$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Macdonald Randolph Hotel

4 stars
Beaumont Street, Oxford, OX1 2NL
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
20 reviews
Classic, fantastic, excellent hotel

From arrival to departure, everything was perfect in this fine old hotel- the staff are wonderful... See full review

  • Kate McKinnon
  • Nov 5, 2013
Great experience

Great location and staff was wonderful. Food was very good. Great place for a cocktail. The... See full review

  • World Traveler 61446
  • Jul 9, 2012
The Macdonald Randolph Hotel is the leading five-star hotel in Oxford. Built in 1864, this landmark city centre Oxford hotel offers luxurious accommodation, 2 AA rosette award-winning food and drink and a sensuous spa. Host to prime ministers and presidents, the Randolph Hotel's renowned Morse Bar is instantly recognisable as the watering hole of Colin Dexter's world-famous detective, Inspector Morse. The most desirable conference, meeting and events venue in Oxford, the Randolph is also an elegant and historic setting for your wedding. On the doorstep of the Ashmolean Museum and Oxford's universities, The Randolph is a hotel you should 'endeavour' to visit on a trip to Oxford.

Hotel Map

51.755 -1.2613
Area served
Oxford Airport - 20 minutes Heathrow Airport - 40 minutes Gatwick Airport - 75 miles
Nearby airports
Heathrow Airport, (LHR), 48.60, MI, NW; Gatwick Airport, (LGW), 84.80, MI, NW; Kidlington Airport, (OXF), 5.10, MI, NW;
Area description
The Macdonald Randolph Hotel provides the most contemporary of business facilities in the most classic of settings. Oxford's leading 5-star hotel sits opposite the world-famous Ashmolean Museum and our venues take inspiration from the advances and attitudes espoused by this great University city. Elegance, communications and commerce meet at the Randolph in the form of 6 conference and business suites accommodating up to 400 guests, equipped to the highest Meeting@Macdonald standards and managed by an experienced events team. v Natural light fills 5 of our meeting and function rooms and 3 exquisite chandeliers illuminate the largest ballroom in Oxford. Rich furnishings and stunning views over the city of dreaming spires highlight our first-floor venues. All rooms are individually designed, air conditioned, have tailored fire escape plans and benefit from wireless internet access throughout (fees apply).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Macdonald Randolph Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Macdonald Randolph Hotel Rooms

CLASSIC - ROOM
Choose a Classic Single Room at the Macdonald Randolph Hotel for a sound night's sleep in luxurious surroundings. Individually-styled single bedded rooms with high ceilings and excellent en-suite facilities ensure that your stay in Oxford is a comfortable one.
CLASSIC - ROOM
Choose a Classic Double Room at the Macdonald Randolph Hotel for a sound night's sleep in luxurious surroundings. Individually-styled double bedded rooms with high ceilings and excellent en-suite facilities ensure that your stay in Oxford is a comfortable one
CLASSIC - ROOM
Choose a Classic twin Room at the Macdonald Randolph Hotel for a sound night's sleep in luxurious surroundings. Individually-styled twin rooms, with 2 single beds, with high ceilings and excellent en-suite facilities ensure that your stay in Oxford is a comfortable one
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
Spacious Executive Rooms with one double bed, are the ideal base for those who come to work and relax in Oxford. Large desks and a generous work area combine with wireless internet access to help you stay in touch. Soothe away any tension with a relaxing shower or bath and take advantage of our turndown service so that everything is ready for a good night's sleep.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

