Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

3 stars
View map of Portland Street, Manchester, Manchester, M1 3LA

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
115 reviews
Good value,centrally located

The hotel is a lovely old building, but with modern amenities. The check in was quick and... See full review

  • Charles M.
  • Jul 17, 2015
Weekend break

Clean room, great shower and comfortable beds. Recommended for a weekend away. Corridor could do... See full review

  • Lisa
  • Feb 10, 2015
Centrally located, the Britannia Manchester hotel is an excellent choice for sightseeing and business travel in this vibrant city. Public transit and major motorways are equally accessible from here. The architecturally significant building features grand details like a balconied staircase as well as modern upgrades like Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel. Jenny's Restaurant and Bar and the Overstuffed Pizzeria serve lunch and dinner daily. Two popular bars at the Britannia Manchester are both open until the early hours of the morning.
Rooms
Britannia Manchester rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated with classic furniture and understated colors. Choose a saver room, without windows, for an economical stay. Complimentary coffee and tea facilities, daily newspaper and television are standard in all rooms, including the saver room. Upgrade to a superior room for a spa bath and an in-suite lounge area. Wi-Fi Internet access is available in all rooms.
Property features
The impressive and historically significant S & J Watts building has been home to the Britannia Manchester hotel since 1982. Located in the heart of Manchester, guests can walk, catch a train at nearby Piccadilly train station, or hail a cab to many area attractions. Spend the day exploring the Lowry, or learn about the industrial past of Manchester at the Museum of Science and Industry. Sports are serious business in the area, so make time to see a cricket match or football game. Two restaurants at the Britannia Manchester offer hearty meals throughout the day. Jenny's serves a buffet breakfast, and lunch daily. The Overstuffed Pizzeria is open for lunch and dinner. The quiet Crompton's Bar and vibrant Waves Bar are both popular destinations with locals. Elegant meeting and conference spaces are available with high tech equipment and Wi-Fi Internet access.
Highlights
  • Super saver rooms, without windows, are an affordable option
  • A quick, five-minute walk from Piccadilly Station
  • Near the G-Mex Exhibition Centre
Nearby attractions
  • Chinese Arts Center (0.5 mi/1 km)
  • Royal Exchange Theatre (0.5 mi/1 km)
  • Museum of Science and Industry (1 mi/2 km)
  • Lowry (3 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Elegant meeting rooms and conference space available
  • Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the premises
Transportation
  • Piccadilly Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Manchester Airport (8 mi/13 km)
Policies
Pet policy as follows: Cats and dogs are allowed at a cost of 10GBP per pet, per night. Other pets are allowed upon request Please note: In line with other hotel chains as of the September 30, 2010, all credit/debit cards used to settle accounts at all hotels will have a 2GBP admin charge added.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre Rooms

Economy Double Room
This tastefully decorated internal room is en-suite with one double bed and includes individual heat and air conditioning controls, TV, hairdryer, trouser press and tea and coffee making facilities. Please note that this is an internal room and has no window.
Standard Double Room
This tastefully decorated room is en-suite with one double bed and includes individual heat and air conditioning controls, TV, hairdryer, trouser press and tea and coffee making facilities.
Standard Twin Room
This tastefully decorated room is en-suite with two single beds and includes individual heat and air conditioning controls, TV, hairdryer, trouser press and tea and coffee making facilities.
Single Room
This tastefully decorated room is en-suite with one single bed and includes individual heat and air conditioning controls, TV, hairdryer, trouser press and tea and coffee making facilities.
Economy Twin Room
This tastefully decorated internal room is en-suite with two single beds and includes individual heat and air conditioning controls, TV, hairdryer, trouser press and tea and coffee making facilities. Please note that this is an internal room and has no window.
Superior Suite
This spacious Suite features a large seating area, with en-suite facilities and one double bed. Some Suites feature a four poster bed. The room has individual heat and air conditioning controls, TV, hairdryer, trouser press and tea and coffee making facilities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed

