$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

3 stars
View map of Portland Street, Manchester, Manchester, M1 3LA

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.2

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rubboss
Business
chester
Jun 30, 2014

Average

Very noisy from outdoors and other guests passing the room all night but when they advertise hen and stag parties I thats what you get

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SaraFromChicago
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 25, 2014

Disgusting and no AC in rooms

First of all, our room had no Air conditioning - it was so hot! On top of that there were water stains on the ceiling, sheets that didn't cover the mattress, dirty carpets, and a stained shower. Stay away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not go to the Pizza restaurant in the hotel or you will regret it for the rest of your days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Allan Smithson
Business
Newcastle upon Tyne
May 6, 2014

Could gave been better

A grand hotel but needs a lot of improvement as it as though it is in a time warp and nothing has ben done to it for years. Only problem I had was it is advertised with free wi-fi. In the public rooms was fine but in my room very poor either too weak or no connection

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

a short trip to the shops and pubs. A bit noisey in the room that I had but after a few drinks it was fine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PSGK
Business
Stoke
Apr 20, 2014

Ideal location for manchester nightlife

Booked this hotel a week before our stay, only paid £43 which was the cheapest in manchester city centre. The only thing that let the stay down is that our room (5th floor), didn't have a window. Just a tiny skylight letting in a small amount of light.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SeanT
Business
Ireland
Apr 16, 2014

Oven Room

Room too warm! No window, No air conditioning! Air con switches on wall were redundant. Was given a fan to cool the room after asking twice. Turned the room into a fan oven.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Arndale

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
martincorb
Business
London
Apr 10, 2014

Wonderful old hotel

The hotel itself was wonderful and full of character. The staff were friendly and the room, although small, was bright and clean. Excellent value for money. The location is in the centre of Manchester making parking an issue. The hotel does have a deal with a car park but it is about a 10 minute walk away. The car park behind it charges £18 per day. Travelling by coach, the hotel is located less than a minute away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They have an excellent carvery at a good price. Also, by the breakfast is all you can eat but make sure you book it when booking into the hotel for better value for money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DRTAC
Business
Ottawa, Canada
Apr 5, 2014

Inexpensive hotel in great central location

This beautiful old building definitely has presence from its commanding location in central Manchester. It is clearly focused on the 'value' part of the market which is a bit of a shame because of the history and beauty of the building. Then again, it is offering a product that seems to be in fairly high demand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
watashi
Business
London
Apr 1, 2014

Ok hotel

Great location, grand building. Our room faces the main road so it gets quite noisy at night. Overall good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Little B
Business
Liverpool
Mar 11, 2014

Worst Stay Ever!!

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in and after backpacking around the world on a shoestring that says something! The hotel was cheap and nasty, dated furniture, paint peeling off the walls. The room had now windows and smelt of smoke! The double room we booked was actually a 3/4 bed which is not suitable for 2 average size adults. After an evening in Manchester we arrived back at the hotel to find nearby club goes smoking, eating and sleeping on the steps of the hotel! We were met by rude door men who demanded so see our room keys before we were allowed to enter! I have never stayed anywhere like it and after paying over £80 for a room only I would expect better. The best part of the hotel was leaving and promising never to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jill pw
Business
Sheffield
Mar 5, 2014

girls shopping and fun weekend

Bedroom dull not enough lighting. Windows filthy. Continental breakfast served in room was expensive and very poor quality, none branded cereal, hard croissants and warm milk. Room service advertised as 24 hours but on calling at 1.30am we were told to order a takeaway! No tissues in box in bathroom and insufficient toilet roll and cheap quality. However, excellent location in centre, hotel bar, cromptons, good opening hours and welcoming. Bar Rouge and Wave should both be avoided unless you like socialising with street drinkers . Wouldn't stay again, prefer slightly better star hotel but ok for reasonable priced centre hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Alchemist cocktail bar on New York St opposite the hotel. Excellent cocktails and nice food but booking essential.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top