$214 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2015 Check-out: Jul 23, 2015

Macdonald Randolph Hotel

4 stars
View map of Beaumont Street, Oxford, OX1 2NL

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
17 reviews
Great hotel for academic visitor

We had a lovely stay at the Macdonald House. Grand old hotel. Beautiful entry way beautiful... See full review

  • Peter T.
  • Feb 15, 2015
Classic, fantastic, excellent hotel

From arrival to departure, everything was perfect in this fine old hotel- the staff are wonderful... See full review

  • Kate McKinnon
  • Nov 5, 2013
The Macdonald Randolph Hotel is the leading five-star hotel in Oxford. Built in 1864, this landmark city centre Oxford hotel offers luxurious accommodation and a sensuous spa. Host to prime ministers and presidents, the Randolph Hotel's renowned Morse Bar is instantly recognisable as the watering hole of Colin Dexter's world-famous detective, Inspector Morse. The most desirable conference, meeting and events venue in Oxford, the Randolph is also an elegant and historic setting for your wedding. On the doorstep of the Ashmolean Museum and Oxford's universities, The Randolph is a hotel you should 'endeavour' to visit on a trip to Oxford.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Macdonald Randolph Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Macdonald Randolph Hotel Rooms

Classic Rooms
You'll find our Classic bedrooms are all individually styled and come with all the modern conveniences you would expect of a five-star hotel. Once you've arrived, brew a cup of fresh coffee from the cafetiere and then take a soak in the bath with luxurious Molton Brown toiletries, before settling down for a sound night's sleep.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

The Randolph Restaurant
The Restaurant at the Randolph serves a range of traditional dishes from across Europe. Whether your after a light snack, something a little heavier or simply something sweet our menu caters for all tastes.
Morse Bar
An iconic meeting place in Oxford, often frequented by actors and politicians, The Morse Bar at the Randolph Hotel has been intimately associated with Colin Dexter's TV detective, Inspector Morse. A frequent setting for many scenes where Morse and Lewis have deliberated on complex cases, The Morse Bar still features regularly in episodes of the follow-on TV series, Lewis. The classic elegance of this wood-panelled, warmly-lit bar is complemented by a range of the finest cocktails in Oxford
The Drawing Room
The Drawing Room at the Randolph Hotel is the epitome of English style and a perfect setting for one of our hotel's famous afternoon teas. Toast your friends with a glass of Moet et Chandon, a centrepiece of our most luxurious champagne tea. Alternatively, indulge in a classic pot of freshly-brewed tea with melt-in-the-mouth scones and clotted cream. Settle into a comfortable sofa and spend a Saturday afternoon serenaded by our pianist or just relax with light snacks and refreshments

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:30 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
World Traveler 61446
TN
Jul 9, 2012

Great experience

Great location and staff was wonderful. Food was very good. Great place for a cocktail. The shortbread served with the Tea was to " die for".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Tours of Oxford very short walk. Footprint Tours the best.

Review of Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peter T.
Business
Thousand Oaks
Feb 15, 2015

Great hotel for academic visitor

We had a lovely stay at the Macdonald House. Grand old hotel. Beautiful entry way beautiful breakfast room - love the staircase, love the high ceilings. The bathroom was the best - just beautiful. The only problem we had was we had the room right over the front entrance so the lights on the front of the hotel reflected into our room. But the blackout curtains did a good job of blocking most of the light. We would stay there again in an instant if we go back to Oxford.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wii visitor
Business
Thailand
Nov 20, 2013

Bad service

I won't go back this hotel again. The staffs look down their customer. The room is not comfortable and also noisy even in midnight. We couldn't sleep.It's not worst for four stars hotel. You not get what you pay!!! I should believe the earlier reviews.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kate McKinnon
Business
Tucson, Arizona
Nov 5, 2013

Classic, fantastic, excellent hotel

From arrival to departure, everything was perfect in this fine old hotel- the staff are wonderful and the location is excellent. I can't recommmend the Randolph highly enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
World travel
Business
USA
Jun 3, 2012

Small room, unintentional wake ups everyday.

Woken up by some loud noises each morning by chimes and a recorded voice. Worse shower I have ever had in England. Pressure one moment then slowly down to a dribble then the cycle would repeat. Simple small room. Nice location and friendly staff. Eventually left for another hotel in town for the remainder of my trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Parking was expensive but not many hotels in town have parking.

Review of Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CNNN
Business
London, UK
Feb 7, 2012

So so getaway

My husband and I love the comfortable room, excellent location and the friendly staff. It has indeed make our stay enjoyable. However, being a 5 star hotel, we were quite surprise it charged extra for use of the thermal facilities i.e. sauna, jaccuzzi and steam room and it doesn't have a swimming pool in the hotel. We were also surprise to find out that the jaccuzzi is not warm! All in all, it is a bit disturbing because I booked this hotel mainly for it's thermal facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sobrio
Business
Basel, Schweiz
Dec 16, 2011

Does not deserve the fifth star

completely overrated - one can tell that it is the only five star hotel in the city. miserable heating in certain rooms not very clean (and this in a five star hotel!!!) no bartender in the hotel bar when he is needed (at 11PM) for a wellness hotel the spa closes by far to early unfriendly check-out after complaining very average and to expensive breakfast - service unfriendly at the breakfast friendly house stuff we asked for a sushi place - the answer of the concierge was - there is no sushi place in Oxford - thank's good the world wide web knew better - YoSushi Oxford the hotel is a labyrinth - some rooms can only be reached after a real odyssey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MV, CA
Nov 18, 2010

Great hotel

Fabulous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MV, CA
Nov 18, 2010

Great hotel

Fabulous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vienna, VA
Nov 8, 2010

Lovely hotel in prime location

Very nice hotel in a great location. Wonderful restaurant. Nice room and terrific staff. Right across the street from Ashmoleum. Easy access to just about everything in Oxford.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top