Hotel Map

53.4804 -2.2354
Area served
Manchester, Salford, Greater Manchester
Nearby airports
Manchester International Airport.
Area description
The Britannia Hotel is one of the best located hotels in Manchester City Centre. Just minutes from Piccadilly rail link and the city's financial sector, the hotel offers easy access to Manchester International Airport, Chinatown and The Village. Standing proudly in the City Centre, the Britannia Hotel offers easy access to Old Trafford, home to Manchester United Football Club, the Emirates Stadium, home to Manchester City Football Club, the British Aerospace Museum, the Manchester Evening News (MEN) Arena, Manchester Central Convention Complex and the Lowry Theatre. A nearby Car Park offers preferential rates to guests in a secure, undercover area at 30 Tariff Street, Manchester, M1 2FJ. The car park is fully staffed 24 hours a day and is just a 5 minute walk away from the hotel. Prices are up to 60 percent off the daily posted rate and you must ensure that your ticket is validated by hotel reception to receive the discount prior to exit.

Nearby points of interest

  • Piccadilly Gardens: 0.1 mi
  • Canal Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Manchester Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Alan Turing Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Craft Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Sackville Street: 0.3 mi
  • Manchester Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Arndale: 0.3 mi
  • Chinese Arts Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Band on the Wall: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Manchester King Street: 0.4 mi
  • Albert Square: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Exchange Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Piccadilly Gardens: 0.1 mi
  • Canal Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Manchester Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Alan Turing Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Craft Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Sackville Street: 0.3 mi
  • Manchester Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Arndale: 0.3 mi
  • Chinese Arts Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Band on the Wall: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Manchester King Street: 0.4 mi
  • Albert Square: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Exchange Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Manchester Wheel: 0.4 mi
  • Printworks: 0.4 mi
  • Exchange Square: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • St Anns Church: 0.4 mi
  • Urbis: 0.4 mi
  • Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • Cornerhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Manchester Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Free Trade Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Dancehouse Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Bridgewater Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Green Building: 0.6 mi
  • Manchester International Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Manchester Arena: 0.6 mi
  • M.E.N. Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Beetham Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Mamucium: 0.7 mi
  • Peoples History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Manchester Aquatics Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Granada Studios: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 0.9 mi
  • Manchester Apollo: 0.9 mi
  • Manchester Museum: 1 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Contact Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • National Squash Centre: 1.4 mi
  • Manchester Academy: 1.4 mi
  • Whitworth Art Gallery: 1.4 mi

Dining

Bars
With a choice of bars, enjoy the quiet atmosphere of Cromptons Bar for our residents or the popular and vibrant Bar Rogue, open until late for residents and non-residents alike.
Jenny's Traditional English Restaurant
With its excellent, value for money, 3-course Carvery Lunch and Dinner
The Overstuffed Pizzeria
Offering a varied selection of Italian Dishes and lighter meals in bright and airy surroundings
Spice Restaurant - Authentic Indian Cuisine
Spice brings delicious and authentic Indian cuisine to the Britannia Hotel Manchester. Choose from an amazing selection of dishes made with the finest ingredients, all at fantastic value.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (115)

Ratings and reviews for Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.2

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
a.l.
Business
Manchester, UK
Sep 23, 2013

Not even justified by the price

The hotel is tired - something not exactly justified by the price, which (whilst cheap) really is expensive for what you actually get. Rooms smell of smoke, and are rather uncomfortable. Better of staying in a Premier Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the numerous bars in the Northern Quarter. Awesome place for food during the day (try Home Sweet Home, Takk or Teacup on Thomas Street), and bars at night - try Port Street Beer House, Shack or Hula Tiki Lounge.

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sam2014
Business
Cheshire
Sep 20, 2013

Great Hotel

Stayed here last w/end Great staff,room very clean and comfy and right in the heart of manchester. What else do you need in a hotel your only sleeping in?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
His Butterfly
Business
birmingham
Sep 18, 2013

sufficient

the woman at the reception was rude & had 0 people skills, I found her to be quite aggressive & wanted to complain about her on the spot ! my room was DECENT there was huge curtains but behind them was NO view as the windows were boarded up which was a let down, we were on the 5th floor & could hear people walking up & down for atleast an hour before me & my partner actually fell asleep ! BUT it was ideally located & was very convenient, it was a "does at it says " kind of hotel, nothing more & nothing less ! also the bar staff were rude ! also the shower is mounted on the wall & so water leaks from it & onto the floor which was annoying as the floor was constantly flooded & had to use the hotel towels to dry it & that wasn't even enough

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
michelle aka meme
Business
kirkcaldy, fife
Sep 10, 2013

great catch up weekend

i had no problems with this hotel, great central location, staff were friendly, room was spotless, really couldnt complain, fantastic weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MMcG
Business
Glasgow
Sep 6, 2013

Horrendous

Horrendous. The most disgusting and unclean hotel room I have ever had to stay in. Location is quite good but this doesn't not make up for rude staff who have no interest in their customers or the disgusting mess this hotel has been allowed to fall into. Looks grand from the outside and even in reception. Completely different story in the floors and rooms above. AVOID. AVOID. AVOID!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joanne2484
Business
London
Sep 3, 2013

Smelliest hotel ever!!

