$46 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Britannia Hotel South Manchester

3 stars
Palatine Road, Northenden, Northenden, Manchester, M22 4FH
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
38 reviews
Excellent airport hotel

I wasn't expecting much from this hotel, just an inexpensive bed before an early flight, but the... See full review

  • Marcus Tucson
  • Jul 14, 2014
one-night

- Clean room - Room size is bigger enough for 2 persons - Load of car space. - Close to motorway... See full review

  • john ugo
  • Apr 5, 2014
All 212 bedrooms are en-suite and decorated in contemporary style with lots of natural light and facilities include TV & radio, trouser press, hairdryer, and tea & coffee making facilities. The Hotel offers an airport transfer shuttle service at a cost of 6GBP per adult and 3GBP per child for a return journey Featuring, six Conference rooms that can offer the best facilities perfect for any occasion and can hold up to 120 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.Pet policy as follows: Cats and Dogs are allowed at a cost of 10GBP per pet, per night. Other pets are allowed upon request. Please Note:In line with other Hotel chains as of the 30th September 2010 all credit/debit cards used to settle accounts at all hotels will have a 2 admin charge added.

Hotel Map

53.4071 -2.2658
Area served
Manchester.
Nearby airports
Manchester International Airport.
Area description
This modern purposed built hotel is located just off the M56 and easy access to the Motorway Networks, traveling from the North, South, East and West. Manchester Airport is only 3 miles away and a shuttle bus operates on a regular timetable.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Britannia Hotel South Manchester also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Britannia Hotel South Manchester Rooms

Economy Double
Room offers a double bed.
Standard Double or Twin
Room offers a double bed.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Didsbury: 1.4 mi
  • Fallowfield: 2.6 mi
  • Burnage: 3.1 mi
  • Platt Fields Park: 3.3 mi
  • Hale: 3.5 mi
  • Gallery of Costume: 3.7 mi
  • Manchester Academy: 3.9 mi
  • United Museum: 4 mi
  • Whitworth Art Gallery: 4 mi
  • Old Trafford: 4 mi
  • Contact Theatre: 4.1 mi
  • Manchester Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Manchester Aquatics Centre: 4.5 mi
  • Imperial War Museum North: 4.5 mi
  • Lowry Centre: 4.6 mi
  • Didsbury: 1.4 mi
  • Fallowfield: 2.6 mi
  • Burnage: 3.1 mi
  • Platt Fields Park: 3.3 mi
  • Hale: 3.5 mi
  • Gallery of Costume: 3.7 mi
  • Manchester Academy: 3.9 mi
  • United Museum: 4 mi
  • Whitworth Art Gallery: 4 mi
  • Old Trafford: 4 mi
  • Contact Theatre: 4.1 mi
  • Manchester Museum: 4.3 mi
  • Manchester Aquatics Centre: 4.5 mi
  • Imperial War Museum North: 4.5 mi
  • Lowry Centre: 4.6 mi
  • Dancehouse Theatre: 4.7 mi
  • Manchester Apollo: 4.7 mi
  • Green Building: 4.7 mi
  • Cornerhouse: 4.8 mi
  • Beetham Tower: 4.8 mi
  • Bridgewater Hall: 4.8 mi
  • Mamucium: 4.8 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 4.8 mi
  • Manchester International Convention Centre: 4.8 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 4.8 mi
  • Granada Studios: 4.9 mi
  • Free Trade Hall: 4.9 mi
  • Sackville Street: 5 mi
  • Alan Turing Memorial: 5 mi
  • Opera House: 5 mi
  • Manchester Chinatown: 5 mi
  • Canal Street: 5 mi
  • Manchester Art Gallery: 5 mi
  • Town Hall: 5.1 mi
  • Albert Square: 5.1 mi
  • Piccadilly Tower: 5.2 mi
  • Peoples History Museum: 5.2 mi
  • Manchester King Street: 5.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Gardens: 5.2 mi
  • St Anns Church: 5.2 mi
  • Royal Exchange Theatre: 5.3 mi
  • Gorton: 5.3 mi
  • Arndale: 5.4 mi
  • Manchester Wheel: 5.4 mi
  • Exchange Square: 5.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The superb restaurant, Palatine restaurant serves a hearty full breakfast or a Continental breakfast, light lunch or snack and dinner with a choice of Grills, Sea Food, Burgers and traditional Family favorites. The Palantine bar is ideal for relaxing with fine wines and beverages.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for Britannia Hotel South Manchester

