$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

3 stars
View map of Portland Street, Manchester, Manchester, M1 3LA

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.2

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
liverpool lass
Business
liverpool
Oct 20, 2012

awful

Was told upgraded to a deluxe room for £10 extra this was an utter joke there was nothing deluxe about any aspect of this hotel. The room was tiny and beyond shabby with broken plug sockets and furniture. The windows were about 8 ft in the air so you couldnt reach to open them made worse by the whole hotel smelling like macaroni cheese!! The service was questionable and we were made to feel like intruders rather than paying guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yorkie Bar Kid
Business
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Oct 5, 2012

Pre Flight Stay

A comfortable hotel which was conveniently located near to Picadilly Railway Station for easy transit to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Conveniently located for Picadilly Railway Station and opposite the Tourist Information centre.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RRBB
Business
Manchester
Oct 1, 2012

Britannia Hotel Manchester

A great entrance, then a disappointment on entering the grotty bedroom and bathroom. Didn't help that there was a noisy air conditioning unit running right outside the window. This place could do with a bit of TLC! I think you could stay somewhere nicer for the price- handy location though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Casketman
Business
Dublin Ireland
Sep 26, 2012

Your Disco Needs You!

Great hotel and friendly staff. nice area and very safe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great staff and great comfort

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RJB35
Business
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
Sep 4, 2012

Most Uncomfortable Night Ever

Our four poster bed consisted ot two mattresses stacked upon one another with nothing to support it underneath, really uncomfortable so spoilt my whole weekend and evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Legendary Drew
Business
London, UK
Aug 28, 2012

A grand overnight stay

I booked this hotel as the least expensive option in the town centre on a Saturday: I was staying overnight to get to the Arndale Centre the next morning for the LEGO store's grand opening event. It turned out to be a lot closer by walking distance than I'd expected, and for anyone using National Express there is a station very close to the hotel. I hadn't expected anything from the hotel from the outset, but I was taken aback by how "grand" everything was in comparison to other places I've stayed this year. And for once I was not placed on the top floor of the building! One thing to watch out for was that there was noise from a night club or pub; unfortunately (or not) I was completely unaware that a gay pride event was taking place that weekend! The room was very clean and comfortable enough, with a single bed (haven't been in one of those for a while!) and television set, as well as the bathroom. The only thing I would say is that the shower wasn't very powerful, but it did the job. I paid extra on arrival for their dinner option in their restaurant, which was a three-course carvery-style dinner. For the price I thought it was very good value, and certainly a lot less expensive than any nearby alternatives. Although I recognise that Saturday evenings come at a premium, it felt uncomfortable paying what I did for the hotel room. However, it was the least expensive option by far in the area and it provided everything I could ask for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel has a bar and two restaurants, and I believe there is a night club nearby as well as a pub.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DS05
Business
Worsley, Manchester
Aug 20, 2012

One night stay in Manchester

Very courteous reception staff , and all other staff, come to think of it. I wanted a non-smoking room but was told that there were only smoking rooms available. First, second or top floor. I took the top floor to be as far away from any street noise as possible, Room was fairly small and was basic with not much in the way of fancy detail in there. Having said all that, it was perfect for what I wanted, which was a city centre bed that I could hit at the end of a night out, rather than fighting for a taxi at 3 a.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymouse
Business
West Midlands
Jul 17, 2012

Good location close to centre of Manchester

Only a short stay of two nights, but the hotel provided all that was required during that time. Booked well in advance and got a really good deal. No parking at the hotel itself, but got a discount at a local car park. I would go back again if staying in Manchester.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Regular Traveller
Business
south of england
Jul 15, 2012

overnight stay

As a late arrival, I was seen promptly and quite surprised to be given an upgrade from RO to BB. Breakfast was top class. Sadly the lifts were not working and the alternative service lift was slow and not really up to the workload. That lift parts are not held in stock and need days to arrive lets the hotel down. Otherwise a very good expeoience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveller 2012
Business
london
Jun 18, 2012

Hotel needs upgrading.

The hotel is old and filthy. The lifts were not working and my room was on the sixth floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top