$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

3 stars
View map of Portland Street, Manchester, Manchester, M1 3LA

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.2

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
moan
Business
scotland
Jun 12, 2013

okay

staff were very helpful, the rooms are needing a revamp the paint work shody, the carpet was not clean, but the bed was good and clean and the bathroom was clean, asked at reception for a fan as the room was like an oven, they said they were all being used ,all in all disapointed as we had 2 friends with us and we recommeded the brittania hotel , as we stay in Aberdeen Brittania about 4 times a year and never a problem

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vin 1
Business
Blackpool, England
May 28, 2013

Disappointing room this time!

Stayed before for one night in a budget room and it was great value for a cheaper deal, last minute. So with that, came back to stay a month later for one night, again in budget room and the room itself was clean, but listen!!!!!!!, the carpet was disgraceful and had multiple and large stains, needs replacing. That spoiled the room, which otherwise would have been ok. Did not want to walk barefoot on it. Needs replacing, as is spoiling the reputation...if I was to recommend, I would say your room is hit and miss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Phil 69 specialist
Business
Winsford
May 26, 2013

Poor

Very basic and poor quality. Room was tired and in need of refurbishment. Bed was in need of disposal - springs sticking out everywhere and very uncomfortable. We didn't stay the night due to the poor standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harry Gill
Business
West Midlands
May 24, 2013

Decent enough room

Only had a one night stay. Check was easy enough and polite staff. Didn't spend much time in the room apart from a few hours sleep but it was a good size and clean. I would stay here again. Location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Andy Fox
Business
Cheshire
May 21, 2013

Great location, poor quality room

Our room was very poor with damp patches on the walls and ceiling. The carpet was not clean and the bedding has seen better days!! Overall quite poor and would not stay their again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LG29
Business
Manchester
May 21, 2013

Really dirty avoid room 516 the so called executive suite

I booked days in advance for a double room only to be told on the day that no double rooms were availabe & that we could stay in the executive triple room with 3 siingle beds and push them together. So they sent us off to the Torrett floor (5th Floor) and that's what it was actually called to this room that was away from everyone else, and when we walked in, it was cold, smelly and extremely dirty that I even took photo's to show how dirty it was, I sat on the bed and just wanted to cry, then my boyfriend said he was going down to speak to front desk, he was gone to about 10-15mins but it seemed longed being stuck in there, he then rang me and said to meet him at the lift with our bags, so I quickly got out of there and we took the lift down to the 3rd floor and then he opened the door to another room and OMG it was stunning, as soon as you walked in you could smell it was clean, it was the Lancashire suite, I don't know what he said but it worked, it had a four poster bed and sitting room area with satin sheets and pillow cases and it was also warm with a very clean powerful shower. But I'd hate to admit that if it wasn't for my boyfriend I would have been stuck in that dirty room and not in an expensive one for the same price which is why I'm not changing my rating as it should have been offered straight away. I've never place the race card before but it did cross my mind that we were offered the dirtiest room away from anyone else because we were black, I could be barking up the wrong tree but that's how I felt and have never felt that anywhere before and believe me the type of people I come across in my work you'd have thought I would.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure if your room has gone you ask to see the replacement room first, that was the mistake we made.

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Johnne
Business
London
May 11, 2013

It´s a pity

The staff are wonderful but Hotel is too dirty. There was a red stain on the right hand side of the tv in my room, tv remote was not working, windows were extremely dirty and some things were just irritating. Great location and a great building but no value for money at all. Of course the prices are really impressive but that doesn´t mean it should absolute rubbish like that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
OldBoy
Business
Southampton
May 4, 2013

Good Value but Variable Quality

Great location, helpful staff, excellent breakfast but very variable rooms. I've had good and bad experiences. I paid a cheap price so I didn't expect much, its good value but I wouldn't risk it for more than a few nights or pay full price. The hotel is in need of a good makeover, one lift seems permanently out of action. On my last visit I had a poorly lit internal room with a ventilation fan blowing cold air all night and a kettle with a broken lid. I'd recommend with caution.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ginal
Business
ireland
May 1, 2013

hotel staff

there was a very rude blond haired girl at the desk when we went to check in.but the male staff very good to us ,there was no heating in any part of the hotel and when we asked they sent a small oil heater to our room they said that the heating is turned off in may,we stayed there in april ,so were was the heating?and the food in jennys pizza was rotten and cold cause there was no heating in there as this is in the hotel .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smith024
Business
Coventry, UK
Apr 30, 2013

Ideal Manchester spot

Great experience, although the rooms are dated and could do with modernisation they have everything you need and are clean. Hotel staff helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a great location and staff were able to point us in the right direction for cheapest car parking- £8.50 for 24hours if stopping at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top