$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

3 stars
View map of Portland Street, Manchester, Manchester, M1 3LA

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.2

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
michelle aka meme
Business
kirkcaldy, fife
Sep 10, 2013

great catch up weekend

i had no problems with this hotel, great central location, staff were friendly, room was spotless, really couldnt complain, fantastic weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MMcG
Business
Glasgow
Sep 6, 2013

Horrendous

Horrendous. The most disgusting and unclean hotel room I have ever had to stay in. Location is quite good but this doesn't not make up for rude staff who have no interest in their customers or the disgusting mess this hotel has been allowed to fall into. Looks grand from the outside and even in reception. Completely different story in the floors and rooms above. AVOID. AVOID. AVOID!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joanne2484
Business
London
Sep 3, 2013

Smelliest hotel ever!!

We stayed here thinking it would be a lovely hotel and were so disappointed. The rooms smelt awful!! We arrived to be told we had been upgraded - god knows what our original room would have been like - as we walked in we could only smell the nastiness! We asked to be moved as there was no way we could have stayed in that and the next room was only slightly more bearable. The rooms were so basic, the duvets cheap and thin and nasty, the beds old and uncomfortable. The staff didn't seem surprised by our comments about the rooms!! This hotel could be fabulous but it's like it doesn't care!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Parrot talk
Business
Glasgow. Scotland
Jul 25, 2013

not for claustrophobics

Room we had was a budget room. This means no windows in the room and an air conditioning unit that rattled all night. It was an experience that I can only describe as sleeping in the cleaning cupboard with a bed in it! On the plus side a fantastic shower and the staff were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
IrishNick
Business
Shankill , Ireland
Jul 10, 2013

Not Impressed

I booked the hotel not expecting a lot . However when I got there I was asked would I like an upgrade , after seeing the room online I didn't think one was needed but their idea of an upgrade was giving me a window in my room ( which I thought would have been basic clearly I was wrong ) I didn't think much of it because I wasn't spending too much time in the room but the next day I discovered that the air con in the room didn't work , I was given a fan but I was still very dissatisfied. After closer inspection I found that whoever was in the room before me wasn't that kind to it , there was a hole in the bathroom door , the lamp had a massive crack in it , mold above the shower and the cover for the bath was falling off. And to top it all off I ran into a bit of trouble and tried to get hold of a phone ( mine wasn't working ) my card wasn't accepted ( visa debt ) and they wouldn't take cash after telling the staff my situation they flat out refused to help. It wouldn't be my first port of call but the location was good .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within an easy walk , get used to the city by walking around it and you will save a bundle on taxi fares

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kimmytuk
Business
Hove UK
Jul 1, 2013

Not great

I turned up late at night, had to lug my suitcase up the steps and then greeted by the hotel staff demanding to see my room key. Surely by looking at the case I had with me it was obvious that I hadn't checked in yet. The room was extremely hot even when I opened the windows but it also meant I got to hear the noisy high street. Room was clean and spacious. Staff barged round the breakfast room and were not overly polite. Breakfast was not great quality either. I dont think I would come back here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Albion Hotel
Business
Bispham
Jun 22, 2013

Expensive below standard

Having Paid for 2 rooms @ £153 each the expectation did not live up to reality. the rooms, we were given one double standard room and one double executive...for the same price??? The rooms were old and not that clean and the ameneties in the room was below standard and passed there sell by date. Not what you expect paying this sort of money. premier Inn and Travelodge are far better and cleaner. The staff at the reception were short, especially when i had to change my key card for the second time as it did not work in the door. Very dissapointed with the standard of the rooms. very old beat up furniture, the beds were ok though. The TV was out of the ark, not that we watched any TV. The breakfast service was a shambles. Please wait here to be seated then when we did get the service the girl basically pointed to a table that was still in a mess and not set up for service. We went for the buffett breakfast and while we left our seats the table was made for service. Had to wait for tea and coffee and finally fed up i went to help myslf only to be rudely told that we cant and they will bring it over. the tea and coffee when it eventually came was like a 'Happy Shopper' standard. While we left the table again for a cooked breakfast our table was cleared of everything...so there is no organisation. i managed to borrow cutlery from another table. basically the hotel is very overpriced and below standard. As a result it makes you feel like avoiding any brittania Hotels elsewhere in the country. Budget hyotels have a better service and cleanliness standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Parrott bar on the same side of the road as the hotel across the road. very helpfull staff, reasonably priced drinks and reasonable food

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
moan
Business
scotland
Jun 12, 2013

okay

staff were very helpful, the rooms are needing a revamp the paint work shody, the carpet was not clean, but the bed was good and clean and the bathroom was clean, asked at reception for a fan as the room was like an oven, they said they were all being used ,all in all disapointed as we had 2 friends with us and we recommeded the brittania hotel , as we stay in Aberdeen Brittania about 4 times a year and never a problem

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vin 1
Business
Blackpool, England
May 28, 2013

Disappointing room this time!

Stayed before for one night in a budget room and it was great value for a cheaper deal, last minute. So with that, came back to stay a month later for one night, again in budget room and the room itself was clean, but listen!!!!!!!, the carpet was disgraceful and had multiple and large stains, needs replacing. That spoiled the room, which otherwise would have been ok. Did not want to walk barefoot on it. Needs replacing, as is spoiling the reputation...if I was to recommend, I would say your room is hit and miss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Phil 69 specialist
Business
Winsford
May 26, 2013

Poor

Very basic and poor quality. Room was tired and in need of refurbishment. Bed was in need of disposal - springs sticking out everywhere and very uncomfortable. We didn't stay the night due to the poor standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top