$161 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Anchorage Downtown Hotel

2 stars
826 K Street, Anchorage, AK 99501
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
40 reviews
Perfect Location, Charming Hotel

The anchorage Downtown is perfectly located for folks who like to walk around town. I was able to... See full review

  • MPacifica
  • May 27, 2013
Great for couples

It was my first time in Anchorage the hotel was at the center of all the big hotels but it was very... See full review

  • Liz and Heck
  • Oct 25, 2012
Anchorage Downtown Hotel, a beautiful boutique hotel located in the heart of downtown Anchorage, Alaska.

Situated only feet from The Delany Park Strip - national park 11 blocks long, 2 miles in circumference and 1 city block wide - 2 Blocks from the Dena'ina Civic and Convention Center, 3 blocks to the New Anchorage Museum and a short ride to the Anchorage Port.

Located in Downtown Anchorage
Walking distance to restaurants & Shops
5.2 Miles From Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport
1 Mile to Anchorage Train Depot
Seasonal Airport Shuttle Service Available (May-September) The hotel also offers Free Breakfast.

Hotel Map

61.214 -149.9018
Area served
Anchorage.
Nearby airports
Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport. Merrill Field Airport.
Area description
Anchorage.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Anchorage Downtown Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Anchorage Downtown Hotel Rooms

Hotel Queen
Deluxe Queen Suite: This room is approximately 200 Square Feet that sleeps up to 2 guests featuring 1 Queen Bed
Hotel King
Deluxe King Suite: This room is approximately 250 Square Feet that sleeps up to 2 guests featuring 1 King Bed
Hotel Quad
Deluxe Double Queen Suite: This room is approximately 300 Square Feet that sleeps up to 4 guests featuring 2 Queen Beds. TV is mounted on a swivel to maximize view from all areas of the room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • University of Alaska Anchorage: 3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LNSD2005
San Diego, CA
Jul 5, 2014

Okay but not worth the Price

We stayed here for a total of 3 days. The hotel seems very outdated. The rooms are really dark due to the decorating and it sits kind of alone on the street. Some parts of the bathrooms were redone but some were not. The beds are hard and difficult to sleep on. My husband got back pain from sleeping in the bed. Its in a pretty good location next to a park. There was a wasp nest though outside our building so we had to keep our windows closed because some windows have a screen and some don't. It was kind of hot for Anchorage 75F which made sleeping kind of hard. The staff was friendly but for 178 bucks I would have expected way more but I guess thats what you get for going to a tourist place during tourist season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Glacier Brewhouse is good, Snow City Cafe is good, and Pelimis are good.

Review of Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gondola
cordova,alaska
Jan 30, 2014

gross

do not stay here if you can help it.heater didn't work properly.window wouldn't open .puddle in the bathroom.the room stinks.dark and dangerous with abandoned cars in the parking lot and people hanging around smoking.boarding house feel.management was hostile.only for those on a very tight budget.do not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Don Ross
MT dora, FL
Aug 23, 2013

Good place in Anchorage

Clean and neat with friendly personnel. Good place to stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tangodiva
San Diego, Ca
Jul 4, 2013

"Super manager"

Manager exceeded expectation. 3 levels-no elevator

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MPacifica
Biddeford, Amine
May 27, 2013

Perfect Location, Charming Hotel

The anchorage Downtown is perfectly located for folks who like to walk around town. I was able to choose from several good restaurnts within walking distance from the hotel. My room was clean and neat and the staff was friendly and helpful - they recommended good dinner options and an excellent breakfast cafe. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat breakfast at the Snow City Cafe.

Review of Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
maskimo
Business
Alta Loma, CA
Dec 4, 2012

Cold Anchorage, Cold Room

Staff was very friendly. Room: TV was left on when I entered. Wondered why until it was time to go to sleep and I couldn't turn the TV off. The plug was behind the TV in the mount and I was unable to disconnect. The TV was on all night and probably continues to be so for that room. Comfort: Room was cold. I mean enough for me to wear my down jacket and they had only two sheets on the bed. Really? In Alaska just two sheets with no way to increase the heat in the room? And the pillows were slightly dirty and threadbear covers on them. Was hesitant to use. Bathroom: Big hairball on the floor. Not squeamish, but come on. I don't expect to find someone else's hair on the bathroom floor. Makes me wonder what the carpets were like since you can't see if there's any hair on them. Only saving grace was the staff and location. Also, parking was kind of confusing. You park in the back after they give you a sign to place on dash, but the lot specifically says you'll be towed. It makes no mention on the sign that guests of the hotel are allowed to park there. Would choose another location/place next time. And walls are thin: can hear your neighbors all night long...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Snow City Cafe. Amazing food on the corner of L and 4th Street.

Review of Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anchorage Guy
Anchorage, Alaska
Nov 19, 2012

Downtown overnighter

If you are a rugged individual who wants to save 30 or 40 dollars and don't mind a foul odor when you walk into your tiny ice cold room and have the technical ability to find, pull out, hook up and turn on the space heater, and don't mind the TV not having a remote, and don't mind the shower leaking out onto the bathroom floor into a puddle, and don't mind listening to people walking down the hall since the walls are so thin, then this is a perfect hotel for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Liz and Heck
Altamonte Springs, FL
Oct 25, 2012

Great for couples

It was my first time in Anchorage the hotel was at the center of all the big hotels but it was very inviting. The room was nice and clean, the staff was friendly and very quiet. I most definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler's couple
Miami, Florida
Aug 22, 2012

Definitely good location

Good location, shuttle from the airport, short walk to downtown, continental breakfast included

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Downtown

Review of Anchorage Downtown Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mbvv
Boston MA
Mar 29, 2012

One night stay

We checked in and the receptionist was extremely helpful in locating us a room for early check in. The rooms are on the small side (but not as small as I expected based on other reviews so I was pleasantly surprised). The bed was super comfy (wish I didn't have to get up at 4AM to get to the airport!). Walked everywhere I wanted to go and even though it is on the edge of town, it was relatively convienent. The shuttle at $15.00 is a deal - but if there are 2 or more in your party not so much so - better off with a cab (unless the shuttle is per party). Looked like b'fast was basic (cereal, milk and fruit), Price was certainly right!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Crow's nest - view was great. Great for cocktails if you don't want to splurge for dinner!!

Back to menu Return to top