$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

3 stars
View map of Portland Street, Manchester, Manchester, M1 3LA

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.2

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dennyf
Business
Jackson Hts NY
Sep 12, 2014

Excellent hotel downtown

A very old structure that has comfortable rooms, breakfast is seven pounds extra, free wifi in rooms works well. Would return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss P 01
Business
London
Aug 15, 2014

Room could be better!

Firstly let me start by saying that the hotel is a lovely building and the staircases inside are magnificent. Having said that though, i have to say that the room let the hotel down significantly! The layout and size was ok, but the decor was abysmal. The wallpaper was old and had marks everywhere, the bathroom lock didn't work and had a big hole smashed in next to it and one at the bottom, the sink was full of chips, only 2 out of the 4 light bulbs above the sink worked and the tiles were chipped and grouting was filthy! The t.v. was something out of the stone age and the colour had gone...everyone had blue and purple faces and arms! Was very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jks1
Business
Nottinghamshire
Jul 1, 2014

Good location

We stayed one night here. The hotel is was in a good location for us as we were shopping ( only 2 mins to the main shops) and going to a concert at the 02 Arena ( 15 mis walk). The room was non smoking as requested. High floor and on the back do the hotel which I was pleased about as we like it quiet. Unfortunately the people in the room next door were very noisy. We didn't need our TV on as we could hear theirs! Also the air conditioning units for the hotel must also be at the back of the hotel as they were noisy all night. For one night and for what we paid it was good value and acceptable. For any longer I would have chosen another hotel. They also offered breakfast for £7 each and that was very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good location for centre of Manchester

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rubboss
Business
chester
Jun 30, 2014

Average

Very noisy from outdoors and other guests passing the room all night but when they advertise hen and stag parties I thats what you get

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SaraFromChicago
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 25, 2014

Disgusting and no AC in rooms

First of all, our room had no Air conditioning - it was so hot! On top of that there were water stains on the ceiling, sheets that didn't cover the mattress, dirty carpets, and a stained shower. Stay away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not go to the Pizza restaurant in the hotel or you will regret it for the rest of your days.

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Allan Smithson
Business
Newcastle upon Tyne
May 6, 2014

Could gave been better

A grand hotel but needs a lot of improvement as it as though it is in a time warp and nothing has ben done to it for years. Only problem I had was it is advertised with free wi-fi. In the public rooms was fine but in my room very poor either too weak or no connection

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

a short trip to the shops and pubs. A bit noisey in the room that I had but after a few drinks it was fine.

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PSGK
Business
Stoke
Apr 20, 2014

Ideal location for manchester nightlife

Booked this hotel a week before our stay, only paid £43 which was the cheapest in manchester city centre. The only thing that let the stay down is that our room (5th floor), didn't have a window. Just a tiny skylight letting in a small amount of light.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SeanT
Business
Ireland
Apr 16, 2014

Oven Room

Room too warm! No window, No air conditioning! Air con switches on wall were redundant. Was given a fan to cool the room after asking twice. Turned the room into a fan oven.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Arndale

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
martincorb
Business
London
Apr 10, 2014

Wonderful old hotel

The hotel itself was wonderful and full of character. The staff were friendly and the room, although small, was bright and clean. Excellent value for money. The location is in the centre of Manchester making parking an issue. The hotel does have a deal with a car park but it is about a 10 minute walk away. The car park behind it charges £18 per day. Travelling by coach, the hotel is located less than a minute away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They have an excellent carvery at a good price. Also, by the breakfast is all you can eat but make sure you book it when booking into the hotel for better value for money.

Review of Britannia Hotel Manchester City Centre

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DRTAC
Business
Ottawa, Canada
Apr 5, 2014

Inexpensive hotel in great central location

This beautiful old building definitely has presence from its commanding location in central Manchester. It is clearly focused on the 'value' part of the market which is a bit of a shame because of the history and beauty of the building. Then again, it is offering a product that seems to be in fairly high demand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top