$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

3 stars
Portland Street, Manchester, Manchester, M1 3LA
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
102 reviews
Amazing hotel for the price

Brilliant location, comfy beds, room had everything you needed. See full review

  • Nickname1234
  • Feb 17, 2014
hotel stay

the room was very large and comfortable bathroom a good size i would stay there again See full review

  • stuatmacc
  • Jan 26, 2014
Central location makes grand hotel a standout in downtown Manchester
Centrally located, the Britannia Manchester hotel is an excellent choice for sightseeing and business travel in this vibrant city. Public transit and major motorways are equally accessible from here. The architecturally significant building features grand details like a balconied staircase as well as modern upgrades like Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel. Jenny's Restaurant and Bar and the Overstuffed Pizzeria serve lunch and dinner daily. Two popular bars at the Britannia Manchester are both open until the early hours of the morning.
Highlights
  • Super saver rooms, without windows, are an affordable option
  • A quick, five-minute walk from Piccadilly Station
  • Near the G-Mex Exhibition Centre
Rooms
Britannia Manchester rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated with classic furniture and understated colors. Choose a saver room, without windows, for an economical stay. Complimentary coffee and tea facilities, daily newspaper and television are standard in all rooms, including the saver room. Upgrade to a superior room for a spa bath and an in-suite lounge area. Wi-Fi Internet access is available in all rooms.
Features
The impressive and historically significant S & J Watts building has been home to the Britannia Manchester hotel since 1982. Located in the heart of Manchester, guests can walk, catch a train at nearby Piccadilly train station, or hail a cab to many area attractions. Spend the day exploring the Lowry, or learn about the industrial past of Manchester at the Museum of Science and Industry. Sports are serious business in the area, so make time to see a cricket match or football game. Two restaurants at the Britannia Manchester offer hearty meals throughout the day. Jenny's serves a buffet breakfast, and lunch daily. The Overstuffed Pizzeria is open for lunch and dinner. The quiet Crompton's Bar and vibrant Waves Bar are both popular destinations with locals. Elegant meeting and conference spaces are available with high tech equipment and Wi-Fi Internet access.
Transportation
  • Piccadilly Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Manchester Airport (8 mi/13 km)
Attractions
  • Chinese Arts Center (0.5 mi/1 km)
  • Royal Exchange Theatre (0.5 mi/1 km)
  • Museum of Science and Industry (1 mi/2 km)
  • Lowry (3 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Elegant meeting rooms and conference space available
  • Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the premises
Policies and fees
Pet policy as follows: Cats and dogs are allowed at a cost of 10GBP per pet, per night. Other pets are allowed upon request Please note: In line with other hotel chains as of the September 30, 2010, all credit/debit cards used to settle accounts at all hotels will have a 2GBP admin charge added.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre also booked these hotels.

Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre Rooms

Economy Double Room
This tastefully decorated internal room is en-suite with one double bed and includes individual heat and air conditioning controls, TV, hairdryer, trouser press and tea and coffee making facilities. Please note that this is an internal room and has no window.
Standard Double Room
This tastefully decorated room is en-suite with one double bed and includes individual heat and air conditioning controls, TV, hairdryer, trouser press and tea and coffee making facilities.
Standard Twin Room
This tastefully decorated room is en-suite with two single beds and includes individual heat and air conditioning controls, TV, hairdryer, trouser press and tea and coffee making facilities.
Single Room
This tastefully decorated room is en-suite with one single bed and includes individual heat and air conditioning controls, TV, hairdryer, trouser press and tea and coffee making facilities.
Economy Twin Room
This tastefully decorated internal room is en-suite with two single beds and includes individual heat and air conditioning controls, TV, hairdryer, trouser press and tea and coffee making facilities. Please note that this is an internal room and has no window.
Superior Suite
This spacious Suite features a large seating area, with en-suite facilities and one double bed. Some Suites feature a four poster bed. The room has individual heat and air conditioning controls, TV, hairdryer, trouser press and tea and coffee making facilities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Service dogs allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Piccadilly Gardens: 0.1 mi
  • Canal Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Manchester Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Alan Turing Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Craft Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Sackville Street: 0.3 mi
  • Manchester Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Arndale: 0.3 mi
  • Chinese Arts Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Band on the Wall: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Manchester King Street: 0.4 mi
  • Albert Square: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Exchange Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Piccadilly Gardens: 0.1 mi
  • Canal Street: 0.2 mi
  • Piccadilly Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Manchester Chinatown: 0.2 mi
  • Alan Turing Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Craft Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Sackville Street: 0.3 mi
  • Manchester Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Arndale: 0.3 mi
  • Chinese Arts Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Band on the Wall: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Manchester King Street: 0.4 mi
  • Albert Square: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Exchange Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Manchester Wheel: 0.4 mi
  • Printworks: 0.4 mi
  • Exchange Square: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • St Anns Church: 0.4 mi
  • Urbis: 0.4 mi
  • Triangle: 0.4 mi
  • Cornerhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Manchester Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Free Trade Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Dancehouse Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Bridgewater Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Green Building: 0.6 mi
  • Manchester International Convention Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Manchester Arena: 0.6 mi
  • M.E.N. Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Beetham Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Mamucium: 0.7 mi
  • Peoples History Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Manchester Aquatics Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Granada Studios: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Science and Industry: 0.9 mi
  • Manchester Apollo: 0.9 mi
  • Manchester Museum: 1 mi
  • Jewish Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Contact Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • National Squash Centre: 1.4 mi
  • Manchester Academy: 1.4 mi
  • Whitworth Art Gallery: 1.4 mi

Dining

Bars
With a choice of bars, enjoy the quiet atmosphere of Cromptons Bar for our residents or the popular and vibrant Bar Rogue, open until late for residents and non-residents alike.
Jenny's Traditional English Restaurant
With its excellent, value for money, 3-course Carvery Lunch and Dinner
The Overstuffed Pizzeria
Offering a varied selection of Italian Dishes and lighter meals in bright and airy surroundings
Spice Restaurant - Authentic Indian Cuisine
Spice brings delicious and authentic Indian cuisine to the Britannia Hotel Manchester. Choose from an amazing selection of dishes made with the finest ingredients, all at fantastic value.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.1

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Parrot talk
Business
Glasgow. Scotland
Jul 25, 2013

not for claustrophobics

Room we had was a budget room. This means no windows in the room and an air conditioning unit that rattled all night. It was an experience that I can only describe as sleeping in the cleaning cupboard with a bed in it! On the plus side a fantastic shower and the staff were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
IrishNick
Business
Shankill , Ireland
Jul 10, 2013

Not Impressed

I booked the hotel not expecting a lot . However when I got there I was asked would I like an upgrade , after seeing the room online I didn't think one was needed but their idea of an upgrade was giving me a window in my room ( which I thought would have been basic clearly I was wrong ) I didn't think much of it because I wasn't spending too much time in the room but the next day I discovered that the air con in the room didn't work , I was given a fan but I was still very dissatisfied. After closer inspection I found that whoever was in the room before me wasn't that kind to it , there was a hole in the bathroom door , the lamp had a massive crack in it , mold above the shower and the cover for the bath was falling off. And to top it all off I ran into a bit of trouble and tried to get hold of a phone ( mine wasn't working ) my card wasn't accepted ( visa debt ) and they wouldn't take cash after telling the staff my situation they flat out refused to help. It wouldn't be my first port of call but the location was good .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is within an easy walk , get used to the city by walking around it and you will save a bundle on taxi fares

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kimmytuk
Business
Hove UK
Jul 1, 2013

Not great

I turned up late at night, had to lug my suitcase up the steps and then greeted by the hotel staff demanding to see my room key. Surely by looking at the case I had with me it was obvious that I hadn't checked in yet. The room was extremely hot even when I opened the windows but it also meant I got to hear the noisy high street. Room was clean and spacious. Staff barged round the breakfast room and were not overly polite. Breakfast was not great quality either. I dont think I would come back here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Albion Hotel
Business
Bispham
Jun 22, 2013

