$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Britannia Hotel Stockport

3 stars
Dialstone Lane, Stockport, Manchester, SK2 6AG
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
37 reviews
our stay

We stayed in Nov for 2 nights.Our room was decent if smallish.The furniture was of good quality but... See full review

  • yikyak222
  • Nov 24, 2014
Great Manager

I booked this room for just a quick night to catch my flight out of Manchester. It was a great... See full review

  • TBear FL
  • Sep 20, 2013
Stockport hotel with health club

Holidaymakers visiting the lovely Stockport City can find suitable base at the comfortable accommodations at Britannia Hotel Stockport. This value-for-money England property features Spindles Stockport Gym & Health Club that offers a heated indoor pool, sauna, steam room, spa, and state-of-the-art fitness center. Britannia Hotel can also hold social and corporate gatherings in the function room for an added fee. Additional conveniences include paid airport shuttle service, luggage storage, currency exchange, Wi-Fi access in common areas, wake-up call, and parking. Pets are allowed within the premises (fees apply).

To start the day, patrons can grab hearty meals at the breakfast buffet at Jenny's Restaurant, which also serves delectable lunch and dinner specials. Tourists can spend happy hour sipping cocktails at the in-house bar.
3 Reasons to Stay

  • Close to city center and must-see attractions
  • On-site leisure facilities like indoor pool, gym, and spa
  • Pet-friendly 

Britannia Hotel Stockport Rooms
Stockport Britannia Hotel offers 187 light-toned rooms furnished with basic comforts fit for business and leisure travellers. Amenities include TV, trouser press, direct-dial phone, hairdryer, and coffee- and tea-making facilities. Guests can request for non-smoking rooms.
Things to Do

  • Woodbank Memorial Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Staircase House (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Merseyway Shopping Centre (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Stockport Plaza (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Stockport Air Raid Shelters (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Hat Works (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Stockport Golf Club (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Bramall Hall (2.2 mi
  • Anson Engine Museum (3.9 mi/3.5 km)
  • Quarry Bank Mill (6.1 mi/9.8 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Britannia Hotel Stockport also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Britannia Hotel Stockport Rooms

Standard dbl/ twin room
The room offers one twin or one bed with wood furniture, facilities include: TV, Trouser Press and Tea & Coffee making facilities.
Family Room
The room offers one twin or one bed with wood furniture, facilities include: TV, Trouser Press and Tea & Coffee making facilities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Burnage: 3.5 mi
  • Didsbury: 4.3 mi
  • Fallowfield: 4.5 mi
  • Gorton: 4.6 mi
  • Platt Fields Park: 5 mi
  • Gallery of Costume: 5.2 mi
  • Whitworth Art Gallery: 5.7 mi
  • Manchester Academy: 5.9 mi
  • Contact Theatre: 5.9 mi
  • Manchester Apollo: 6 mi
  • Manchester Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Manchester Aquatics Centre: 6.4 mi
  • City of Manchester Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • National Squash Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Dancehouse Theatre: 6.6 mi
  • Burnage: 3.5 mi
  • Didsbury: 4.3 mi
  • Fallowfield: 4.5 mi
  • Gorton: 4.6 mi
  • Platt Fields Park: 5 mi
  • Gallery of Costume: 5.2 mi
  • Whitworth Art Gallery: 5.7 mi
  • Manchester Academy: 5.9 mi
  • Contact Theatre: 5.9 mi
  • Manchester Apollo: 6 mi
  • Manchester Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Manchester Aquatics Centre: 6.4 mi
  • City of Manchester Stadium: 6.4 mi
  • National Squash Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Dancehouse Theatre: 6.6 mi
  • Piccadilly Tower: 6.7 mi
  • Sackville Street: 6.7 mi
  • Alan Turing Memorial: 6.8 mi
  • Cornerhouse: 6.8 mi
  • Green Building: 6.8 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 6.8 mi
  • Canal Street: 6.8 mi
  • Bridgewater Hall: 6.9 mi
  • Manchester Chinatown: 6.9 mi
  • Piccadilly Gardens: 7 mi
  • Manchester Art Gallery: 7 mi
  • Manchester International Convention Centre: 7 mi
  • Beetham Tower: 7.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 7.1 mi
  • Free Trade Hall: 7.1 mi
  • Mamucium: 7.1 mi
  • Albert Square: 7.1 mi
  • Craft Centre: 7.2 mi
  • Band on the Wall: 7.2 mi
  • Manchester King Street: 7.2 mi
  • Chinese Arts Centre: 7.2 mi
  • Arndale: 7.3 mi
  • Opera House: 7.3 mi
  • St Anns Church: 7.3 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 7.3 mi
  • Royal Exchange Theatre: 7.3 mi
  • Manchester Wheel: 7.3 mi
  • Exchange Square: 7.4 mi
  • Printworks: 7.4 mi
  • Granada Studios: 7.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Jenny's restaurant is spacious and accommodates the main restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Jenny's Cocktail Bar is a large area and compliments the restaurant well.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Britannia Hotel Stockport

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.4

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Britannia Hotel Stockport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Contractor
Business
North East
Dec 14, 2014

