$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Thistle St Albans, The Noke

4 stars
Watford Road, St Albans, AL2 3DS
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
5 reviews
Great Value

Great Value hotel, clean, the spa is nice and quiet and inclusive, nice relaxing break, would do so... See full review

  • Jaysun
  • Mar 5, 2013
party

great receptionist good breakfast and a comfortable room friendly helpful staff. that is it then,... See full review

  • partybill
  • Jan 15, 2013
The four star Thistle St Albans is a traditional Victorian hotel, located near Hertfordshire and is accessible via the Thameslink train from London. Featuring 111 bedrooms, Thistle St Albans has undergone extensive refurbishment. Near the M25, the M1 and close to the A1, it's a popular venue for business meetings & weekend breaks. Thistle St Albans continues a tradition of hospitality dating back to Victorian times, when the nearby A1 was still the Great North Road. In recent times, St Albans has enjoyed a mini-boom; in a recent version of Monopoly, it's displaced Mayfair as the priciest property on the board With its landscaped grounds, easy accessibility and ample free parking on-site, Thistle St Albans is a popular wedding venue. The hotel has free Wi-Fi access and is completely non-smoking

Hotel Map

51.7207 -0.3652
Area served
Watford, St Albans.
Nearby airports
London Luton Airport (LTN). London Heathrow Airport (LHR).
Area description
The hotel is close to St Albans itself, with its Norman cathedral and old-world market-town charm: for the more energetic, the rolling chalk hills of the Chilterns offer superb walking; or you can simply relax here in its Otium Health & Leisure Club.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Thistle St Albans, The Noke also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Thistle St Albans, The Noke Rooms

Standard Double Room
Our Standard Double rooms have everything you need for a relaxed and comfortable stay. Quiet, spacious and decorated in a warm country-house style they are a welcoming sight for any traveller. As in all our rooms, our BT Openzone wi-fi broadband connection gives you access to your emails and the internet.
Standard Twin Room
Our Standard Twin rooms feature 2 single beds and have everything you need for a relaxed and comfortable stay. Quiet, spacious and decorated in a warm colour palette, they are a welcome sight to any traveller. And as in all our rooms our BT Openzone wi-fi broadband connection gives you access to your emails and the internet.
Deluxe Double Room
All the comforts and amenities of our Standard bedrooms, and then some. Our Deluxe Double rooms offer more space, welcoming soft furnishings, state of the art LCD TVs and a large work desk. When you've finished checking your emails via our BT Openzone wi-fi broadband connection, you can relax with a long luxurious soak in your refurbished luxury ensuite bathroom.
Deluxe Twin Room
Our newly refurbished Deluxe Twin rooms offer the perfect retreat at the end of a hectic day. They're larger than our Standard rooms, and include 2 single beds complete with soothing neutral, soft furnishings, plus a large work desk and a state of the art LCD TV. Your luxury ensuite bathroom has both a bath and a power shower, with a range of complimentary toiletries to help you relax. And as in all our bedrooms, you'll have BT Openzone wi-fi broadband connection allowing you to access your emails or surf the net.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The largest function room, the Marquee, seats up to 250 people theatre-style, making it suitable for larger meetings and conferences: it's also one of St Albans' most popular wedding venues. The hotel has five further rooms suitable for board and team meetings, training sessions, presentations, interviews and private dining.

Dining

The Noke Restaurant
Our recently refurbished Noke Restaurant offers a choice of modern dishes and home-cooked favourites incomfortable, contemporary surroundings with views over the hotel grounds. We also keep an extensive cellar of classic and New World wines with enough variety to satisfy all tastes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (5)

Ratings and reviews for Thistle St Albans, The Noke

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 5
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2.6
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
2.6
Value:
3

40% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thistle St Albans, The Noke

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jaysun
London
Mar 5, 2013

Great Value

Great Value hotel, clean, the spa is nice and quiet and inclusive, nice relaxing break, would do so again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Petrol station does a decent selection of wine, 30 seconds away. Happy days. :)

Review of Thistle St Albans, The Noke

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dean Johnston
Watford
Dec 24, 2013

Not a four star

I never write reviews but on this occasion i will warn people about this hotel. On arrival our deluxe room did not have a shower head. When i called reception they said they were aware of it and i could come down to reception and collect whenever i wanted. When i informed them that i had no intention of fitting it myself they were reluctant to bring it to our room and fit this. Also the bar lacked atmoshpere and the restuarant had a basic set menu. The bar had a better food menu. Also i paid for the room in advance and they then informed me upon check out that they had no recieved it. Obviously i did not question this and paid for my room. When i recieved my bank statement i noticed i did pay for my room in advance. I've been trying to get my money back ever since but the Manager is the only person that can authroise this and is busy all the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Thistle St Albans, The Noke

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Diamond123
London
Apr 6, 2013

Poor

Not an amazing stay. Could get better for cheaper near. Room dirty to hot and unaware of my booking. Not worth the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Thistle St Albans, The Noke

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jaysun
London
Mar 5, 2013

Great Value

Great Value hotel, clean, the spa is nice and quiet and inclusive, nice relaxing break, would do so again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Petrol station does a decent selection of wine, 30 seconds away. Happy days. :)

Review of Thistle St Albans, The Noke

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
weekend break in london
Dublin
Jan 22, 2013

Nice hotel but be careful

Great hotel; clean, comfortable and quiet. **Be careful to bring your online booking payment invoice with you**. Our booking was fully paid for online but the hotel had no record of this payment, so we were forced to pay again on check-out. While the manager approved the refund a few days later, he was not very understanding at the time, especially since it was their mistake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Thistle St Albans, The Noke

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
partybill
st albans herts
Jan 15, 2013

party

great receptionist good breakfast and a comfortable room friendly helpful staff. that is it then, hope to stay with you again soon many thanks slan libh

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top