Expensive below standard

Having Paid for 2 rooms @ £153 each the expectation did not live up to reality. the rooms, we were given one double standard room and one double executive...for the same price??? The rooms were old and not that clean and the ameneties in the room was below standard and passed there sell by date. Not what you expect paying this sort of money. premier Inn and Travelodge are far better and cleaner. The staff at the reception were short, especially when i had to change my key card for the second time as it did not work in the door. Very dissapointed with the standard of the rooms. very old beat up furniture, the beds were ok though. The TV was out of the ark, not that we watched any TV. The breakfast service was a shambles. Please wait here to be seated then when we did get the service the girl basically pointed to a table that was still in a mess and not set up for service. We went for the buffett breakfast and while we left our seats the table was made for service. Had to wait for tea and coffee and finally fed up i went to help myslf only to be rudely told that we cant and they will bring it over. the tea and coffee when it eventually came was like a 'Happy Shopper' standard. While we left the table again for a cooked breakfast our table was cleared of everything...so there is no organisation. i managed to borrow cutlery from another table. basically the hotel is very overpriced and below standard. As a result it makes you feel like avoiding any brittania Hotels elsewhere in the country. Budget hyotels have a better service and cleanliness standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Parrott bar on the same side of the road as the hotel across the road. very helpfull staff, reasonably priced drinks and reasonable food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vin 1
Business
Blackpool, England
May 28, 2013

Disappointing room this time!

Stayed before for one night in a budget room and it was great value for a cheaper deal, last minute. So with that, came back to stay a month later for one night, again in budget room and the room itself was clean, but listen!!!!!!!, the carpet was disgraceful and had multiple and large stains, needs replacing. That spoiled the room, which otherwise would have been ok. Did not want to walk barefoot on it. Needs replacing, as is spoiling the reputation...if I was to recommend, I would say your room is hit and miss.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Phil 69 specialist
Business
Winsford
May 26, 2013

Poor

Very basic and poor quality. Room was tired and in need of refurbishment. Bed was in need of disposal - springs sticking out everywhere and very uncomfortable. We didn't stay the night due to the poor standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harry Gill
Business
West Midlands
May 24, 2013

Decent enough room

Only had a one night stay. Check was easy enough and polite staff. Didn't spend much time in the room apart from a few hours sleep but it was a good size and clean. I would stay here again. Location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Andy Fox
Business
Cheshire
May 21, 2013

Great location, poor quality room

Our room was very poor with damp patches on the walls and ceiling. The carpet was not clean and the bedding has seen better days!! Overall quite poor and would not stay their again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LG29
Business
Manchester
May 21, 2013

Really dirty avoid room 516 the so called executive suite

I booked days in advance for a double room only to be told on the day that no double rooms were availabe & that we could stay in the executive triple room with 3 siingle beds and push them together. So they sent us off to the Torrett floor (5th Floor) and that's what it was actually called to this room that was away from everyone else, and when we walked in, it was cold, smelly and extremely dirty that I even took photo's to show how dirty it was, I sat on the bed and just wanted to cry, then my boyfriend said he was going down to speak to front desk, he was gone to about 10-15mins but it seemed longed being stuck in there, he then rang me and said to meet him at the lift with our bags, so I quickly got out of there and we took the lift down to the 3rd floor and then he opened the door to another room and OMG it was stunning, as soon as you walked in you could smell it was clean, it was the Lancashire suite, I don't know what he said but it worked, it had a four poster bed and sitting room area with satin sheets and pillow cases and it was also warm with a very clean powerful shower. But I'd hate to admit that if it wasn't for my boyfriend I would have been stuck in that dirty room and not in an expensive one for the same price which is why I'm not changing my rating as it should have been offered straight away. I've never place the race card before but it did cross my mind that we were offered the dirtiest room away from anyone else because we were black, I could be barking up the wrong tree but that's how I felt and have never felt that anywhere before and believe me the type of people I come across in my work you'd have thought I would.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure if your room has gone you ask to see the replacement room first, that was the mistake we made.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Johnne
Business
London
May 11, 2013

It´s a pity

The staff are wonderful but Hotel is too dirty. There was a red stain on the right hand side of the tv in my room, tv remote was not working, windows were extremely dirty and some things were just irritating. Great location and a great building but no value for money at all. Of course the prices are really impressive but that doesn´t mean it should absolute rubbish like that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top