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.6

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Britannia Hotel South Manchester

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
madhouse1964
manchester
Jul 18, 2014

get what you pay for

a very warm greeting from reception 10 out of 10, room a bit shabby but didn't pay a lot of money for the room it was clean but needed a lick of paint. I would stay there again very handy for the airport and very friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Britannia Hotel South Manchester

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marcus Tucson
San Francisco, CA
Jul 14, 2014

Excellent airport hotel

I wasn't expecting much from this hotel, just an inexpensive bed before an early flight, but the hotel was clean, had a decent bar/restaurant, friendly staff and quiet, well equipped rooms. The airport shuttle in the morning was on time and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Britannia Hotel South Manchester

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jennm
cumbria, uk
Jul 1, 2014

Good location for airport

It is close to manchester airport and the shuttle service to and from worked well although the shuttles only run at set times. Hotel could do with a bit of updating but served our purpose of a stop over before our flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Britannia Hotel South Manchester

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bojen
Bournemouth
Jul 1, 2014

bad hotel

The hotel is appalling. Staff are unfriendly and abrupt in manner. The room was dirty with splash marks down the walls. The bed base was broken, the mattress lumpy. The food in the restaurant was terrible, according to staff nothing is cooked there just heated up, however we had food that was uncooked,whilst other food was burnt. The pictures in the brochure are not representative of the actual state of the place I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Britannia Hotel South Manchester

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Alex899
Melbourne, Australia
Jun 10, 2014

Ok for a night

It suffices as a place for a stopover. It's clean enough and the desk staff are very helpful. Just don't order the food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Britannia Hotel South Manchester

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
johneric
london
Jun 10, 2014

shocking room's

From the outside the building looks ok, entrance good, bar area good, restaurant not that nice at all, really outdated basic food which was ok, now for the room where do I start,funiture is so outdated bedbase had stains on the side of it and the tv was so old volume was set at low volume, the walls had stains on them,the kettle was pluged into an extension lead.windows are filthy dirty, nets had a whole in them and dirty. So I can safely say I would never go back or recommend this hotel to anyone. My advive is get the decorators in and new beds and funiture. Very dissatisfied customer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The traffordcentre

Review of Britannia Hotel South Manchester

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
john ugo
Bedford
Apr 5, 2014

one-night

- Clean room - Room size is bigger enough for 2 persons - Load of car space. - Close to motorway and airport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Britannia Hotel South Manchester

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave Leicester
Leicester
Mar 27, 2014

Cheap but comfortable

Our experience at this hotel was surprisingly good considering how cheap our stay was. Ok, it is not 5 star quality but it certainly was not 5 star price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Britannia Hotel South Manchester

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel girl 19
Aberdeen
Jan 13, 2014

Worst hotel stay

I booked this recent stay and chose this hotel as it was a cheap budget hotel that was based close to my family that I was visiting. To say I was disappointed was an understatement. From the moment I checked in the hotel was very shabby looking and was not very clean. Staff hardly spoke or greeted you on arrival. Then came the room. Looked like it had not been decorated for 30 years. The walls were stained the bath had turned a yellow colour and there was mould growing on the bathroom ceiling. When I tried to call reception to complain or tried to speak to anyone I got no response. I am a frequent traveler and stay in budget hotels all the time and have never been let down. I called room service at 230am to order bottles water to my room to which I was told this would not be possible. After a 5 minute discussion the receptionist advised if I wished to come to reception he would source it from somewhere! I was a love female travelling and there was no way that I was coming out of my room at that time of night. To top it off the hotel was full of ladies of the night coming in and out with random men which quite frankly is disgusting

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Britannia Hotel South Manchester

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lou BZ
Malaga Spain
Dec 16, 2013

Good location

As many people have stated the hotel is dated, That was the only down side to it, however it is a 3 star, and the most reasonably priced i could find, so i don't think there is any reason to complain. You have to have a car. It is only 10 mins from the airport, 10 mins from the Traford center, 10 mins from the center of Manchester. I found staff friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and warm. I will defiantly stay there again if i visit Manchester again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Try the small towns around Manchester. They are great.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search