$46 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

3 stars
View map of Portland Street, Manchester, Manchester, M1 3LA

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.2

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Baggs
Business
Britannia Hotel Manchester City Cente
Dec 5, 2013

Good for its price

Good for its price, but room not in a good place...!!! At the end of a very long corridor and right next to fire exit. Floors sqicking every where and could be heard below, above and also out side the room. Shower water running straight on to the floor because of way the Bath tub is fitted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tiggy
Business
London, UK
Dec 3, 2013

Dated facilties with some rude staff

Terrible hotel. Took me one hour to check in as did not have my reservation, even though I booked it 10 days in advance. Evening reception staff did not have good command of English and were unhelpful, argumentative and rude with poor customer service skills. The room which was supposedly a higher grade one, had an old CRT TV with only 5 fuzzy stations, very dirty windows, a table rather than work desk, and a very nosiy and ineffective fan in the bathroom, which you could not turn off as it came on with the light! I also heard them charge a customer 50p for using her debit card - how ridiculous! The only good thing was the location and the morning reception staff were a vast improvement. I didn't dare try the food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Carolyn Carberry
Friends
Dublin
Dec 3, 2013

Rooms with no view

On arrival hotel looks nice, staff are friendly and helpfull. However once got to the room my opinion changed completely, a room with no window, smell of stale smoke, along with ripped n discoloured wallpaper and carpet. I wanted to leave straight away but we had no other option.. I'm just glad we only had to stay one night! Could get much better quality elsewhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good location for shopping and bars

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wowzer
Couples
Cleveland
Nov 19, 2013

Average hotel, great location

The grand staircase at the entrance of this hotel gives the appearance that this hotel is going to be something special. However, once you enter the lift to go up to the accommodation floors the hotel becomes your average hotel. Whilst the corridors & hotel rooms are a little dated, the room was clean & the bed was comfortable. If you want to use this hotel as a base to explore Manchester it's perfect, if you are looking for a little more luxury try elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Swadesh - Indian Restaurant Food & service excellent.

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jerusha
Single
Cumbria
Nov 3, 2013

cheap utilitarian overnight

Quiet, clean room, with all the facilities one would expect, polite staff, conveniently close to Picadilly Station. Aching after a long journey so loved the big bath-tub!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TiggerBolt
Business
York
Oct 14, 2013

Nightmare

Guys rooms are dirty,lots of dirty marks on walls and carpet. One lady from reception with glasses very unfriendly and not nice with zero customer service skills, Sorry but find different hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sam C
Friends
Ayrshire
Oct 8, 2013

Great if you keep your eyes closed!

I booked two twin rooms for a girls weekend away. The cost was £104 per room. Check in was smooth but the rooms were a let down. We were in the middle of the hotel so the room had no window. Not good if you get claustrophobic. The air conditioning didn't work either but as we were out all evening and planned to get up early we didn't make a fuss. The room was quite tatty but the bed comfy enough. The bathroom had had a quick once over cleaning wise as the last guests hair was still there. The shower was awful, hot one minute cold the next. I did spend ten minutes trying to get it at the right temperature. I would not return which is a shame as it has been a lovely hotel at one time. Great location though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Living Room does great food.

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hagler
Family
Ireland
Oct 1, 2013

Way too loud

Location excellent. Apart from this it is average. Dirty stains on carpet. And as for the noise coming from the nightclub downstairs. If you are on the first floor you may as well go down to the club and get drunk as you dont have any hope of getting any sleep whatsoever. Disappointing to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chuck berry
Couples
warrington
Sep 30, 2013

street noise

avoid the back rooms there can be street noise on certain nights,but otherwise a very nice stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nana nicola
Couples
North east
Sep 24, 2013

Not the best

Staff on arrival weren't very useful/helpful. We're given a smokers room when asked for non smoking then to change rooms due to smell and no window had to pay extra money, then moved to a room on the top floor with a tiny window that barely opened. The carpet had scorch marks all over it the remote for the 1980 tv didn't work, the shower leaked onto the carpet in the main room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

I would recommend people avoid the hotel if don't want dated and not very clean , you will be better off in a premier inn for the money

Back to menu Return to top