$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

Macdonald Windsor Hotel

4 stars
23 High Street, Windsor, SL4 1LH
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
7 reviews
Beautiful hotel, Fantastic Location

Beautiful hotel from lounge to room. The location was perfect, across the street from Windsor... See full review

  • Wanderlove
  • Jul 11, 2014
Great break with my husband

Had a lovely time,hotel ,food Christmas atmosphere great . Hope to go back in the spring.Shame... See full review

  • Kay kb
  • Dec 22, 2014
Situated two minutes walk from the gates of Windsor Castle, in the heart of the historic town, The Macdonald Windsor hotel provides the ideal location for an overnight business stay or weekend getaway. The 120 luxury bedrooms, in a mulberry and metallic colour scheme, are well appointed with plasma TV's, air conditioning, Bose IPOD docking stations and free Wi-Fi. Caleys Restaurant offers intimate dining, and serves a creative menu using organic and seasonal produce. Cooked breakfasts are served daily, and 24-hour room service is also available. Just a 15-minute drive from London Heathrow Airport, minutes from M4 and M25, and less than 40 minutes from London Paddington. On-site parking is available and needs to be booked in advance. The Royal Borough is home to some of the most well known attractions and the Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base to experience them. Visit Legoland or Thorpe Park, enjoy a day at the races, relax in Savill Gardens, situated within Windsor Great Park or soak up the heritage of Eton College with its historic buildings. Or indulge in a relaxing boat trip or romantic horse drawn carriage through the Park.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Macdonald Windsor Hotel also booked these hotels.

Macdonald Windsor Hotel Rooms

Classic Double Room
A luxurious room with queen sized double bed , en suite luxury bathroom with drench showers, air-conditioning, work desk, FREE Wi-Fi, FREE tea/coffee and mineral water, Flat screen TV, Bose IPod docking stations.
Classic Twin Room
A luxurious room with 2 single beds, en suite luxury bathroom with drench showers, air-conditioning, work desk, FREE Wi-Fi, FREE tea/coffee and mineral water, Flat screen TV, Bose IPod docking stations.
Executive Double Room
Superior double rooms offer an added feature to the classic rooms. They all have the benefit of increased floor space and large bathrooms or views of the town centre. Many are quirky in style as they are in the historic part of the building with feature fireplaces.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Legoland Windsor: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (7)

Ratings and reviews for Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 7
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kay kb
Business
McDonald windsor
Dec 22, 2014

Great break with my husband

Had a lovely time,hotel ,food Christmas atmosphere great . Hope to go back in the spring.Shame there is no swimming pool though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A late twenties couple
Business
London, UK
Jul 15, 2014

It's a business hotel, nothing more

Fine for business travel, meh for anything more. The LED spotlights in the restaurant are distracting and off-putting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wanderlove
Business
Alamo, CA
Jul 11, 2014

Beautiful hotel, Fantastic Location

Beautiful hotel from lounge to room. The location was perfect, across the street from Windsor Palace. The room was spacious yet cozy, loved the updated bathroom and modern decor. Would highly recommend this hotel. The staff were very helpful, recommending a lovely place for dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

High end Indian Food with fresh ingredients and savory flavors

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bytheseamaine
Business
Maine
Sep 30, 2013

Perfect Location

We had a very nice stay at the Macdonald Windsor. The location was amazing, right across the street from the entrance to the castle. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, the room comfortable, very attractive, and spotlessly clean. A heating problem was remedied as soon as we reported it. Breakfast was good but not outstanding. Eggs could be ordered to preference, always a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crusty
Business
essex
Aug 13, 2013

fantastic location

very pleasant experience, staff all very friendly, room was lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lunch in the train station development Dinner around the river Perfect

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Someone who stayed here
Business
Bristol
Jul 30, 2013

Good location. Nice rooms.

The location is great - right in the middle of Windsor, opposite the castle, couldn't be better if you want to visit Windsor. Also only about 5-10 mins drive to Legoland. The rooms are overall very nice. Nicely decorated, comfortable. No views from the window - view of other rooms across a gap (though expected this given location#. Bathroom good - great shower, no bath. Minibar + kettle with tea bags, etc. I always wonder why good hotels don't have real coffee #only instant# and don't have fresh milk in the minibar, which this hotel didn't #in common with most hotels#. Air con good, though room was a bit stuffy because the windows were closed. I don't know if they opened, but didn't try because of the music from the wedding party going on late at night a couple of floors below our room. Bathroom very hot, but fine after turned off heated towel rail. TV sound in bathroom was a nice touch, though didn't find the "off" switch or a volume control. Restaurant menu didn't seem to match the look of the restaurant - basically uninspiring sounding pub food in an upmarket looking restaurant. Though it was good quality pub food, it was a bit overpriced for what it was, especially the wine and coffee. We paid the bill after the meal, though they tried to charge us again when we checked out - this was swifty resolved, although my request for a receipt showing the bill was fully paid was refused because we'd "booked the room through an agent". They also got the restaurant order slightly wrong. It also seemed to cause great confusion that we were eating with other guests who were staying in a different room and had a discount on dinner included in their room rate. They were unable to give us a table for 5, so 5 of us sat at a table for 4, though there were spare tables available for the duration we were there. I'm sure there are better choices of restaurant in Windsor... There are no other facilities in the hotel apart from the restaurant, i.e. no pool, etc, so nothing else to comment on there. Being Windsor, you have to pay for parking. The hotel charges something ridiculous for that. Though it wasn't difficult to find somewhere close by that was a lot cheaper, though it still cost £4 to park from 6pm to 9am and more if you wanted to park for longer. We didn't have breakfast because it wasn't included in the room rate and was very expensive if all you wanted was something small to eat and a cup of coffee. There was a nice coffee shop next door that did the job, though. Overall, it was a very nice hotel and a good place to stay. I guess hotels in Windsor are generally expensive, so perhaps my expectations were too high for the price, but I wouldn't say it was "value for money". But I guess that's not why people stay in a hotel like this!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's no need to pay the huge amount they charge to park in the hotel car park - do a web search for parking in Windsor before you arrive - there are plenty of other options within 2-10 mins walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
roachy76
Business
London, UK
Jan 5, 2012

Best hotel I've stayed in

This hotel and its staff were unbeatable. Everything was immaculate, from the room, to the reception area, bar and restaurant. The whole decor within was lovely and clean. The staff were impeccable and I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top