$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Wedgewood Hotel

2 stars
View map of 49-51 Leinster Square, London, W2 4PU

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
11 reviews
Overnight to see a show

Don't be put off by the exterior. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Hotel was in ideal location for... See full review

  • Jellyem
  • Jun 14, 2013
Good location and price

What we like about the hotel is mainly the location, it's around 8 minutes walk to the Bayswater... See full review

  • Stinkerbelle
  • Dec 13, 2011
The Wedgewood Hotel is a small and friendly hotel, tastefully decorated to a very high standard, with all modern facilities expected by today's international traveler. All of our rooms are en-suite and have tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryers, televisions and direct dial telephones. Our rooms are arranged on six floors and are accessible by lift and stairs.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wedgewood Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Wedgewood Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
The Wedgewood Hotel has 59 comfortable bedrooms, arranged over 5 floors and all with private bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities, TV, hairdryer, radio, kettle and a telephone.

Amenities

  • Airport shuttle
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.2 mi
  • Queensway: 0.2 mi
  • Notting Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.7 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.8 mi
  • Portobello Market: 0.9 mi
  • Portobello Road: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 1 mi
  • Maida Vale: 1 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.2 mi
  • Queensway: 0.2 mi
  • Notting Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.7 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.8 mi
  • Portobello Market: 0.9 mi
  • Portobello Road: 0.9 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 1 mi
  • Maida Vale: 1 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 1.2 mi
  • City of Westminster: 1.3 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 1.3 mi
  • Imperial College London: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1.3 mi
  • Westfield Shopping Centre : 1.3 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 1.4 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 1.4 mi
  • Science Museum London: 1.4 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.4 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Kilburn: 1.5 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 1.5 mi
  • National Art Library: 1.5 mi
  • London Business School: 1.6 mi
  • Harrods: 1.6 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.6 mi
  • Baker Street: 1.6 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 1.7 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.7 mi
  • Selfridges: 1.7 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 1.7 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 1.8 mi
  • O2 Shepherds Bush Empire: 1.8 mi
  • Bond Street London: 1.9 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.9 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 1.9 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 2 mi
  • Regent's College: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Wedgewood Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 11
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
2.6
Comfort:
2.1
Location:
3
Value:
2.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wedgewood Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stinkerbelle
Sunderland, UK
Dec 13, 2011

Good location and price

What we like about the hotel is mainly the location, it's around 8 minutes walk to the Bayswater tube which is surrounded by a lot of nice restaurants and close to Hyde Park. Room wise, you get what you pay for. We did not expect much, it's a place to sleep for us. It's clean enough, just imagine staying at your friend's apartment/dorm. Basically we didn't have any horror story to tell. We would stay there again just for the location. So in a nutshell don't expect a 5 star hotel, treat it as a good base to explore London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wedgewood Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jellyem
Business
South Wales
Jun 14, 2013

Overnight to see a show

Don't be put off by the exterior. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Hotel was in ideal location for our stay, about 5 mins from Bayswater station and walking distance from Notting Hill. The room was small but clean, loads of tea and coffee etc, ensuite again was small but clean. Free wifi a bonus! Great budget accommodation for a couple of nights visiting the capital and we will use again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wedgewood Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stinkerbelle
Business
Sunderland, UK
Dec 13, 2011

Good location and price

What we like about the hotel is mainly the location, it's around 8 minutes walk to the Bayswater tube which is surrounded by a lot of nice restaurants and close to Hyde Park. Room wise, you get what you pay for. We did not expect much, it's a place to sleep for us. It's clean enough, just imagine staying at your friend's apartment/dorm. Basically we didn't have any horror story to tell. We would stay there again just for the location. So in a nutshell don't expect a 5 star hotel, treat it as a good base to explore London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wedgewood Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 12, 2011

Survivable, but ratty.

