$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

4 stars
1 St John Street, SALISBURY, SALISBURY, SP1 2SD
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
6 reviews
Charming hotel in town centre

A roaring fire welcomed me on a cold November day which, combined with the friendly and efficient... See full review

  • WeymouthLiz
  • Nov 24, 2013
Good in parts

Two double rooms booked for two nights, for a wedding - one standard and one upgraded. The standard... See full review

  • Skip
  • Nov 30, 2010
Mercure White Hart hotel is a beautiful hotel dating back to the 17th Century. Located in the centre of the historic city's shopping and entertainment district, with the city's famous Cathedral just a 5 minute walk away. The hotel has 68 modern guest rooms, each with wireless internet and TV. We specialise in afternoon teas in our newly refurbished lounge and al fresco dining in the secluded courtyard. We have an extensive car park (chargeable) so that you can explore the city and its 5 rivers.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel Rooms

1 Sg bed Clc
Classic Room with 1 single bed. Classic Single - Rooms have TV, Radio, direct dial telephone & Internet access and are all ensuite. Tea & coffee making facilities, iron with ironing board are also provided in rooms.
1 Db bed Clc
Classic double or twin room. Classic Double / Twin - Twin rooms and family rooms must be requested in advance. All rooms are ensuite and include TV, radio, direct dial telephone & internet access. Tea & coffee making facilities, iron / ironing board are
1 Db bed Exec
Executive double or twin room. Executive Double/Twin - Twin/ family rooms request in advance. In addition most rooms have A/C and are furnished to a high standard with laptop sized safe, Internet and upgraded bathroom amenities. Mini fridge and hospital

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Jacuzzi
Sauna
Disco
Night club
Golf
Solarium
Indoor tennis
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
FAX
Audio visual equipment
Florist
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
Cribs available
Iron
Bath tub

Dining

SQUIRES RESTAURANT
Squires Restaurant is renowned for its traditional British cuisine, served in elegant and relaxing surroundings. A Carvery lunch Sunday to Friday. Daily table d hote menu or seasonal a la carte menu in the evening. Restaurant closed throughout December
SPIRES BAR
Spires Bar & Lounge, the meeting place in Salisbury for a relaxing morning coffee, lunchtime snack or a traditional Wiltshire Cream Tea, or simply return to the hotel for a quiet drink and a bar snack after a busy day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (6)

Ratings and reviews for Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 6
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WeymouthLiz
Business
Dorset
Nov 24, 2013

Charming hotel in town centre

A roaring fire welcomed me on a cold November day which, combined with the friendly and efficient receptionist and the very charming décor and set of small lounges off the foyer, gave a really good impression. My room, too, was good - a good size for a single with all the usual facilities and, being at the back of the hotel, it did not suffer from 'city noise'. My main reasons for not giving a 5* rating were the little details - the lamp which didn't work in my room, and the huge replacement which took up half the table-space, which the very helpful staff- member managed to track down for me; the room chair, which was just too low to sit comfortably at the table; the slight lack of attention from dining staff - I had to wave them over to ask for some water - the fact that I had to follow the waiter to a till because the wifi wasn't working in the dining room; the fact that the background music kept skipping/running fast without any team member noticing - these little details just took the edge off what was otherwise an excellent stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Skip
Business
Chichester
Nov 30, 2010

Good in parts

Two double rooms booked for two nights, for a wedding - one standard and one upgraded. The standard room was very pleasant, clean, spacious, and warm and with a place for two to sit as well as a desk and chair. There were no complaints. The upgraded (newer) room was small – with no place to sit other than at a desk so that one person had to sit on the edge of the bed to watch TV etc., and had a very unpleasant smell of drains. Reception moved us to another room – this time with no smell – and we were initially happy with the change. However, this being one of the coldest weekends of the year thus far, we were amazed to find that the newly refurbished bathroom had no heating - of any type: no radiator, no heated floor or even a heated towel rail. A design fault – the architect and designer should be shot, or at least made to stay in the room! With two single-glazed windows and a ceramic tiled floor the bathroom was extremely unpleasant to use. We assume that the air-con unit in the bedroom was meant to heat bedroom and bathroom - it failed miserably and was, at times, blowing out cold air so that even the bedroom temperature fluctuated tremendously.Sunday morning breakfast was a fiasco. The hotel was full due to several weddings in the area and we were told at check-in on the Friday that the main function and dining rooms would be in use from around 09.30 on the Sunday for a pre-booked Physic fair: therefore room service breakfast would be available at no extra charge. A good alternative - except that there were too many rooms taking up this offer and the hotel had not thought to increase staffing levels to cope with an increased and totally predictable demand. Our breakfast was over 45 minutes late and others were even later – and at check out we were then asked to pay full room-service breakfast charges. There were also several other incorrect items on our bill: we had been told that parking was free for the wedding, but were initially charged, and also asked to pay for someone else's room. The poor receptionist was doing her best to remain calm and helpful whilst working single-handed: a 'manager' appeared to be sitting in his office behind reception. The queue for check-out just kept growing behind us as we queried one item after another. Forward planning by the hotel management should have foreseen that a full hotel may all be checking out at around the same time on the Sunday morning, and therefore increased reception staff. The main pluses were location, quality of food both in the restaurant the evening before and at the wedding reception, and the staff, [...] from Hungary gets special mention for her friendliness and attention, as does the other waitress (Friday night and Saturday service – sorry I cannot remember her name) who was pleasant, attentive and industrious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dubuque IA
Oct 20, 2010

Very nice- we liked it.

Easy to find, nice location, good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
larry, super gardener
Business
chicago, IL, UK
Aug 25, 2010

great location and very comfortable

we had a good experience at this hotel. the room was modern and comfortable. the bath was small but usable. the beds were new and the decor was fresh. for a mid price hotel in the uk, it was better than average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

if you want to see central salisbury, this is the spot

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jbrae
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 31, 2010

Great locaation

The staff was very courteous, helped us with directions, luggage and with my Mom's walker which was problematic with the absense of the elevator. The hotel was easy to find and in a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Salisbury White Hart Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southern California
Nov 16, 2009

Helpful Staff, Avoid Unrenovated Floor

Pros: Convenient Location Historical Building Helpful Staff Decent View In-room CD Player In-room Tea & Biscuits Cons: No elevator Unrenovated floors lack Air Conditioning/Heating Road Noise Internet in Lobby didn't work Loud toilet Uncomfortable Bed The renovated floors are likely better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The hotel is within walking distance of the train station/Stonehenge Tour Bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top