$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

4 stars
View map of 73 High Street, OXFORD, OXFORD, OX1 4BE

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
8 reviews
Great location, some history in the building

Good experience. Good views from room. friendly staff and helpful. Good location, walking distance... See full review

  • exploring the buildings
  • Jun 24, 2013
Pleasant

The hotel staff was very personable and helpful. I would stay at this hotel again. See full review

  • BeCai
  • Mar 16, 2012
Recently refurbished, the 17th century building which is home to the Mercure Oxford Eastgate is located in the centre of Oxford opposite part of the University buildings. The famous novelists J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S Lewis frequented the hotel whilst being Fellows at Merton College and Magdalen College respectively. The Eastgate Townhouse boasts the newly opened Marco's New York Italian restaurant and with onsite parking (chargeable), it is the ideal place to stay while in Oxford.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel Rooms

1 Db bed Clc
Classic Double room. Smart & contemporary style bedrooms full of character decorated in soft shades. Thoughtfully equipped with comfortable beds and soft feathered pillows, air conditioning, tea & coffee making tray, hairdryer, mini-bar facilities and int
1 Db bed Dlx
Superior Double Room. Smart and contemporary rooms which are full of character and decorated in soft shades. Thoughtfully equipped with comfortable beds, soft feather pillows, air-conditioning, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer, mini-bar facilitie
1 Sg bed Clc
Classic Single room. Small and cosy bedrooms, full of character decorated in soft shades. Thoughtfully equipped with comfortable single beds and soft feathered pillows, air-conditioning, tea & coffee making tray, hairdryer and complimentary WIFI access.
2 Sg beds Std
Classic twin (2 single beds) room. Smart & contemporary style bedrooms full of character decorated in soft shades. Thoughtfully equipped with comfortable beds and soft feathered pillows, air conditioning, tea & coffee making tray, hairdryer, mini-bar faci

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
Satellite TV
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Bath tub
Trouser press

Dining

MARCO'S NEW YORK ITALIAN
The legendary Godfather of modern cooking, Marco Pierre White, opens his newest venture replicating the hustle and bustle of a classic New York Italian restaurant. Enjoy a mouthwatering array of tasty dishes. -Tel 01865 248695- Pre-booking essential.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
2.9
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
2.9

38% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jun 19, 2011

Excellent location, good restaurant,

Excellent location, good restaurant, excellent breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CS.598
Business
Charlottesville
Jan 15, 2015

work trip

The hotel was fine, though I thought a bit over priced for what you got. The bed linens were very coarse/scratchy and the room was very hot. I asked the staff about it twice and they said there was nothing they could do about it as the heat in the room was already off and the AC throughout the entire hotel was turned off. I opened the window as much as I could and didn't sleep with any of the blankets but it was still too hot to sleep well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunbeamer
Business
Shrewsbury, Shropshire, UK
Jul 16, 2013

Good location

The room was tiny. The bed barely wide enough for double occupancy. The Airconditioning was barely functional. The kettle provided in the room didn't work and no replacement was provided in spite of the complaint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
exploring the buildings
Business
USA
Jun 24, 2013

Great location, some history in the building

Good experience. Good views from room. friendly staff and helpful. Good location, walking distance to everything. Historical notes about the building , of interest. Bathrooms are new and updated, but the rooms need some update.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Badger Madge
Business
Bath uk
Dec 28, 2012

Big let down - not 4* worthy

Pubes on toilet bath mat Moved rooms after first night as fifth room too noisy. Second room far too hot. Staff unable to fix. Cleaning staff left damp cloth on bed and didn't make bed. Also left bottle of cleaning chemicals in the bathroom. No Hair drier in second room - hair drier brought to room but it was broken. Second hair drier brought to room with no apology and with attitude. Asked for glasses to have a drink in our room - we were sent to the bar to wait for them ourselves. Reused mini-jam at breakfast. Must pay extra for parking! All of the above (except for noise which can't be helped) not what we expect for four stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BeCai
Business
Fayetteville, NC, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Pleasant

The hotel staff was very personable and helpful. I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mount Laurel, NJ
Apr 6, 2011

Lovely Hotel, Great Location

We were in Oxford to visit my daughter, who is a graduate student at Lincoln College, Oxford University. The hotel was literally steps from her flat, and within ten minutes walking distance of almost everything in Oxford. It sits at the corner of High Street and Merton, so wonderful coffee shops, restaurants and shopping are mere steps away. The hotel is clean, comfortable and well appointed, and although we did not eat here, we did enjoy a late night cocktail at the bar. We rarely use our hotel for anything other than sleep/showering/dressing, and we found the accommodations to be quite adequate for those purposes. Our main requirement was proximity to my daughter as we did not want to rent a car, and we did in fact walk everywhere with ease.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thatwardgirl
Business
Franklin, TN
Nov 21, 2010

Rather Strange Stay

Odd. I know the Eastgate to be a good hotel, but my stay there this time was very odd. Nice room, but the bed was an uncovered box-spring on the floor and a mattress with a covered duvet. No other linens. Odd. I also had the feeling that no one knew I was staying there. When I phoned the desk? No answer. Odd. Still, the price was good, the room clean and very nice, the location grand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to have your breakfast in the restaurant at The University Church of St. Mary's. Amazing organic/free range full English breakfast for less than £5. Two minutes walk from the Eastgate and well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, Texas
Oct 6, 2009

Fine old hotel spoiled

I've stayed there a number of times since 1980. New owners have spoiled a fine hotel. Now a slick, cold, business oriented hotel for Japanese visitors. Tiny room (actually a single with a double bed against one wall, sloping ceiling preventing sitting or getting up, three feet to bathroom door, no space for clothes or bags).They failed to call us for a six o'clock wake up to catch our return flight. No apologies. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Covered Market haas everything. Wonderful display of meats, cheeses, flowers. Great pubs with good food, especially The Turf, one of the oldest in England. Edinburgh Woolen Mills great place to buy sweaters. Avoid hotel restaurant; VERY expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top