$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 31, 2014 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Anchorage Grand Hotel

2 stars
505 W. 2nd. Avenue, Anchorage, AK 99501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
20 reviews
first time to anchorage

We enjoyed our stay. Our suite was very nice and clean. The staff was extremely nice and helpful.... See full review

  • shortstuff 2
  • Sep 11, 2014
Alaskan Vacation

Great hotel, clean rooms and close to everything you will wanna walk to. However really close to... See full review

  • Ron E V
  • Aug 12, 2013
Living rooms, bedrooms, and full kitchens all come with each suite at the intimate, 31-room boutique Anchorage Grand. Its the perfect option for anyone looking for space to spread out and prepare anything from coffee to a gourmet dinner. And with a superb downtown location, youll be within walking distance of the railroad, Denaina Convention Center, Performing Arts Center , and Saturday Market, as well as all of the downtown shopping and restaurants. Be sure to enjoy the free continental breakfast each morning. And don't miss the fresh-baked cookies, made at 5PM every day. Free high-speed internet, a business center, and great views of either the city or the inlet and mountains of the Alaska Range make the Anchorage Grand Hotel even more appealing.
The Anchorage Grand is located in a former 1950s apartment building thats seen its share of history: it even survived the earthquake of 1964. Today, its been completely refurbished; dark woods and golds have revitalized the building in a formal, classic style, with streamlined furniture adding to its allure. But you wont find any attitude here, rather a low-key, boutique property friendly, personal service and modern amenities.
Most guests here are drawn by the 500 square foot rooms, which provide sleeper sofa beds and enough space to spread out. Choose from 25 queen bed rooms (more privacy with a separate living room, kitchen, and 2 TVs), 4 king bed rooms (more open floor plan), or two double bed rooms (2 double beds, also an open floor plan). And since the suites feature a full kitchen with dishwasher, refrigerator, and microwave, theres everything you need to spend a day, a week, or a month.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Anchorage Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Anchorage Grand Hotel Rooms

Double Suite
Double Suite with 2 double beds, private bathroom with tub and shower, high speed internet access,living area for entertaining, non smoking rooms, and full size gourmet kitchen.
King Suite
King Suite with 1 king bed, private bathroom with tub and shower, handicap facilities (on request), high speed internet access,living area for entertaining, non smoking rooms, and full size gourmet kitchen.
Queen Suite
Queen Suite with 1 queen bed, private bathroom with tub and shower, high speed internet access, seperate living area for entertaining, non smoking rooms, and full size gourmet kitchen.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Alaska Anchorage: 3 mi

Dining

Glacier Brewhouse
Microbrewery with bistro style cuisine & fresh seafood.
ORSO
Fresh Alaskan seafood, local pastas, and handcrafted cocktails.
Sack's Cafe
Eclectic American cuisine, fine wine collection, and Sunday brunch.
Downtown Deli
Sandwiches, seafood, salads, and famous Alaskan sourdough pancakes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Anchorage Grand Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucy D.
Mesquite, TX, USA
Mar 10, 2012

Great anniversary getaway

We were perfectly situated to watch the 2012 Iditarod races. We could walk everywhere & watch all the activities for the Fur Rondy week. The hotel room was comfortable & had a very nice kitchenette. Had a continental breakfast bag on our door each morning when we ordered it. Very convenient. Also, was very close to the Airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shortstuff 2
Business
vale,oregon
Sep 11, 2014

first time to anchorage

We enjoyed our stay. Our suite was very nice and clean. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The hide-a-bed, which is the main seating was uncomfortable. The location was nice for walking to the flea market and any shops downtown. It's very close location to the train station, this could be seen as a plus or minus. Trains run all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

HUMPYS, is a great casual seafood restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spinky
Business
Australia
Sep 10, 2014

Average

Served the purpose that we needed which was to be close to the train station. Girl at the checkin desk happily gave us a different room so that we would have better internet access and that was a very spacious king room on the ground floor. Annoying that there was no where to put things in the bathroom except on the floor. Otherwise hotel was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ate at Ptarmigan Resturant and enjoyed pizzas there. 2 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ylandrau
Business
Nj
Dec 1, 2013

Great space

I was happy with the location of the hotel. The service was great. The tv,s need to be up dated. The sofa and the pillows. My husband I enjoyed our time and would consider staying again at your hotel thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The or so great food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron E V
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Aug 12, 2013

Alaskan Vacation

Great hotel, clean rooms and close to everything you will wanna walk to. However really close to train tracks and you will here Train horns throughout the evening and morning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

FlatTop for the view

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crustola
Business
Washington state
Aug 12, 2012

Too much for the money

I was so upset that breakfast was disgusting, because I paid approx $220. Was otherwise a good place, close to train so convenient. Had a better stay for $100 less at Arctic Fox Inn, which is just few blocks further from train.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jrt kjd
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 1, 2012

Last night before heading home

This was a wonderful place to stay, and will definitely book here for my next trip to Anchorage. It would be excellent for a multi-day stay, as the suite was perfect. My only suggestion would be to aske for a street-side room; there is railroad noise on the other side of the building. The location is close to downtown, within walking distance to great shops and restaurants, but not right in the middle of the hub-bub. The staff was excellent and always willng to answer questions, professional and friendly. We didn't want to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Snow Goose Restaurant - eat outside on the top deck if the weather allows.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucy D.
Business
Mesquite, TX, USA
Mar 10, 2012

Great anniversary getaway

We were perfectly situated to watch the 2012 Iditarod races. We could walk everywhere & watch all the activities for the Fur Rondy week. The hotel room was comfortable & had a very nice kitchenette. Had a continental breakfast bag on our door each morning when we ordered it. Very convenient. Also, was very close to the Airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DaRose46
Business
San jose, CA
May 13, 2011

Good value, good location

The hotel is located two blocks from the major downtown streets of 4th and 5th within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants and attractions. The rooms are suites; mini-apartments like an extended stay hotel; nicely appointed and roomy though the building itself is charmless. Some exterior noise from trains and ships comes through which may be bothersome if you are sensitive to noise at night. My room smelled a tiny bit mustly on first entrance, but didn't bother me after 2 minutes. They have 0 amenities except packaged continental breakfast and a computer you can use in the basement. Good value if you need the space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Anchorange Museum is 7 blocks away and it's fabulous for kids and adults.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Princess Travler
Business
San Diego, CA
Jul 22, 2010

Wouldn't stay here again.

The train noise was horrible. The mattress needed to be changed about 20 years ago (It was like sleeping in a candy dish)! Although the room had a kitchenette, there were no paper towels or dish washing soaps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anchorage Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chaspa
Business
inverness, FL
Jun 2, 2010

The So-So Stay

Climate control didn't mean air conditioning & it was hot during our stay. Room rates were reasonable but maid service was non-exsistant the first day. The rooms had not had a dusting for quite some time. Price to do laundry was $1.50 each for washer, dryer & soap. Located near railroad wasn't too bad except for the 4 am train horn blowing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Most stores are within walking distance once you get past the two block steep hill to get to town. Not easy for retirees.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top