. Free high-speed internet, a business center, and great views of either the city or the inlet and mountains of the Alaska Range make the Anchorage Grand Hotel even more appealing.
The Anchorage Grand is located in a former 1950s apartment building thats seen its share of history: it even survived the earthquake of 1964. Today, its been completely refurbished; dark woods and golds have revitalized the building in a formal, classic style, with streamlined furniture adding to its allure. But you wont find any attitude here, rather a low-key, boutique property friendly, personal service and modern amenities.
Most guests here are drawn by the 500 square foot rooms, which provide sleeper sofa beds and enough space to spread out. Choose from 25 queen bed rooms (more privacy with a separate living room, kitchen, and 2 TVs), 4 king bed rooms (more open floor plan), or two double bed rooms (2 double beds, also an open floor plan). And since the suites feature a full kitchen with dishwasher, refrigerator, and microwave, theres everything you need to spend a day, a week, or a month.

Hotel Map

61.2206 -149.8919
Area served
Anchorage.
Nearby airports
5.9 MILES FROM ANC (Anchorage International Airport).
Area description
This all-suite hotel located in the heart of downtown Anchorage is within blocks of the Egan Convention Center, the Alaska Center for the Performing Arts, restaurants, and the Anchorage Museum.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Anchorage Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Anchorage Grand Hotel Rooms

Double Suite
Double Suite with 2 double beds, private bathroom with tub and shower, high speed internet access,living area for entertaining, non smoking rooms, and full size gourmet kitchen.
King Suite
King Suite with 1 king bed, private bathroom with tub and shower, handicap facilities (on request), high speed internet access,living area for entertaining, non smoking rooms, and full size gourmet kitchen.
Queen Suite
Queen Suite with 1 queen bed, private bathroom with tub and shower, high speed internet access, seperate living area for entertaining, non smoking rooms, and full size gourmet kitchen.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Alaska Anchorage: 3 mi

Dining

Glacier Brewhouse
Microbrewery with bistro style cuisine & fresh seafood.
ORSO
Fresh Alaskan seafood, local pastas, and handcrafted cocktails.
Sack's Cafe
Eclectic American cuisine, fine wine collection, and Sunday brunch.
Downtown Deli
Sandwiches, seafood, salads, and famous Alaskan sourdough pancakes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for Anchorage Grand Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 29, 2007

Excellent location for train and restaurants

The suites(which I wasn't expecting)are spacious, very neat and clean with nice furnishings, large closets, bedding for the sofa bed and a kitchen with all the basics for someone who might be staying for longer term. The time of year was quiet and only the chatter of schoolchildren across the street was audible (and pleasant).It's pleasantly located within walking distance of an assortment of good restaurants-we celebrated at the Crow's Nest($$$)- and within a block of the souvenir stores and tourist info bureaus. Breakfast and a newpaper were at the front door early in the morning and we were able to simply walk down a grassy slope to the train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Snow Goose has great food and during warmer weather I understand the deck is a great place to be. Humpy's really must have the best halibut and chips! For high end dining, they know how to do it at the Crow's Nest on top of the Captain Cook.

Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucy D.
Mesquite, TX, USA
Mar 10, 2012

Great anniversary getaway

We were perfectly situated to watch the 2012 Iditarod races. We could walk everywhere & watch all the activities for the Fur Rondy week. The hotel room was comfortable & had a very nice kitchenette. Had a continental breakfast bag on our door each morning when we ordered it. Very convenient. Also, was very close to the Airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montana
May 9, 2010

Exploring Anchorage

We could walk to great restaurants, shopping, and museum. Staff was accommodating and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia Beach, VA
Jun 1, 2010

Excellent location and value

Extemely pleased with hotel. Right in the downtown area in walking distance to most things. Outstanding location if planning on taking the Alaska Railroad, just a short walk down the hill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Aug 19, 2009

great location and staff

We would stay there again...only bad thing was it has no air conditioning but in Vancouver it's usually not necessary but they were having a hot spell and we had to leave the windows open and it's near both the airport and train station but not unbearable and we really loved the frest air for a change. The staff couldn't have been nicer..hotel has some age but very well kept...we had a sitting room, kitchenette with all the trimmings..if we were going to stay for an extended period of time that would be the place....walking distance to shopping, restaurants and attractions..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

there is no restaurant in the hotel but they do provide continental breakfast and coffee maker in the room.

Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaRose46
Business
San jose, CA
May 13, 2011

Good value, good location

The hotel is located two blocks from the major downtown streets of 4th and 5th within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants and attractions. The rooms are suites; mini-apartments like an extended stay hotel; nicely appointed and roomy though the building itself is charmless. Some exterior noise from trains and ships comes through which may be bothersome if you are sensitive to noise at night. My room smelled a tiny bit mustly on first entrance, but didn't bother me after 2 minutes. They have 0 amenities except packaged continental breakfast and a computer you can use in the basement. Good value if you need the space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Anchorange Museum is 7 blocks away and it's fabulous for kids and adults.

Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron E V
Austin, TX, USA
Aug 12, 2013

Alaskan Vacation

Great hotel, clean rooms and close to everything you will wanna walk to. However really close to train tracks and you will here Train horns throughout the evening and morning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

FlatTop for the view

Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kenai, AK
Jul 10, 2009

Excellent birthday retreat

We spent the night in Anchorage, so we could have a relaxful, and enjoyable couple days. We drove up on Wednesday, and went shopping on Thursday. The Hotel was great!! It was a little hard to find, I had meander the one way streets, but I found it. The staff was wonderful, and the rooms are beautiful. We got a room with a full kitchen, so we ended up cooking and eating there. It was great! The wireless internet was down, but the front desk clerk gave me an either net cable and I was able to get online. Other than that, the trip was spectacular. I am definitely coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Get a room with a full kitchen.

Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jrt kjd
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 1, 2012

Last night before heading home

This was a wonderful place to stay, and will definitely book here for my next trip to Anchorage. It would be excellent for a multi-day stay, as the suite was perfect. My only suggestion would be to aske for a street-side room; there is railroad noise on the other side of the building. The location is close to downtown, within walking distance to great shops and restaurants, but not right in the middle of the hub-bub. The staff was excellent and always willng to answer questions, professional and friendly. We didn't want to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Snow Goose Restaurant - eat outside on the top deck if the weather allows.

Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
More Business Travel Ahead
Business
Fairbanks, Ak
Apr 14, 2010

Anchorage Grand Hotel

Excellent customer service. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The room was great and I enjoyed the view. I just wish I could have stayed longer. Also, the location is within walking distance of all the fun Anchorage downtown areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Orso & the Glacier Brewhouse are close by as is a big steak house that I think is called Sullivan's. There's also a nice pub place with outdoor seating close by.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search