$92 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 12, 2014

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

4 stars
34 - 35 High Street, Southampton, SOUTHAMPTON, SO14 2HN
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
6 reviews
Welcoming and Warm Staff

I couldn't ask for more! The staff is very welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The location is... See full review

  • Marites Smart Traveler
  • Sep 20, 2012
Good location

The room we had was small, but okay for one night. It was very hot in the room and the window could... See full review

  • Mcrawford
  • Oct 13, 2013
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin is a 4 Star hotel that has stood in the heart of the city for over 500 years. Perfectly located near the main port it provides a great base to stay before and after your cruise or trip to the Isle of Wight. Within walking distance of Southampton's main shopping areas, historic harbour, Sea City museum, parks and city walls. Hampshire's top attractions including Beaulieu, the New Forest, Paultons Park and Marwell Wildlife Park are only a short drive away.

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Rooms

2 Sg beds Std
Standard Room with Two Single Beds. All bedrooms are en suite, with LCD televisions, direct dial telephone, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, safe, controllable heating.
1 Db bed Std
Standard Room with 1 double bed. Modern design, newly refurbished, offering guests the very best in accommodation. All bedrooms offer en suite bathroom, LCD television, direct dial telephone, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, safe, controlable heating

Amenities

General
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

50.9218 -1.4328
Nearby airports
SOU, (SOU), 5.00, KM, NE;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Southampton Central Station: 1.3 mi
  • Port of Southamtpon: 2.8 mi

Dining

SIGNATURE
Signature has a contemporary design and feel. The menu will offer a range of dishes to cater for all, using fresh locally sourced ingredients. Breakfast served 6.30 - 9.30 Monday - Friday and 7.30 - 10.30 Saturday, Sundays and Bank Holidays
OAK BAR
Modern design serving a wide range of drinks the perfect place to relax and unwind. Lounge menu available every day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (6)

Ratings and reviews for Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 6
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peter
Not Provided
Jun 21, 2011

Very attentive and helpful staff.

Very attentive and helpful staff. I chose to select from room service, which carried a £5 tray charge. The items were very tasty and delivered to my room within the quotd time. Room was spacious and double bed, for sole guest, was very comfortable. I did not use any other facilities during my brief stay, but I will book again when next in Southampton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mcrawford
Staten Island
Oct 13, 2013

Good location

The room we had was small, but okay for one night. It was very hot in the room and the window could not be opened. There was a table fan. The bathroom was small, too and the shower was difficult. We complained to the front desk and were told to ask for a better room next time. This must be what they give Orbitx customers as it appeared there were many other better rooms. It is an historic hotel in an interesting and historic city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Golfnut 1
Palm desert, ca
Dec 21, 2012

Comfortable stay

Pleasant old town hotel. Close to everything. Shopping for Xmas was excellent and it was close to the cruise terminal as well as the coach terminal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
page
Delaware
Dec 17, 2012

Great Space

Very spacious room with fitted kitchen. An apartment more than a room. The problem was that we had no hot water at the sinks, though the shower was fine. The desk clerk, Natalie was awesome! She did everything she could to make our stay easy. She even loaned us her umbrella!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marites Smart Traveler
Pinole, California
Sep 20, 2012

Welcoming and Warm Staff

I couldn't ask for more! The staff is very welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The location is perfect, close to the cruise docks, shopping, and good international restaurants. The best deal as to value in hotel accomodations! I will definitely recommend this hotel to my relatives and friends who will embark on a Southampton cruise ship.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Different restaurants that cater to a diverse ethnic group is within walking distance. Shopping is also within close proximity and the prices of mechandise like clothing are unbelievably reasonable even in British Pounds!

Review of Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Redheads Rules
Chicagoland area, IL
Oct 13, 2010

Dolphin Safe

The Mercure Southampton Center, AKA the Dolphin, was a home base, a no frills hotel. While there was nothing wrong with the hotel per se it wouldn't be an establishment I'd return to. Located near the docks and the Bargate it was convenient to shops and historical interests. I would suggest not eating in the hotel's restaurant as it is grossly overpriced compared to it's quality and offerings. For breakfast eat 2 doors down. Do not be surprised NOT to find alarm clocks as this is a normal practice in England, however, it's rather frustrating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Marks & Spencer is a must see.

Review of Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Redheads Rules
Chicagoland area, IL
Oct 13, 2010

Dolphin Safe

The Mercure Southampton Center, AKA the Dolphin, was a home base, a no frills hotel. While there was nothing wrong with the hotel per se it wouldn't be an establishment I'd return to. Located near the docks and the Bargate it was convenient to shops and historical interests. I would suggest not eating in the hotel's restaurant as it is grossly overpriced compared to it's quality and offerings. For breakfast eat 2 doors down. Do not be surprised NOT to find alarm clocks as this is a normal practice in England, however, it's rather frustrating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Marks & Spencer is a must see.

Back to menu Return to top