$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

2 stars
100 Kings Cross Road, London, London, WC1X 9DT
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
17 reviews
Good overnight accomodation.

Good basic accommodation. Room was clean, spacious and quiet. See full review

  • A.C..H
  • May 13, 2013
Very satisfactory

Room a little small but spotless. Convenient to Kings Cross; Kings Cross is quite a distant from... See full review

  • Fingal resident Dublin
  • Sep 16, 2014
A few minutes walk from Kings Cross Station. Exit King's Cross Station and head up Pentonville Road. Turn right into King's Cross road (A201) and the Travelodge is on the left hand side.

Hotel Map

51.5295 -0.1156
Area served
Highbury
Nearby airports
London Heathrow, (LHR), 18.00, MI;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot Rooms

SN
Description not provided
DN
Description not provided
S2N
Description not provided
S3N
Description not provided
DSPN
Description not provided
DSPN
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Continental breakfast
Meal plan - continental
Services
Express checkout
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • London Canal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Cross-St Pancras station: 0.4 mi
  • Clerkenwell: 0.4 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.4 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.4 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Pancras railway station: 0.4 mi
  • Sadler's Wells Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Islington Museum: 0.5 mi
  • British Library: 0.5 mi
  • City University London: 0.6 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.7 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.7 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.8 mi
  • Euston: 0.8 mi
  • London Canal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Cross-St Pancras station: 0.4 mi
  • Clerkenwell: 0.4 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.4 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.4 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Pancras railway station: 0.4 mi
  • Sadler's Wells Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Islington Museum: 0.5 mi
  • British Library: 0.5 mi
  • City University London: 0.6 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.7 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.7 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.8 mi
  • Euston: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of the Order of St John: 0.8 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.8 mi
  • Farringdon: 0.8 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.8 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.9 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.9 mi
  • British Museum: 0.9 mi
  • University College London: 0.9 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.9 mi
  • London Astoria: 1 mi
  • University of London: 1 mi
  • London Theatre: 1 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 1 mi
  • Fleet Street: 1 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • St Bartholomew's Hospital Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Old Bailey: 1.1 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Trinity College of Music: 1.1 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of London Docklands: 1.1 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 1.1 mi
  • Temple church: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of London: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Barbican Art Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 1.2 mi
  • Soho: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.4

53% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jeannie1
Business
Nottingham
Sep 20, 2011

Dont pay more than £12!

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Luckily it was only an overnight stay - but that was enough! It totally needs a revamp; it is basic to the point there wasn't even a phone to contact reception (probably intentional); and so noisy. All night there were police sirens blaring, drunks singing outside (it was a Wednsesday evening) and somebodys tv on loud all night. The following day I received an email saying rooms at this hotel were being sold for £12 (I paid £80) which is more or less what a room is worth here!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
awfulhotel
Business
Manchester, UK
Dec 18, 2011

awful hotel

I didn't realise "family room" was synonymous with " shack-like sleeping with broken and lopsided beds", yet after staying here, I was re-educated. On entering the bathroom I was welcomed by a short n curly hair, which was unashamedly reclining on the sink. One of the beds was broken and the seating cushions on the sofa were considerably shorter than its length. The staff were from other hotels as the regular staff were off at their Christmas do. This meant that they didn't know the answer to questions when asked. We misguidedly decided to order food from the bar. For around four pounds expect to receive a thimble of humous(literally) and five olives accompanied by six strips of pitta bread. The sweet potato curry was quite tasty. The next day normal service had resumed at reception and the woman was very helpful and knowledgable. for eighty eight pounds this hotel was a supreme disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Never go!

This was honestly the worst hotel I have ever been in. As soon as we got into the hotel room one of the legs of the bed falls off. We get switched to a different room and there is a mysterious stain on one of the bed....It smelled like mold, our TV was broke and to top it off we are pretty sure we had a mouse in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shefflad38
Business
Sheffield
Mar 5, 2013

Not up to Travelodge standards

Apart from the location, this hotel gets a massive thumbs down. Very basic amenities. Rooms were nothing to shout about, but have to say were clean. Certainly not worth the price, can get much better hotels cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SajidMahmood MAHMOOD
Business
Uk England
May 29, 2013

The stuff was not very helpful

It was very bad experience.Al through the stay.An the stuff didn't take notice when I complained.Even my kids didn't like it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
John2013
Business
Zurich, Switzerland
Nov 26, 2013

worst hotel in whole life

Tiny room, tiny bed, ancient TV set; bath and washbasin had only scorching hot water - in both pipes - no cold water AT ALL. Outrageous price GBP 159. Was first told they had no other. When I went to complain after realizing the absence of cold water, I was given a correct, larger, cleaner, modern TV, room for the same price. A mess-up. I won't go to one of these again if I can avoid it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Afrequenttraveler
Business
Dallas, TX
Oct 12, 2011

Never again!

Stay away! The hotel had a very bad musty smell, room was very outdated & needed a good cleaning. I can say the staff was really nice & helpful-they just don't have much to work with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
farhang
Business
los angeles
Oct 18, 2010

the good, the bad, and the really ugly

1) The time for check in was 3:00 p.m., otherwise an extra £10.00 fee was supposed to be paid, in case the traveler had approached the reception desk before that specific time. 2) Room service was poor...the only items in the bathroom included soap & tissue. Shampoo is supposedly one of the basic items in any basic 2 star hotel, but upon asking the reason for lack of this Item, the response from receptionist referred to the hotel policies!!! 3) Wi-Fi (wireless internet connection)was not free, and the price was £ 1.00 per 20 minutes, comparing to internet café locations in that area, as well as the other zones, with the same price for half an hour. 4) There were 3 elevators in the hall way, but 2 of them were out of order; it took a long time to get to the ground floor or to any other floor. 5) Some of the rooms were located in a section entitled: "Millennium rooms", where the traveler had to use the stairways before and after leaving the elevator, and this was really cumbersome when one had to carry heavy luggage. 6) Now, the positive point was that despite the Hotel was in the neighborhood of kings cross station, and In spite of being located in a populated and crowded area, our room was somehow cozy and noise was not an issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GLENBOUK
Business
SHEFFIELD
Jul 5, 2011

Not great, but not so bad!

When I booked I wanted breakfast including. Unfortunately I booked, but did not get the breakfast, it was room only after the manager confirmed that this has happened before with certain third party booking agents. Be sure you check everything fully.Don;t stay on the fifth floor.It seems the nosiy people stay there.Also, the room I had was poorly decorated, looked like it had been white-washed in five minutes.The bathroom had mould spores.The lights had broken lamps.The TV had an aerial that was faulty. There were no bedside tables...though there were signs that once they were present. It was also very noisy from traffic too, even with the windows closed. Breakfasy had to be purchased.It was poor quality in terms of the powdered orange juice, the toaster was really, really slow,NOT WORTH paying for. Go down the street and pay £4.95, best quality. Plus side: staff were polite and MOVED me to another floor, which had imprived decor, but still mould in the bathroom and curtains that did not match and were two sizes. Not so laughable when you pay over £400 for five nights. Not happy on the whole and the hotel shows obvious signs that they are not spending on repairs and cut-backs on staff numbers. They could not cope at breakfast!! I will copy this to[...]Travelodge and also my credit card company.In closing.BEFORE you PAY, check the room and what you have paid for is inclusive.It is not the worse hotel, keep to the chains in London, but don't tolerate poor standards and poor rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dine i the city, the local places mainly are poor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Goonerph
Business
Cork
Oct 25, 2013

Convenient location for city

All services provided were excellent standard. Very busy for breakfast but staff dealt well with this

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top