$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

3 stars
Portland Street, Manchester, Manchester, M1 3LA
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
102 reviews
Amazing hotel for the price

Brilliant location, comfy beds, room had everything you needed. See full review

  • Nickname1234
  • Feb 17, 2014
hotel stay

the room was very large and comfortable bathroom a good size i would stay there again See full review

  • stuatmacc
  • Jan 26, 2014
Central location makes grand hotel a standout in downtown Manchester
Centrally located, the Britannia Manchester hotel is an excellent choice for sightseeing and business travel in this vibrant city. Public transit and major motorways are equally accessible from here. The architecturally significant building features grand details like a balconied staircase as well as modern upgrades like Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel. Jenny's Restaurant and Bar and the Overstuffed Pizzeria serve lunch and dinner daily. Two popular bars at the Britannia Manchester are both open until the early hours of the morning.
Highlights
  • Super saver rooms, without windows, are an affordable option
  • A quick, five-minute walk from Piccadilly Station
  • Near the G-Mex Exhibition Centre
Rooms
Britannia Manchester rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated with classic furniture and understated colors. Choose a saver room, without windows, for an economical stay. Complimentary coffee and tea facilities, daily newspaper and television are standard in all rooms, including the saver room. Upgrade to a superior room for a spa bath and an in-suite lounge area. Wi-Fi Internet access is available in all rooms.
Features
The impressive and historically significant S & J Watts building has been home to the Britannia Manchester hotel since 1982. Located in the heart of Manchester, guests can walk, catch a train at nearby Piccadilly train station, or hail a cab to many area attractions. Spend the day exploring the Lowry, or learn about the industrial past of Manchester at the Museum of Science and Industry. Sports are serious business in the area, so make time to see a cricket match or football game. Two restaurants at the Britannia Manchester offer hearty meals throughout the day. Jenny's serves a buffet breakfast, and lunch daily. The Overstuffed Pizzeria is open for lunch and dinner. The quiet Crompton's Bar and vibrant Waves Bar are both popular destinations with locals. Elegant meeting and conference spaces are available with high tech equipment and Wi-Fi Internet access.
Transportation
  • Piccadilly Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Manchester Airport (8 mi/13 km)
Attractions
  • Chinese Arts Center (0.5 mi/1 km)
  • Royal Exchange Theatre (0.5 mi/1 km)
  • Museum of Science and Industry (1 mi/2 km)
  • Lowry (3 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Elegant meeting rooms and conference space available
  • Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the premises
Policies and fees
Pet policy as follows: Cats and dogs are allowed at a cost of 10GBP per pet, per night. Other pets are allowed upon request Please note: In line with other hotel chains as of the September 30, 2010, all credit/debit cards used to settle accounts at all hotels will have a 2GBP admin charge added.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

53.4804 -2.2354
Area served
Manchester, Salford, Greater Manchester
Nearby airports
Manchester International Airport.
Area description
The Britannia Hotel is one of the best located hotels in Manchester City Centre. Just minutes from Piccadilly rail link and the city's financial sector, the hotel offers easy access to Manchester International Airport, Chinatown and The Village. Standing proudly in the City Centre, the Britannia Hotel offers easy access to Old Trafford, home to Manchester United Football Club, the Emirates Stadium, home to Manchester City Football Club, the British Aerospace Museum, the Manchester Evening News (MEN) Arena, Manchester Central Convention Complex and the Lowry Theatre. A nearby Car Park offers preferential rates to guests in a secure, undercover area at 30 Tariff Street, Manchester, M1 2FJ. The car park is fully staffed 24 hours a day and is just a 5 minute walk away from the hotel. Prices are up to 60 percent off the daily posted rate and you must ensure that your ticket is validated by hotel reception to receive the discount prior to exit.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre also booked these hotels.

Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre Rooms

Economy Double Room
This tastefully decorated internal room is en-suite with one double bed and includes individual heat and air conditioning controls, TV, hairdryer, trouser press and tea and coffee making facilities. Please note that this is an internal room and has no window.
Standard Double Room
This tastefully decorated room is en-suite with one double bed and includes individual heat and air conditioning controls, TV, hairdryer, trouser press and tea and coffee making facilities.
Standard Twin Room
This tastefully decorated room is en-suite with two single beds and includes individual heat and air conditioning controls, TV, hairdryer, trouser press and tea and coffee making facilities.
Single Room
This tastefully decorated room is en-suite with one single bed and includes individual heat and air conditioning controls, TV, hairdryer, trouser press and tea and coffee making facilities.
Economy Twin Room
This tastefully decorated internal room is en-suite with two single beds and includes individual heat and air conditioning controls, TV, hairdryer, trouser press and tea and coffee making facilities. Please note that this is an internal room and has no window.
Superior Suite
This spacious Suite features a large seating area, with en-suite facilities and one double bed. Some Suites feature a four poster bed. The room has individual heat and air conditioning controls, TV, hairdryer, trouser press and tea and coffee making facilities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Piccadilly Gardens: 0.1 mi
  • Canal Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Manchester Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Alan Turing Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Craft Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Sackville Street: 0.3 mi
  • Manchester Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Arndale: 0.3 mi
  • Chinese Arts Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Band on the Wall: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Manchester King Street: 0.4 mi
  • Albert Square: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Exchange Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Piccadilly Gardens: 0.1 mi
  • Canal Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Manchester Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Alan Turing Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Craft Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Sackville Street: 0.3 mi
  • Manchester Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Arndale: 0.3 mi
  • Chinese Arts Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Band on the Wall: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Manchester King Street: 0.4 mi
  • Albert Square: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Exchange Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Manchester Wheel: 0.4 mi
  • Printworks: 0.4 mi
  • Exchange Square: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • St Anns Church: 0.4 mi
  • Urbis: 0.4 mi
  • Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • Cornerhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Manchester Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Free Trade Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Dancehouse Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Bridgewater Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Green Building: 0.6 mi
  • Manchester International Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Manchester Arena: 0.6 mi
  • M.E.N. Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Beetham Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Mamucium: 0.7 mi
  • Peoples History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Manchester Aquatics Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Granada Studios: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 0.9 mi
  • Manchester Apollo: 0.9 mi
  • Manchester Museum: 1 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Contact Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • National Squash Centre: 1.4 mi
  • Manchester Academy: 1.4 mi
  • Whitworth Art Gallery: 1.4 mi

