$62 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Elmbank Hotel

3 stars
The Mount, York, YO24 1GE
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
40 reviews
ideal location

The hotel is ideally placed for York town centre or the race course. The hotel had plenty of... See full review

  • j taylor
  • May 26, 2013
pleasant

It's a 15 minute walk to the city centre and is an old style traditional hotel - very nice. Most... See full review

  • Andyhiroshima
  • Jun 29, 2014
Situated close to the historic city of York, within easy access of the North York Moors, Herriot Country and the picturesque North East coastline, the non smoking Elmbank Hotel provides an ideal base for all visitors whether traveling on business or pleasure. Designed by architects J. B. & W. Atksinson and built around 1870, the Elmbank is a non-smoking city hotel with a country house atmosphere. Murals, frescoes, a magnificent oak staircase leading to a gallery with stained glass windows are just a few of the fine examples of art nouveau introduced in the interior of the hotel by George Walton, follower of Charles Rennie Macintosh. The hotel has a ballroom, which is ideal for weddings, private functions and dinner dances, catering for up to 200 guests. The Fully equipped Conference Suites can accommodate between 2 and 100 delegates, for meetings, seminars and exhibitions. The hotel provides amenities like banquet facilities, Internet access-wireless, lobby, non-smoking rooms, parking facilities-on street, pets not allowed (except for guide dogs), reception, restaurant and room service.

Hotel Map

53.9538 -1.0944
Area served
York.
Nearby airports
Leeds Bradford International Airport 30miles.
Area description
Just 10 minutes walk from York city centre, near to the Racecourse.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Elmbank Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5

Elmbank Hotel Rooms

Single Room
Room with one single bed includes private en-suite facilities, direct dial telephone, color Television, radio, hairdryer, trouser press, tea and coffee making facilities, bathroom amenities, ensuite /private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, non-smoking rooms, room service and telephone.
Double Room
Room with one double bed includes private en-suite facilities, direct dial telephone, color Television, radio, hairdryer, trouser press, tea and coffee making facilities, bathroom amenities, ensuite /private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, non-smoking rooms, room service and telephone.
Twin Room
Room with two single bed includes private en-suite facilities, direct dial telephone, color Television, radio, hairdryer, trouser press, tea and coffee making facilities, bathroom amenities, ensuite /private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, non-smoking rooms, room service and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • York Station: 0.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Dine in style in the intimate atmosphere of elegant restaurant and sample the delights of mouth watering menus, complemented by a comprehensive wine list, and served by attentive staff. Noted for its beautifully restored art nouveau dcor, the Walton Bar is the ideal meeting place before dinner or for a lunchtime snack.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Elmbank Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Elmbank Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
iain
Not Provided
Mar 16, 2010

hotel clean interesting we were

hotel clean interesting we were very pleased good staff good hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Elmbank Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dean
Not Provided
Jan 27, 2010

Great location, only 10 minute

Great location, only 10 minute walk from the town centre, which I would recommend as taxi's are erratic. Wonderful decor in lobby and bar area, very charming. Room's are pretty basic and mine wasn't particularly warm, which was a shame as it was a very cold weekend! Bathroom and shower were very clean and spot on. Overall, good value for money and very friendly staff who are very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Elmbank Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
j taylor
Peterborough,uk
May 26, 2013

ideal location

The hotel is ideally placed for York town centre or the race course. The hotel had plenty of character and was very cean. the staff could not have been any friendlier. highly recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Elmbank Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WearyTraveler
Pennslyvania
Sep 14, 2009

Wonderful location, and good rooms.

The time spend at the hotel was short but it was a wonderful place to rest and recharge. A polite and helpful staff made it all the better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Elmbank Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jun 26, 2010

A rooms were a little tired, but

A rooms were a little tired, but the foyer etc of hotel was nice. The young blonde girl on reception seemed like she did not want to be there - did not make eye contact or ever smile - not good customer relations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Elmbank Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Nov 7, 2010

Normal price listed as GBP130/night.

Normal price listed as GBP130/night. We thought we were getting a bargain at GBP49 for a twin. The room was tiny, one of the blankets was child size and we had to make the beds ourselves. They do have large rooms also, but to suggest our room was normally 130 pounds is frankly dishonest. On the plus side, the lobby area is lovely as is the staff, with the exeption of the surly young woman at reception in the mornings. Our room was barely worth the budget price we paid. We won't be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Elmbank Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jul 20, 2010

Was disappointed to find that

Was disappointed to find that although when booking my 3 night stay I'd indicated I needed to check in close to midday, when I arrived at 12.30pm I was told I couldn't check in. No-one even checked if my room was ready; I was merely told repeatedly that 'check in is from 2pm'.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Elmbank Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brian
Not Provided
Oct 18, 2009

Pleasant stay,staff very friendly

Pleasant stay,staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Elmbank Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Apr 3, 2010

Very well located but the hotel

Very well located but the hotel is a bit basic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Elmbank Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Aug 22, 2009

Old hotel some nice features.

Old hotel some nice features. Quiet area not too far from town.Stairs with no lifts or baggage service.not good for those with back problems or older.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search