Almost all the hotels in the Paddington area are old, ratty, refurbished row houses, one expects that. On the up side the location is good (easy walk to Portobello street and several metro stations, about a 15 minute walk to Paddington Station and the Heathrow Express), and the staff was fine, if a bit harried. The elevator barely works. My bathroom smelled of mildew and was average for the area (i.e. tiny but useable). I was there on business, but they had no wireless internet and I was forced to use dodgy 3rd party internet services. TV remote required a 10 pound deposit. In my case the price was good and it wasn't too much worse than any other place, but the lack of internet will force me to stay elsewhere next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Portabello road shopping on Saturday morning - great stuff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wedgewood Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CALIFORNIA
Nov 17, 2010

Simply the worst hotel in the world

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL. THERE ARE RATS! This is a converted apartment building built around WWII. The carpets smell, the rats are more friendly than the staff. The plumbing smells. The shower is not big enough for one person. Mildew on the shower curtains. Stains all over the mattress and sheets. The beds are military bunkbeds with paper-thin mattresses with the springs sticking out. They lied about the free airport shuttle services. They charge you for this service and they tell you when they will pick you up, you do not get to pick the time. We had to get up at 4:00am to be ready for a 5:00am shuttle for a flight leaving at 10:00am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wedgewood Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelling with teens
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 5, 2010

Yikes!

We had a basement room with bars on the windows and a great view of the trash cans. Also heard the two-person elevator motor all night. No clock, no kleenex, no washcloths or hand towels. For 10 pounds (refundable) you could have the room's TV remote. Bathroom so small you stepped back from the sink and could fall in the shower. Very dark. No A/C. Breakfast was included and adequate and the rooms were clean. Won't stay there again. Not a close walk to Paddington Station as advertised. Had a really hard time finding the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to many Indian restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wedgewood Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
london
May 29, 2010

staying at the wedgewood

I arrived earlier than expected and with no assistance from the staff,of which there were about for standing around was told to take my very heavy suitcase to the luggage room in a lift that was no bigger than a shoe box.The reservation staff then couldn't find my reservation and very little effort was made to make me at ease as they tried totrace my booking,which they eventually did.The breakfast served was beyond appalling-white bread,instant coffee,no fruit or pastries or any semblance of anything Continental,as offered in the rate.The hotel lift was as rickety and there was no remote control for the television so channels had to be changed manually!Whilst I accept I was not paying premium prices,the hotel would have to be graded on a minus star rating,if I was feeling generous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wedgewood Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
london
May 29, 2010

staying at the wedgewood

I arrived earlier than expected and with no assistance from the staff,of which there were about for standing around was told to take my very heavy suitcase to the luggage room in a lift that was no bigger than a shoe box.The reservation staff then couldn't find my reservation and very little effort was made to make me at ease as they tried totrace my booking,which they eventually did.The breakfast served was beyond appalling-white bread,instant coffee,no fruit or pastries or any semblance of anything Continental,as offered in the rate.The hotel lift was as rickety and there was no remote control for the television so channels had to be changed manually!Whilst I accept I was not paying premium prices,the hotel would have to be graded on a minus star rating,if I was feeling generous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wedgewood Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nikoli
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 24, 2009

Small rooms, but nice hotel overall

The room was tiny, but hotel was in a great area, close to the underground and the staff were helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wedgewood Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nikoli
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 24, 2009

Small rooms, but nice hotel overall

The room was tiny, but hotel was in a great area, close to the underground and the staff were helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wedgewood Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
opo
Business
Warsaw, Poland
Nov 19, 2009

dirty, dirty, dirty!

The hotel was terrible. Dirty rooms, dirty "restaurant", awful breakfast (toast + jam + milk). I know that this is cheap hotel so I didn't expect 5*, but I expected CLEAN hotel. Unfortunately this one wasn't clean. Bed clothes weren't changed after previous guests! On pillows we found someone's nose mucus! AWFUL!!!! A spoon (just one in double room) looked like someone licked it! Beds looked like on camping (fold beds) with really old and dirty mattress. Summarizing - I didn't expect much, but I expected clean room - that's it and I missed it. If you can accept that your rooms won't be clean, wasn't cleaned up after previous guests than go to the hotel in other situations stay far away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top