Dining

Bars
With a choice of bars, enjoy the quiet atmosphere of Cromptons Bar for our residents or the popular and vibrant Bar Rogue, open until late for residents and non-residents alike.
Jenny's Traditional English Restaurant
With its excellent, value for money, 3-course Carvery Lunch and Dinner
The Overstuffed Pizzeria
Offering a varied selection of Italian Dishes and lighter meals in bright and airy surroundings
Spice Restaurant - Authentic Indian Cuisine
Spice brings delicious and authentic Indian cuisine to the Britannia Hotel Manchester. Choose from an amazing selection of dishes made with the finest ingredients, all at fantastic value.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.1

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Little B
Business
Liverpool
Mar 11, 2014

Worst Stay Ever!!

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and after backpacking around the world on a shoestring that says something! The hotel was cheap and nasty, dated furniture, paint peeling off the walls. The room had now windows and smelt of smoke! The double room we booked was actually a 3/4 bed which is not suitable for 2 average size adults. After an evening in Manchester we arrived back at the hotel to find nearby club goes smoking, eating and sleeping on the steps of the hotel! We were met by rude door men who demanded so see our room keys before we were allowed to enter! I have never stayed anywhere like it and after paying over £80 for a room only I would expect better. The best part of the hotel was leaving and promising never to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jarek
Business
Poland
Oct 14, 2010

Sloppy hotel poor room standard.

When I arrived to this hotel it took around 15 minutes for the front office clerk to locate my reservation and assign a room. When I entered the room I was surprised by its small and cramped size. What is more it had no window. Stuffed air in the room and air conditioning not working. Besides downstairs there was a disco going on. Athough I was on third floor techno music was heard. The front office clerk adviced that I will be able to change rooms on the following day. The following day female clerk refused to change the room asking if I requested room with the window??? I was not aware that having a room window was a special request to be made? It is like asking for shower in the room. Overall I will stay away from this hotel and would like to warn other people that they will be unpleasantly surprised by it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Good location can only be one hint I can think of about this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Globe Travel
Business
LOS ANGELES
Jan 3, 2012

DIRTY, STINKY HOTEL!

DO NOT STAY HERE! POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE, DIRTY, STINKY HOTEL! Worst hotel I have ever stayed in my entire life! This hotel was cold, drafty, and smelled like mildew. The furnishings and carpet are extremely dated and the entire hotel is in great need of a major overhaul.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveller 2012
Business
london
Jun 18, 2012

Hotel needs upgrading.

The hotel is old and filthy. The lifts were not working and my room was on the sixth floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Iron Lady
Business
London
Jun 13, 2012

Won't go there again

My room had no windows. It was clostrophobic The TV had passed it sell by date. I had no cold water to run a bath (Health and Safety - Fit for Purpose) Maybe I should notify the council under the health and safely act. I called someone in to repair this so that i could have a bath. Maintenance came and I never saw them again. - No bath. There was no handel on the bath. It had the remains of a handle still there. My origonal room was in the attic. 5th floor then walk a flight of stairs to the 6th floor as it had no lift to the 6th floor. Only 1 lift working for the entire hotels residences and the hotel on Saturday was full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Lowry had a lovely exhibition that I would recommend a person/couple to see Also the Lowry Theatre have really good shows on

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
maca
Business
aberdeen
Jun 13, 2012

Location perfect but thats the only good thing about it

We found the location to be perfect for getting about the city centre of Manchester but that's where the positives stopped unfortunatly. The hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment and I must admit I found the bar expensive considering the standard of the hotel also i think the staff could have been a little more helpful at times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
liverpool lass
Business
liverpool
Oct 20, 2012

awful

Was told upgraded to a deluxe room for £10 extra this was an utter joke there was nothing deluxe about any aspect of this hotel. The room was tiny and beyond shabby with broken plug sockets and furniture. The windows were about 8 ft in the air so you couldnt reach to open them made worse by the whole hotel smelling like macaroni cheese!! The service was questionable and we were made to feel like intruders rather than paying guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bernikins
Business
lancs
Nov 29, 2012

Brit

One lamp in room not working. Remote not working. Room cold - there was no heating till 6pm. Not be usung this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
OliverFromBerlin
Business
Berlin
Mar 29, 2013

Looks good- is bad

The hotel looks beautiful and gives you an idea of past splendor. Unfortunately this first impression is by no means matched by the experience of the stay. Some examples: -Room without window; you get a window through an additional fare, which by the way was not airtight- freezing cold! -In six days maid did barely clean, left us without toylet paper and did not take the trash out. -Extremely loud! Bot from the street and from the inside through loud guests and paper thin doors and walls. Highlights were fighting couples, firealarm, and students on excursion running back and forth until 3 at night. I could go on, but do not want to waste any more time on this negative experience. Fortunately it is over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Johnne
Business
London
May 11, 2013

It´s a pity

The staff are wonderful but Hotel is too dirty. There was a red stain on the right hand side of the tv in my room, tv remote was not working, windows were extremely dirty and some things were just irritating. Great location and a great building but no value for money at all. Of course the prices are really impressive but that doesn´t mean it should absolute rubbish like that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top