$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

4 stars
View map of London Road, Piccadilly, Manchester, M1 2PG

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
18 reviews
Weekend with my friend concert and shopping

I have stayed in this hotel many times! The location is perfect. I will deffinately stay here the... See full review

  • Patricia S.
  • Mar 3, 2015
Lovely Mid-week Break

This is a well-run comfy and clean hotel. The rooms are spacious and well laid out. The hotel was... See full review

  • Aoife K.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Elegant, modern luxury near Piccadilly Station in Manchester

In the heart of the city, the Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa is sure to please. This landmark hotel offers contemporary elegance near major roadways and within walking distance of Piccadilly Station. The award-winning Signatures restaurant boasts excellent city views and healthy menus at breakfast and dinner (reservations recommended). The cardiovascular equipment at the on-site fitness center is available for all guests, while the hotel spa is available for anyone who is seeking a massage at the Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa.

Highlights
  • Women-only floor with spa rooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Family rooms are some of the largest in the city
Rooms
Expect everything, from standard amenities to little luxuries, to be top notch in these classy guest rooms at the Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa. Triple-glazed windows keep city noise outside and Bose iPod docking stations keep the sounds inside at a perfect pitch. Find large, flat-screen televisions, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access, and luxury bathrooms in every guest room and suite. Upgrade to a city view or executive room for extra pampering. Women on a spa vacation will appreciate the spa rooms on the private, women-only floor. For the best amenities and most spectacular views book a panoramic room or suite at the Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa.
Features
Ideally located in the heart of the city, this gorgeous luxury hotel pampers guests from start to finish. Mornings are bright with breakfast at the award-winning Signatures restaurant. And even the most stubborn stresses melt away at the hotel spa. There is no reason to skip on your exercise routine with Vital, the on-site fitness center, available to all guests. Piccadilly Station is within walking distance of the Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa, as is the Opera House and MEN Arena. Stop by Exchange Square to browse the shops, grab a bite to eat, or just people-watch. Of course one of the best places to watch people in their element is at Old Trafford, where football is the name of the game.
Transportation
  • Piccadilly Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Manchester Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
Attractions
  • Manchester Art Gallery (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • MEN Arena (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Exchange Square (2 mi/3.2 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms available
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa Rooms

Panoramic Junior Suite
Our Panoramic Junior Suites come with King Size beds and views across Manchester. They are amongst the largest bedrooms in the city with drench showers and oversize baths, we ensure the perfect setting to unwind. You will also receive a complimentary drink in the bar or in your room or head to our spa to unwind while making use of your complimentary access.
Classic Rooms
Choose one of our Classic rooms at Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa for luxury and space during your stay in Manchester. Listen to your favourite music through the in room docking station or watch a film on the flat screen TV, before taking a bath or shower and settling into your large comfortable bed for a good night's sleep, complete with triple-glazed windows to ensure an extremely peaceful night.
Executive Rooms
Our luxurious and spacious Executive rooms are perfect for anyone who comes to work or play in Manchester. After a long day of meetings or sightseeing return to your King or Twin sized bed. Make use of the extra space and complimentary Wi-Fi provided by The Cloud to get through those last minute emails while enjoying a coffee, fresh from your own Nespresso coffee machine, or a delicious cup of Clipper tea.
Feature Suite
Upgrade to one of our luxurious suites for extra space and superior comfort. Our Deluxe Feature Suits have a separate lounge, workstation, guest bathroom and dining area complete with dining table for added luxury. Perfect for business travellers or romantic getaways, our Deluxe Feature Suites allow you to curl up on the sofa and watch a good film on the flat screen TV in the lounge, or surf the channels in the bedroom. You will also receive a complimentary drink in the bar or in your room and beautiful flowers waiting for you on arrival.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Piccadilly Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Sackville Street: 0.3 mi
  • Alan Turing Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Canal Street: 0.3 mi
  • Dancehouse Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Manchester Aquatics Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Piccadilly Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Manchester Apollo: 0.5 mi
  • Manchester Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Cornerhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Manchester Art Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Green Building: 0.6 mi
  • Manchester Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Craft Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Piccadilly Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Sackville Street: 0.3 mi
  • Alan Turing Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Canal Street: 0.3 mi
  • Dancehouse Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Manchester Aquatics Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Piccadilly Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Manchester Apollo: 0.5 mi
  • Manchester Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • Cornerhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Manchester Art Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Green Building: 0.6 mi
  • Manchester Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Craft Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Bridgewater Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Albert Square: 0.7 mi
  • Band on the Wall: 0.7 mi
  • Chinese Arts Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Arndale: 0.8 mi
  • Manchester International Convention Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Manchester King Street: 0.8 mi
  • Free Trade Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Royal Exchange Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • St Anns Church: 0.8 mi
  • Manchester Wheel: 0.8 mi
  • Exchange Square: 0.9 mi
  • Contact Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Printworks: 0.9 mi
  • Beetham Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Triangle: 0.9 mi
  • Urbis: 0.9 mi
  • Mamucium: 0.9 mi
  • Manchester Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • Opera House: 1 mi
  • Manchester Arena: 1 mi
  • Whitworth Art Gallery: 1 mi
  • Manchester Academy: 1.1 mi
  • M.E.N. Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Peoples History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 1.1 mi
  • Granada Studios: 1.1 mi
  • National Squash Centre: 1.3 mi
  • City of Manchester Stadium: 1.3 mi