We stayed here thinking it would be a lovely hotel and were so disappointed. The rooms smelt awful!! We arrived to be told we had been upgraded - god knows what our original room would have been like - as we walked in we could only smell the nastiness! We asked to be moved as there was no way we could have stayed in that and the next room was only slightly more bearable. The rooms were so basic, the duvets cheap and thin and nasty, the beds old and uncomfortable. The staff didn't seem surprised by our comments about the rooms!! This hotel could be fabulous but it's like it doesn't care!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Parrot talk
Business
Glasgow. Scotland
Jul 25, 2013

not for claustrophobics

Room we had was a budget room. This means no windows in the room and an air conditioning unit that rattled all night. It was an experience that I can only describe as sleeping in the cleaning cupboard with a bed in it! On the plus side a fantastic shower and the staff were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
IrishNick
Business
Shankill , Ireland
Jul 10, 2013

Not Impressed

I booked the hotel not expecting a lot . However when I got there I was asked would I like an upgrade , after seeing the room online I didn't think one was needed but their idea of an upgrade was giving me a window in my room ( which I thought would have been basic clearly I was wrong ) I didn't think much of it because I wasn't spending too much time in the room but the next day I discovered that the air con in the room didn't work , I was given a fan but I was still very dissatisfied. After closer inspection I found that whoever was in the room before me wasn't that kind to it , there was a hole in the bathroom door , the lamp had a massive crack in it , mold above the shower and the cover for the bath was falling off. And to top it all off I ran into a bit of trouble and tried to get hold of a phone ( mine wasn't working ) my card wasn't accepted ( visa debt ) and they wouldn't take cash after telling the staff my situation they flat out refused to help. It wouldn't be my first port of call but the location was good .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within an easy walk , get used to the city by walking around it and you will save a bundle on taxi fares

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kimmytuk
Business
Hove UK
Jul 1, 2013

Not great

I turned up late at night, had to lug my suitcase up the steps and then greeted by the hotel staff demanding to see my room key. Surely by looking at the case I had with me it was obvious that I hadn't checked in yet. The room was extremely hot even when I opened the windows but it also meant I got to hear the noisy high street. Room was clean and spacious. Staff barged round the breakfast room and were not overly polite. Breakfast was not great quality either. I dont think I would come back here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Albion Hotel
Business
Bispham
Jun 22, 2013

Expensive below standard

Having Paid for 2 rooms @ £153 each the expectation did not live up to reality. the rooms, we were given one double standard room and one double executive...for the same price??? The rooms were old and not that clean and the ameneties in the room was below standard and passed there sell by date. Not what you expect paying this sort of money. premier Inn and Travelodge are far better and cleaner. The staff at the reception were short, especially when i had to change my key card for the second time as it did not work in the door. Very dissapointed with the standard of the rooms. very old beat up furniture, the beds were ok though. The TV was out of the ark, not that we watched any TV. The breakfast service was a shambles. Please wait here to be seated then when we did get the service the girl basically pointed to a table that was still in a mess and not set up for service. We went for the buffett breakfast and while we left our seats the table was made for service. Had to wait for tea and coffee and finally fed up i went to help myslf only to be rudely told that we cant and they will bring it over. the tea and coffee when it eventually came was like a 'Happy Shopper' standard. While we left the table again for a cooked breakfast our table was cleared of everything...so there is no organisation. i managed to borrow cutlery from another table. basically the hotel is very overpriced and below standard. As a result it makes you feel like avoiding any brittania Hotels elsewhere in the country. Budget hyotels have a better service and cleanliness standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Parrott bar on the same side of the road as the hotel across the road. very helpfull staff, reasonably priced drinks and reasonable food

Back to menu Return to top