$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

3 stars
View map of Portland Street, Manchester, Manchester, M1 3LA

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.2

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wine girls
Business
Liverpool
Mar 3, 2014

Ideal hotel

I was meeting up with a friend for a night out, the location was perfect & the hotel totally suited out needs for a base to explore & enjoy time in Manchester, we booked an economy room & for the price we paid we were very impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Norwegian Blue
Business
Norway
Feb 18, 2014

Perfect location

Chosen for its location. My single room was very small. It was clean but the sheets I got the second day were spotty. Bathroom OK. Bed was very worn, I had to put the extra blanket under the sheet to make it a bit less bumpy. Old TV with standard channels, open wifi that worked flawlessly in the room. The breakfast buffet was nothing special, but OK for the standard fare. I had to "recharge" my key card at the reception a couple of times. Staff polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nickname1234
Business
UK
Feb 17, 2014

Amazing hotel for the price

Brilliant location, comfy beds, room had everything you needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
London ziggy boy
Business
UK
Feb 17, 2014

Not bad

I was worried after reading the bad reviews by other, but once i got there i was not as disappointed, I mean the hotel is quite old so you cant really expect it to be spotless, overall i was pleased with everything, like the price and the hotel, location was perfect for me as it was only 5 minutes from were i was going out that night, so I was able to pop back and forward to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stuatmacc
Business
macclesfield
Jan 26, 2014

hotel stay

the room was very large and comfortable bathroom a good size i would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sooper sam
Business
birmingham
Jan 3, 2014

good for value

V v enjoyable experience it is valuable and time saver hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JenneJ
Business
Stockton-On-Tees,England
Dec 16, 2013

Room tired and dated

It was overpriced for the very dated and tired room that we stayed in. The shower couldn't make up it's mind whether it was going to give us a hot or cold water. The tv just to say worked. I have just stayed at a Travelodge that was much better quality for a fraction of the cost. Wouldn't recommend this hotel and would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Baggs
Business
Britannia Hotel Manchester City Cente
Dec 5, 2013

Good for its price

Good for its price, but room not in a good place...!!! At the end of a very long corridor and right next to fire exit. Floors sqicking every where and could be heard below, above and also out side the room. Shower water running straight on to the floor because of way the Bath tub is fitted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tiggy
Business
London, UK
Dec 3, 2013

Dated facilties with some rude staff

Terrible hotel. Took me one hour to check in as did not have my reservation, even though I booked it 10 days in advance. Evening reception staff did not have good command of English and were unhelpful, argumentative and rude with poor customer service skills. The room which was supposedly a higher grade one, had an old CRT TV with only 5 fuzzy stations, very dirty windows, a table rather than work desk, and a very nosiy and ineffective fan in the bathroom, which you could not turn off as it came on with the light! I also heard them charge a customer 50p for using her debit card - how ridiculous! The only good thing was the location and the morning reception staff were a vast improvement. I didn't dare try the food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Carolyn Carberry
Business
Dublin
Dec 3, 2013

Rooms with no view

On arrival hotel looks nice, staff are friendly and helpfull. However once got to the room my opinion changed completely, a room with no window, smell of stale smoke, along with ripped n discoloured wallpaper and carpet. I wanted to leave straight away but we had no other option.. I'm just glad we only had to stay one night! Could get much better quality elsewhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good location for shopping and bars

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top