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in

I have stayed in various Britannia hotels but my experience in this hotel is not good the first week I was there the room was cold and whilst using the shower the bath filled up at the same time flooding the bathroom second week the room was very hot no happy medium. Room is never cleaned properly at one point we did not even have any toilet roll, sheets are not changed all week sometimes they remember to leave you clean towels if we had not booked so far in advance we most certainly would have moved hotels. I know they say you get what you pay for but as long as the room was warm and clean we would have been happy would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Stockport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yikyak222
Business
leicester
Nov 24, 2014

our stay

We stayed in Nov for 2 nights.Our room was decent if smallish.The furniture was of good quality but a bit tired.There were Quite a few people waiting to hear if they could stop in UK being accommodated who we found to be well mannered.There was plenty of car parking and a very nice indian takeaway nearby INDIAN DELIGHT.georgeous food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Stockport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mum Liz
Business
South Yorkshire, UK
Nov 17, 2014

Very Disappointed

We were greeted when we arrived by a guest swearing in reception and wasn't challenged . The room on first inspection looked nice but went to pick up something from behind the bedside cabinet there was an inch of dust and looked like the furniture hadn't been moved in a year to clean. The draws were falling apart and the T.V. was stuck on one channel. We had a very early start the next morning but the fire alarm went off at 1.30am. It was a false alarm but by which time we were wide awake and couldn't get back to sleep. The second night, doors were banging on the corridor in the early hours so another sleepless night was had. The only positive aspect was the very good breakfast. Most definitely we will NOT be stopping here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Stockport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Buxton1954
Business
Nottingham
Jul 15, 2014

POOR VALUE

Booked in with sullen receptionist who looked like she should have been in the park with hoodie and drab clothing, she stood at the front of the hotel smoking. Another male member of staff also at front of hotel smoking. Bedroom tiny, grubby decor and needed a deep clean, bathroom shabby and again needing a deep clean. With Britannia hotels you get substandard and this met their usual standard. Britannia really do need to get their act together in this day and age.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Stockport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bridget the midget
Business
northern ireland
Apr 9, 2014

short break for weekend show

have to say i would not be recommending this hotel as a stopping point for any reason,i found it to be shabby and neglected both inside and out.my room was warm and the bed was comfy but the hygiene level was very low.the carpet looked as though the coalman had just walked on it! also there was mildew around the bath sealant.. i was glad i was travelling alone as i would have been even more disapointed to have been sharing the room with another person.my general overview of this hotel would be to avoid.breakfast also a disaster

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Stockport

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lauren Not Impressed
Business
Manchester
Jan 13, 2014

Awful Hotel

I arrived on Friday 10th January 2014 for a relaxing night away with my partner. We arrived in our room at around 5.15pm to find it was absolutely freezing. We turned on the heating (full blast) and turned on the TV. Within 15 minutes the TV cut out. I rang down to reception to inform them that the TV was not working and was told that they were aware of this and the maintenance man would arrive at 7pm to rectify. I waited another hour however the room was still freezing as the tiny radiator did not heat properly. We went down to reception and asked the receptionist if the maintenance man would definately fix the TV. We were then told that they could not be sure. My partner also asked how the maintenance man would possibly look at the TV's in all of the rooms, as we were told that the TVs were faulty in most rooms. I asked if we could return at a later date as to have a full night at the hotel, using the facilities without having to wait around for hours in a cold room. We were told the only option was to change rooms. I asked if the TV would work in the new room and was told 'I do not know'. I asked to speak to someone else and was told there was no one else available as another staff member who was in the office could not come to the front desk as she was in her own clothes??? I was told the manager would be in at 7pm and I so I left my number for him to contact me immediately and, clearly very unhappy, we went home. By 7.30pm I still had no call and so my partner rang the hotel and asked for the manager only to be told he had been called into an emergency meeting and would call me back. My partner then rang the Britannia Customer Service Line to complain and was told he had to speak with the hotel manager. It is now Monday 13th January 2014 and we have not received a call. This is just plain rude! So not only were the facilities out of use and the staff unhelpful and rude I am now out of pocket having paid for a nights stay in a hotel which was not fit for use. Moreover I have a room booked for the Britannia in Birmingham in February which I will now definately be cancelling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Stockport

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
foxy451
Business
Norfolk
Dec 30, 2013

Bargain Xmas break, room only.

We had some issues which I have directed to the hotel. Suffice it to say that it wasn't to the standard you would expect of a 3* hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Stockport

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TBear FL
Business
Palm Beach, Florida
Sep 20, 2013

Great Manager

I booked this room for just a quick night to catch my flight out of Manchester. It was a great value, nice Hotel with good atmosphere. The manager was fantastic, got me into my room early and was very helpful. The only problem was that according to the description, the hotel has an airport shuttle, but this particular one doesn't have it. (there are two other of the same hotel chain near by). I considered this a mistake from the online booking agent's fault in their description, which I plan to bring up to them. I was very pleased with everything overall. The free wifi is in the lobby, not in the rooms, but it is comfortable. I would recommend this Hotel and staff as a very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Stockport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cadney Kid
Business
England
Aug 23, 2013

Overnight stay

Used frequently in the past still no internet in most rooms, good hot shower be careful if you have kiddies

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Stockport

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RFPW
Business
Ireland
Aug 9, 2013

Stockport

I found the hotel to be basic but fine. I would stay again as the rate was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top