Malmaison

3 stars
3 OXFORD CASTLE, OX1 1AY, Oxford, --
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
10 reviews
Prison Elegance

My stay was excellent. The hotel was great, the mood and ambiance of the old prison was there to... See full review

  • MadCap Mike
  • Sep 25, 2011
Prison Elegance

My stay was excellent. The hotel was great, the mood and ambiance of the old prison was there to... See full review

  • MadCap Mike
  • Sep 25, 2011
Coveniently located in the city centre, it provides an unique experience to stay in a hotel that was once a prison. (LP 03/09) Once a Victorian prison, the building is still resemble one but with a bit of glamour added to it in a very natural way. Hotel is conveniently located 5 minutes walk from the Oxford railway station.

Hotel Map

51.7517 -1.2625

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Malmaison also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Malmaison Rooms

Guest Rooms
When hotel was converted from a prison into a luxury hotel, the original cells were also transformed into bedrooms living their genuine doors and bars.

Amenities

General
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant
The hotel brassiere not only offers the most deliciuos of food, but also a very romantic atmophere with lit candles every where.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0100
Check-out:
0100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (10)

Ratings and reviews for Malmaison

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.6

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Malmaison

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
World travel
Foreign
Jan 30, 2013

Extremely Firm Beds and Flat Pillows

Pros: Friendly/Thoughtful staff, a great location, great feel to the place and interesting history. Cons: Very, very firm bed. Flaccid pillows. The shower would not hold a constant temperature unless you count frigid or searing. Not for me but others may have had a different experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Malmaison

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Corwin18
NY
Oct 16, 2012

Delightful weekend

Interesting hotel with unique rooms. We enjoyed our dinner and the visitors room. The rooms themselves were comfortable but not outstanding. A little pricy for what we got. Thought the staff was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Malmaison

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MadCap Mike
Business
San Diego, California
Sep 25, 2011

Prison Elegance

My stay was excellent. The hotel was great, the mood and ambiance of the old prison was there to add mystique, but was not overwhelming. The staff could not have been better. This is now my hotel of choice in the Oxford area. The only nitpick is that the mattress was a tad on the hard side, but staff has informed me that they will be experimenting with new pillowed mattress covers as this is a commonly mentioned issue. The location also couldn't be better. Situated between the downtown walking center and the train station. I also appreciated the close access to several restaurants (especially the tapas). While the hotel brasserie was great, it is nice to have easy access to alternatives within short walking distance. I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely save a dinner for the excellent Spanish tapas at La Tasca restaurant. A great meal (especially the chorizo).

Review of Malmaison

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MadCap Mike
Business
San Diego, California
Sep 25, 2011

Prison Elegance

My stay was excellent. The hotel was great, the mood and ambiance of the old prison was there to add mystique, but was not overwhelming. The staff could not have been better. This is now my hotel of choice in the Oxford area. The only nitpick is that the mattress was a tad on the hard side, but staff has informed me that they will be experimenting with new pillowed mattress covers as this is a commonly mentioned issue. The location also couldn't be better. Situated between the downtown walking center and the train station. I also appreciated the close access to several restaurants (especially the tapas). While the hotel brasserie was great, it is nice to have easy access to alternatives within short walking distance. I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely save a dinner for the excellent Spanish tapas at La Tasca restaurant. A great meal (especially the chorizo).

Review of Malmaison

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frequent Intl Traveler
Memphis, TN
Aug 6, 2009

Loved the location and history

Fantastic reconstruction of a 1000 year old prison. Stayed in the New Room section which was great although not one of the original cell rooms. Visitors Room Bar was welcoming and service was excellent. Dinner at the main dining room was fantastic. They accommodated our party of 10 on short notice with excellent service and exceptional food. Easy walking to main Oxford areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Malmaison

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Frequent Intl Traveler
Memphis, TN
Aug 6, 2009

Loved the location and history

Fantastic reconstruction of a 1000 year old prison. Stayed in the New Room section which was great although not one of the original cell rooms. Visitors Room Bar was welcoming and service was excellent. Dinner at the main dining room was fantastic. They accommodated our party of 10 on short notice with excellent service and exceptional food. Easy walking to main Oxford areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Malmaison

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Massachusetts
Jul 7, 2009

Good location; interesting concept

While the location was good and the staff very responsive, the hotel has some issues to work out. The beds are extremely uncomfortable (hard as a rock) and the air cooling system was not working at all in the first room we were assigned and only minimally in the second room. Since the "cell" windows cannot be opened, the rooms became very hot and stuffy. The lighting in the rooms is dim, which was a problem when trying to apply makeup or to read. Overall, we had a nice stay, since the staff was very friendly and responsive. Oxford is a great city to explore!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Malmaison

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Massachusetts
Jul 7, 2009

Good location; interesting concept

While the location was good and the staff very responsive, the hotel has some issues to work out. The beds are extremely uncomfortable (hard as a rock) and the air cooling system was not working at all in the first room we were assigned and only minimally in the second room. Since the "cell" windows cannot be opened, the rooms became very hot and stuffy. The lighting in the rooms is dim, which was a problem when trying to apply makeup or to read. Overall, we had a nice stay, since the staff was very friendly and responsive. Oxford is a great city to explore!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Malmaison

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 27, 2007

fantastic location

This hotel is amazing, it has been kept as the old prison but the decor that goes with it has made it feel very comfortable! The rooms were very comfortable and a good size with lots of lovely extras. The hotel is a very short walk away from the shops, and in the centre of a square which is full of lots of places to eat. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The living room is a good place for drinks

Review of Malmaison

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 27, 2007

fantastic location

This hotel is amazing, it has been kept as the old prison but the decor that goes with it has made it feel very comfortable! The rooms were very comfortable and a good size with lots of lovely extras. The hotel is a very short walk away from the shops, and in the centre of a square which is full of lots of places to eat. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The living room is a good place for drinks

Back to menu Return to top