$123 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 12, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

3 stars
St. Maurices Road, --, York, YO31 7JA
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.8
out of 5
6 reviews
Great stay at great location

Excellent very large suite for three. Great location within 5 to 10 minutes of everywhere. Large... See full review

  • Anymoose
  • Jul 19, 2014
Comfortable and affordable

Staff at the Monk Bar were extremely helpful at all times.Location is perfect, whilst some... See full review

  • DASH
  • Feb 13, 2014
Right at the heart of York, with parking for residents, the BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel is the ideal choice for exploring this historic and vibrant city. The hotel is just five minutes from the city walls, York Minster and the Shambles. This is a city for exploring, where centuries of history combine with modern day elegance. You can shop until you drop, relax and enjoy a quality experience. Our award winning hotel has individual bedrooms, a welcoming lounge and courtyard garden, and a friendly bar and restaurant. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment from May to December 2014 which may cause some disturbance to guests.

BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel Rooms

1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,NO-SMOKING,STANDARD
2 SINGLE BEDS
2 SINGLE BEDS,NO-SMOKING,STANDARD
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NO SMOKING,BUSINESS CLASS
1 DOUBLE BED
1 DOUBLE BED,NSMK,DISABLED ADAPTED ROOM
1 DOUBLE 1 SINGLE
1 DOUBLE 1 SINGLE,NONSMOKE,FAMILY ROOM

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Ironing board
Trouser press

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

53.9625 -1.0784
Area served
Harrogate, Leeds, Ripon, York
Nearby airports
(MAN), 60.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • York Station: 0.5 mi

Dining

Cloisters Restaurant
Cloisters Restaurant, on premises, Full Service, International, Open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner, Modern European cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (6)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 6
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anymoose
Los Altos, CA
Jul 19, 2014

Great stay at great location

Excellent very large suite for three. Great location within 5 to 10 minutes of everywhere. Large public rooms, friendly staff and good restaurant made for a perfect two days in York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoyed meals at Lucia's and at Mamma Mia's. Recommend both very highly.

Review of BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DASH
derbyshire
Feb 13, 2014

Comfortable and affordable

Staff at the Monk Bar were extremely helpful at all times.Location is perfect, whilst some facilities in the hotel have seen better days ( e.g. cabinets, wardrobes - a minor detail) couldn't fault the cleanliness and comfort. All round a good overnight stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hursty
wigan
Oct 24, 2012

fantastic

really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, would definately go again, would recommend you use the room service. well worth it. jeff & tina

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

try the happy valley chinese restaurant its just round the corner and its gogeous

Review of BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rogerw117
Twickenham, Greater London, UK
Dec 17, 2011

Comfortable, great location

Easy check-in, nice room but hot! Comfortable bar / lounge areas. A short wait for breakfast but efficiently handled. All in all I'd stay again, (this was our second short break there), not least because of the great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WanderingProf
USA - Northeast Corridor
Aug 2, 2010

Great Location, Comfortable Room!

We chose Monkbar over other options (including the BW Dean's Court, which is slightly better located) because we got a great deal on a large room with a king-sized bed. What we found was a very comfortable room, with nice french-door style windows, and a comfortable bed - located just outside the old city walls. Given that you can walk to York minister within 5 minutes and anywhere else in the old city within 15 minutes, we didn't even have to sacrifice location for price! The only downsides were the extremely loud fan that went on with the bathroom light (think blowhorn), and the fact that the decor was just a bit too packaged (soft pastel colors, etc - not the prime choice for the die-hard urban explorer). These are really minor complaints - everything else was perfect, and we may well stay here again next time we are in York!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN Monkbar Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WanderingProf
USA - Northeast Corridor
Aug 2, 2010

Great Location, Comfortable Room!

We chose Monkbar over other options (including the BW Dean's Court, which is slightly better located) because we got a great deal on a large room with a king-sized bed. What we found was a very comfortable room, with nice french-door style windows, and a comfortable bed - located just outside the old city walls. Given that you can walk to York minister within 5 minutes and anywhere else in the old city within 15 minutes, we didn't even have to sacrifice location for price! The only downsides were the extremely loud fan that went on with the bathroom light (think blowhorn), and the fact that the decor was just a bit too packaged (soft pastel colors, etc - not the prime choice for the die-hard urban explorer). These are really minor complaints - everything else was perfect, and we may well stay here again next time we are in York!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top