$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2015 Check-out: Apr 25, 2015

Anchorage Grand Hotel

2 stars
View map of 505 W. 2nd. Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Anchorage Grand Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Jun 1, 2010

Excellent location and value

Extemely pleased with hotel. Right in the downtown area in walking distance to most things. Outstanding location if planning on taking the Alaska Railroad, just a short walk down the hill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montana
May 9, 2010

Exploring Anchorage

We could walk to great restaurants, shopping, and museum. Staff was accommodating and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
More Business Travel Ahead
Business
Fairbanks, Ak
Apr 14, 2010

Anchorage Grand Hotel

Excellent customer service. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The room was great and I enjoyed the view. I just wish I could have stayed longer. Also, the location is within walking distance of all the fun Anchorage downtown areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Orso & the Glacier Brewhouse are close by as is a big steak house that I think is called Sullivan's. There's also a nice pub place with outdoor seating close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairbanks, Alaska
Jan 29, 2010

nice accomodations, nice price

The Anchorage Grand is an older hotel that has been nicely remodeled and refurbished. The hotel is right downtown and within walking distance of downtown businesses. Every room I have stayed in has had a kitchen. There is no continental breakfast room, but the hotel makes a modest attempt at offering breakfast by the morning delivery of a bagel, yogurt, breakfast bar, and so forth. There is an elevator, but the entrance to the hotel is not wheelchair-friendly. Travelers who use a wheelchair should call first, because the hotel might make accommodation for that. At least one of the rooms has a large bathroom and other wide areas intended for use by people who need the extra room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is located downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Aug 29, 2009

Anchorage

OK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 20, 2009

Not so grand

From the description, we expected more. One has to go down stairs to get to the elevator. The hallways have an odor to them, and common areas need updating. The suite was clean and the hotel is convenient to downtown. The staff were cordial.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Alaska state museum is less than a 10 minute walk. This is well worth the time going there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 19, 2009

great location and staff

We would stay there again...only bad thing was it has no air conditioning but in Vancouver it's usually not necessary but they were having a hot spell and we had to leave the windows open and it's near both the airport and train station but not unbearable and we really loved the frest air for a change. The staff couldn't have been nicer..hotel has some age but very well kept...we had a sitting room, kitchenette with all the trimmings..if we were going to stay for an extended period of time that would be the place....walking distance to shopping, restaurants and attractions..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

there is no restaurant in the hotel but they do provide continental breakfast and coffee maker in the room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Amherst, MA
Aug 14, 2009

Great deal!

My husband and I went to Alaska with my parents recently. We booked a Queen Suite for one night at the Anchorage Grand Hotel. We were given another King Suite at no extra cost since there was a last minute cancellation. We were also charged a lower rate for the Queen Suite. The front desk staff definitely made a great first impression on our first day in Alaska.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Glacier Brewhouse was a great place for all ages!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kenai, AK
Jul 10, 2009

Excellent birthday retreat

We spent the night in Anchorage, so we could have a relaxful, and enjoyable couple days. We drove up on Wednesday, and went shopping on Thursday. The Hotel was great!! It was a little hard to find, I had meander the one way streets, but I found it. The staff was wonderful, and the rooms are beautiful. We got a room with a full kitchen, so we ended up cooking and eating there. It was great! The wireless internet was down, but the front desk clerk gave me an either net cable and I was able to get online. Other than that, the trip was spectacular. I am definitely coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get a room with a full kitchen.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 29, 2007

Excellent location for train and restaurants

The suites(which I wasn't expecting)are spacious, very neat and clean with nice furnishings, large closets, bedding for the sofa bed and a kitchen with all the basics for someone who might be staying for longer term. The time of year was quiet and only the chatter of schoolchildren across the street was audible (and pleasant).It's pleasantly located within walking distance of an assortment of good restaurants-we celebrated at the Crow's Nest($$$)- and within a block of the souvenir stores and tourist info bureaus. Breakfast and a newpaper were at the front door early in the morning and we were able to simply walk down a grassy slope to the train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Snow Goose has great food and during warmer weather I understand the deck is a great place to be. Humpy's really must have the best halibut and chips! For high end dining, they know how to do it at the Crow's Nest on top of the Captain Cook.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top