$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

York Marriott Hotel

4 stars
View map of Tadcaster Road, Tadcaster Road, York, YO24 1QQ

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
8 reviews
Great family hotel with excellent quality

It was our first family stay in York and we were pleasantly surprised with the luxury feel of the... See full review

  • Mum of teenagers
  • Feb 23, 2015
Nice hotel

Very nice hotel, next to the racecourse, approx 1 mile from centre, hotel staff very friendly and... See full review

  • shopinitis
  • Oct 8, 2009
The York Marriott Hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and its many attractions including the National Railway Museum & York Minster. Castle Howard, the Yorkshire Dales and the North Yorkshire Moors are within a 1 hour drive of the hotel. With 151 stylish guest bedrooms the hotel is ideal for the Business or Social traveller. We offer a range of banqueting rooms holding up to 190 delegates theatre style, secure WIFI internet access is available in public areas and our Leisure Club features a heated pool, sauna, steam room, spa bath, gymnasium & private tennis court. The Chase Bar & Grill serves a varied menu and offers a wide choice of refreshments whilst offering unrivalled views of York Racecourse from its sun terrace. York Marriott are proud winners of the Highly Commended Award in the Business Tourism category at the 2013 VisitEngland Awards for Excellence.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed York Marriott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Tennis
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • York Station: 1.3 mi

Dining

Chase Grill
Traditional food made with the finest locally-sourced produce. Breathtaking views over the famous York Racecourse.
Chase Bar
Relax. Unwind. Chase Bar is the perfect place to take a few moments out! In fine weather, step out onto the spacious decking a garden patio. Spectacular views over our beautifully landscaped gardens.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for York Marriott Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of York Marriott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mum of teenagers
Business
N/A
Feb 23, 2015

Great family hotel with excellent quality

It was our first family stay in York and we were pleasantly surprised with the luxury feel of the hotel . Staff were lovely and the ambiance was great with a homely but smart lounge cafe area overlooking the racecourse . The pool was open late in the evening to swim iff weary legs and the breakfast was very nice with lots of choice . Easy bus stop outside the hotel to York for a 10 minute ride or a 30 minute walk whichever we fancied. Nicely appointed hotel ,plenty of car parking and great family facilities. The function rooms are miles away from family rooms so no noise late at night which I was pleased about too .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of York Marriott Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Leanne B.
Business
N/A
Feb 10, 2015

Not good at all

My partner is a smoker!! He did have a box of cigarettes in our room! But was going out side in car to smoke.. We revived a letter under our door around 2 on Saturday saying house keeping staff had said they think smoking had gone on in room we went to have a word with the manager and he said he would check room again.. At 7.30 we could not get in room the manage demanded £150..said we had been smoking in our room,,I pointed out the window had been left open all day.. And my partner had been smoking in car.. After a hour or 2 he told us we would only be able to get in the room if we paid £150 there and then.. We only had £80 in cash and had to hand this over we didn't get a recipt or anythink.. We over heard him saying the same think to a few other people aswell...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of York Marriott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BobandVal
Business
Scotland
Sep 9, 2013

Nice Break

Staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms comfortable, hotel grounds were nice for sitting outside (weather permit) location was a bit far from town centre if walking but is 5 min taxi or 10 min bus ride, All in all recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of York Marriott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lollypop
Business
cheshire
May 16, 2012

marriots york

Really enjoyed the hotel, very welcoming staff, helpful and hotel clean although i would have expected white robes in bedroom . The bedroom was clean but dated and not in keeping with a hotel of this star rating .The breakfast was good and on a whole hotel good and family orientated. The children really enjoyed the swimming facility and Josh on reception at the pool was great advising us on local attractions and the best places to visit ,All in all would recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

book attractions on line as discounts offered

Review of York Marriott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nickn
Business
United Kingdom
Feb 4, 2012

Average

The Family room was next to the large venting ducts and hence very noisy at night. Large room and spacious and reasonably clean. Restaurant pricey considering mediocre presentation and taste of food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Drive to Park and Drive, rather than looking for a parking place in the town centre.

Review of York Marriott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Petersburg
Jul 5, 2010

Wasn't quite up to our expectations

exploring York, sightseeing, shopping in Edinburg this winter we also stayed at a four-star hotel, but it was much more confortable. I wonder why the staff doesn't supply 3 customers with shampoo, shower gels, tea, towels etc. in the amount FOR EACH PERSON (not one for the whole company)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of York Marriott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shopinitis
Business
Lancashire, UK
Oct 8, 2009

Nice hotel

Very nice hotel, next to the racecourse, approx 1 mile from centre, hotel staff very friendly and helpful, lovely bathroom and comfy beds, nice aero hot chocolate sachets in room!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you look where the bars and restaurants are before you go because they are well hidden in the narrow streets!!

Review of York Marriott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shopinitis
Business
Lancashire, UK
Oct 8, 2009

Nice hotel

Very nice hotel, next to the racecourse, approx 1 mile from centre, hotel staff very friendly and helpful, lovely bathroom and comfy beds, nice aero hot chocolate sachets in room!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you look where the bars and restaurants are before you go because they are well hidden in the narrow streets!!

Back to menu Return to top