$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 5, 2014

Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

4 stars
73 High Street, OXFORD, OXFORD, OX1 4BE
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
7 reviews
Great location, some history in the building

Good experience. Good views from room. friendly staff and helpful. Good location, walking distance... See full review

  • exploring the buildings
  • Jun 24, 2013
Pleasant

The hotel staff was very personable and helpful. I would stay at this hotel again. See full review

  • BeCai
  • Mar 16, 2012
Book into a 3-star Oxford hotel located on the high street & opposite Magdalen College. The Mercure Eastgate Hotel is a townhouse in central Oxford. A converted coaching inn, the hotel retains its original atmosphere, complemented by contemporary décor, air conditioning and internet access. All 64 guest rooms are distinctive and individual, and have an elegance in keeping with the beautiful city. Of all the rooms, the Ruskin Suite is the signature, refurbished in the style of a Don's bedroom.

Hotel Map

51.7521 -1.2493
Nearby airports
LHR, (LHR), 64.37, KM, SE; OXF, (OXF), 15.60, KM, S; LHR, (LHR), 76.80, KM, NW; LTN, (LTN), 102.80, KM, W;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel Rooms

1 Db bed Clc
Classic Double room. Smart & contemporary style bedrooms full of character decorated in soft shades. Thoughtfully equipped with comfortable beds and soft feathered pillows, air conditioning, tea & coffee making tray, hairdryer, mini-bar facilities and i
1 Sg bed Clc
Classic Single room. Small and cosy bedrooms, full of character decorated in soft shades. Thoughtfully equipped with comfortable single beds and soft feathered pillows, air-conditioning, tea & coffee making tray, hairdryer and complimentary WIFI access.
2 Sg beds Std
Classic twin (2 single beds) room. Smart & contemporary style bedrooms full of character decorated in soft shades. Thoughtfully equipped with comfortable beds and soft feathered pillows, air conditioning, tea & coffee making tray, hairdryer, mini-bar fa
1 Db bed Dlx
Superior Double Room. Smart and contemporary style bedrooms full of character decorated in soft shades. Thoughtfully equipped with comforatble beds and soft feathered pillows, air conditioning, tea & coffee making tray, hair-dryer, mini-bar facilities a

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Bath tub
Trouser press

Dining

HIGH TABLE BRASSERIE & BAR
Welcome to The High Table Brasserie and Bar - Now awarded with a first AA Rosette -Top table Diner Award! Enjoy Modern European cuisine in a welcoming atmosphere. With locally sourced seasonal produce to provide you with the best product available!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (7)

Ratings and reviews for Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 7
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
2
Sort by:
Review of Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunbeamer
Business
Shrewsbury, Shropshire, UK
Jul 16, 2013

Good location

The room was tiny. The bed barely wide enough for double occupancy. The Airconditioning was barely functional. The kettle provided in the room didn't work and no replacement was provided in spite of the complaint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Badger Madge
Business
Bath uk
Dec 28, 2012

Big let down - not 4* worthy

Pubes on toilet bath mat Moved rooms after first night as fifth room too noisy. Second room far too hot. Staff unable to fix. Cleaning staff left damp cloth on bed and didn't make bed. Also left bottle of cleaning chemicals in the bathroom. No Hair drier in second room - hair drier brought to room but it was broken. Second hair drier brought to room with no apology and with attitude. Asked for glasses to have a drink in our room - we were sent to the bar to wait for them ourselves. Reused mini-jam at breakfast. Must pay extra for parking! All of the above (except for noise which can't be helped) not what we expect for four stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mount Laurel, NJ
Apr 6, 2011

Lovely Hotel, Great Location

We were in Oxford to visit my daughter, who is a graduate student at Lincoln College, Oxford University. The hotel was literally steps from her flat, and within ten minutes walking distance of almost everything in Oxford. It sits at the corner of High Street and Merton, so wonderful coffee shops, restaurants and shopping are mere steps away. The hotel is clean, comfortable and well appointed, and although we did not eat here, we did enjoy a late night cocktail at the bar. We rarely use our hotel for anything other than sleep/showering/dressing, and we found the accommodations to be quite adequate for those purposes. Our main requirement was proximity to my daughter as we did not want to rent a car, and we did in fact walk everywhere with ease.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Oct 6, 2009

Fine old hotel spoiled

I've stayed there a number of times since 1980. New owners have spoiled a fine hotel. Now a slick, cold, business oriented hotel for Japanese visitors. Tiny room (actually a single with a double bed against one wall, sloping ceiling preventing sitting or getting up, three feet to bathroom door, no space for clothes or bags).They failed to call us for a six o'clock wake up to catch our return flight. No apologies. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Covered Market haas everything. Wonderful display of meats, cheeses, flowers. Great pubs with good food, especially The Turf, one of the oldest in England. Edinburgh Woolen Mills great place to buy sweaters. Avoid hotel restaurant; VERY expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top