The Randolph Restaurant
Dining in the Restaurant at The Randolph Hotel is like stepping into a baronial hall. If you can tear your eyes away from the University crests gracing the lofty ceiling, the double aspect full-length windows will direct your gaze to Beaumont Street and the Ashmolean. Crisp white table linen balances the opulent architectural features and richly painted oils. Choose from table d'hte and la carte menus prepared by our award-winning chefs and complement your meal with fine wine. Finish with flamb bananas, prepared with a flourish at your table by one of our talented and experienced team members
Morse Bar
An iconic meeting place in Oxford, often frequented by actors and politicians, The Morse Bar at the Randolph Hotel has been intimately associated with Colin Dexter's TV detective, Inspector Morse. A frequent setting for many scenes where Morse and Lewis have deliberated on complex cases, The Morse Bar still features regularly in episodes of the follow-on TV series, Lewis. The classic elegance of this wood-panelled, warmly-lit bar is complemented by a range of the finest cocktails in Oxford
The Drawing Room
The Drawing Room at the Randolph Hotel is the epitome of English style and a perfect setting for one of our hotel's famous afternoon teas. Toast your friends with a glass of Moet et Chandon, a centrepiece of our most luxurious champagne tea. Alternatively, indulge in a classic pot of freshly-brewed tea with melt-in-the-mouth scones and clotted cream. Settle into a comfortable sofa and spend a Saturday afternoon serenaded by our pianist or just relax with light snacks and refreshments

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.5

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
World Traveler 61446
TN
Jul 9, 2012

Great experience

Great location and staff was wonderful. Food was very good. Great place for a cocktail. The shortbread served with the Tea was to " die for".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Tours of Oxford very short walk. Footprint Tours the best.

Review of Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kate McKinnon
Tucson, Arizona
Nov 5, 2013

Classic, fantastic, excellent hotel

From arrival to departure, everything was perfect in this fine old hotel- the staff are wonderful and the location is excellent. I can't recommmend the Randolph highly enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
MV, CA
Nov 18, 2010

Great hotel

Fabulous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
P S
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 9, 2010

Great Hotel!

Great hotel in a perfect location. Truly a 4-5 star hotel. Rooms are small but what else do you expect in a 200 year old building? Bathroom is small but brand new. You get what you pay for and you pay a lot here. If you like to pay for a top tier hotel and get the service and restaurants then this is for you. We liked it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the train and all of Oxford's attractions

Review of Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
P S
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 9, 2010

Great Hotel!

Great hotel in a perfect location. Truly a 4-5 star hotel. Rooms are small but what else do you expect in a 200 year old building? Bathroom is small but brand new. You get what you pay for and you pay a lot here. If you like to pay for a top tier hotel and get the service and restaurants then this is for you. We liked it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the train and all of Oxford's attractions

Review of Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vienna, VA
Nov 8, 2010

Lovely hotel in prime location

Very nice hotel in a great location. Wonderful restaurant. Nice room and terrific staff. Right across the street from Ashmoleum. Easy access to just about everything in Oxford.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cambridge, MA
Jun 22, 2010

Great location and lovely rooms!

We booked several rooms in this hotel for ourselves and our adult children. We were attending a wedding, so we wanted to be close to everything. The Randolph is in the middle of everything you want to do in Oxford - rivaled only by The Old Bank Hotel. The rooms vary in size. We had one facing the alley in the back, but it was huge. The others had rooms facing the street with great views of the Ashmolean Museum, but their rooms were considerably smaller. Rooms are beautifully furnished, have a wonderful tea set, and well worth the higher price. It was sometimes noisy, but given the location, it is to be expected. We would not recommend spending extra money at breakfast here - there are many other places, and the breakfast items were not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go punting on the river! Visit Trinity College (very close by) and Merton College.

Review of Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vienna, VA
Nov 8, 2010

Lovely hotel in prime location

Very nice hotel in a great location. Wonderful restaurant. Nice room and terrific staff. Right across the street from Ashmoleum. Easy access to just about everything in Oxford.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
American visitor
Washington, D.C.
Jun 24, 2009

Excellent experience

This hotel had immense, beautiful, modern,first-class rooms and an excellent location in Oxford. We got this hotel for about $200.00 a night during the height of the recession, and it was definitely worth more than what we paid. The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is that many items, like breakfast and internet access, were not included and ridiculously expensive. Since it is a big hotel, it also doesn't have much of a personal feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Road Warrior
Arkansas
Jul 22, 2010

Nice place

Overall wonderful hotel, conveniently located to the main shopping,tourist areas, and many of the colleges in Oxford. Room was huge and room service couldn't be beat. Had fractured my foot just prior to visit and had some difficulty getting a room that didn't require any stairs but they eventually found one for me. Didn't get a chance to try the spa, but the menu of services looked great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top