Dining

Signatures Restaurant
Our award-winning Restaurant offers a bright and airy space by day and a warm, intimate space by night. With commanding views of Manchester and our open theatre kitchen, we provide you with an experience like no other. Enjoy our fine fare as you glance out at the city lights of Manchester. Due to the popularity of Signatures Restaurant, we advise you to book a table in advance in order to avoid disappointment. Opening Times: Breakfast served 6:30am until 10am, Monday to Friday and 7am until 11am on Saturday and Sunday. Dinner is served 6pm until 10pm, Sunday to Thursday and 5:30pm until 10pm on Friday and Saturday.
Cafe Bar
The stylish Cafe Bar is the perfect place for breakfast, coffee or drinks. Our Caf Bar is also the ideal place to meet friends or colleagues before exploring Manchester's cosmopolitan city centre. Settle into a plush curved sofa and watch the plasma TV as you browse the menu or simply watch the world go by from the full-length windows. The Cafe Bar is open from 6:30am until late.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 18
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patricia S.
Business
N/A
Mar 3, 2015

Weekend with my friend concert and shopping

I have stayed in this hotel many times! The location is perfect. I will deffinately stay here the next time I come to stay in Manchester. The only thing I will say against the hotel is that the breakfast is way over priced and therefore go into town to eat !! But this dosnt put me off!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SteveadSue
Business
Hull
Dec 8, 2014

Relaxing in comfort and style

Stayed here last year on business so suggested it as a venue for a weekend visit to the Christmas market. It was perfect , far enough away to give us peace , close enough to be handy for everything. Rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable. Had a room overlooking the train station but heard nothing but view was fascinating. Only met reception and bar staff and they were excellent -loved every minute of the stay and almost certainly coming back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CESW
Business
Cumbria
Nov 2, 2014

Would stay again

Really enjoyed this one night in Exec room. Excellent value and breakfast amazing. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast out of this world

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
stoke-on-trent
Nov 30, 2010

complaints

we should of checked in at 2, we parked on the car park about 12 went into hotel was told to come back at 2 we went to do a bit of shopping got back 2.45 to find out our friends room was not ready so we had to wait, we did finally get to our rooms, there was still a dirty tray outside our room (not nice) then our friends tried there card in the door and it did not work so they phoned reception and had to wait another 10 mins to get a another card. we got into our room which is a lovely big room and i had a shower, while i was waiting for the hubby to shower i decided to get into bed to keep warm, i pulled back the quilt and the sheets were dirty which i think is disgusting, so i had to phone reception and the maid changed them, our friends also requested for a ice bucket to be sent to there room because they had treated us to a bottle of bubbly for our anniversary which they had to go to reception them selves to get it because they took so long.The spa was area was small aswel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
stoke-on-trent
Nov 30, 2010

complaints

we should of checked in at 2, we parked on the car park about 12 went into hotel was told to come back at 2 we went to do a bit of shopping got back 2.45 to find out our friends room was not ready so we had to wait, we did finally get to our rooms, there was still a dirty tray outside our room (not nice) then our friends tried there card in the door and it did not work so they phoned reception and had to wait another 10 mins to get a another card. we got into our room which is a lovely big room and i had a shower, while i was waiting for the hubby to shower i decided to get into bed to keep warm, i pulled back the quilt and the sheets were dirty which i think is disgusting, so i had to phone reception and the maid changed them, our friends also requested for a ice bucket to be sent to there room because they had treated us to a bottle of bubbly for our anniversary which they had to go to reception them selves to get it because they took so long.The spa was area was small aswel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Macdonald Manchester Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Oct 21, 2009

Manchester MacDonald

- I booked two months in advance and got a great deal through [...] Location is perfect for Manchester Piccadily or even a taxi to the airport is 20 mins, as close to main roads- Spa is great and fitness rooms are of a high standard

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Maybe try 'Grill on the Alley' for great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top