$83 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

2 stars
100 Kings Cross Road, London, London, WC1X 9DT
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
20 reviews
Good overnight accomodation.

Good basic accommodation. Room was clean, spacious and quiet. See full review

  • A.C..H
  • May 13, 2013
Fantastic for overnight stay

On arrival I was advised that there were no twin rooms available, but I would be upgraded to a... See full review

  • SteB
  • Jan 4, 2012
A few minutes walk from Kings Cross Station. Exit King's Cross Station and head up Pentonville Road. Turn right into King's Cross road (A201) and the Travelodge is on the left hand side.

Hotel Map

51.5295 -0.1156
Area served
Highbury
Nearby airports
London Heathrow, (LHR), 18.00, MI;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot Rooms

SN
Description not provided
DN
Description not provided
S2N
Description not provided
S3N
Description not provided
DSPN
Description not provided
DSPN
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Continental breakfast
Meal plan - continental
Services
Express checkout
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • London Canal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Cross-St Pancras station: 0.4 mi
  • Clerkenwell: 0.4 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.4 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.4 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Pancras railway station: 0.4 mi
  • Sadler's Wells Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Islington Museum: 0.5 mi
  • British Library: 0.5 mi
  • City University London: 0.6 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.7 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.7 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.8 mi
  • Euston: 0.8 mi
  • London Canal Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Cross-St Pancras station: 0.4 mi
  • Clerkenwell: 0.4 mi
  • The Brunswick : 0.4 mi
  • British Postal Museum and Archive: 0.4 mi
  • Charles Dickens Museum: 0.4 mi
  • St Pancras railway station: 0.4 mi
  • Sadler's Wells Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Islington Museum: 0.5 mi
  • British Library: 0.5 mi
  • City University London: 0.6 mi
  • Russell Square: 0.7 mi
  • Institute of Education: 0.7 mi
  • Institute of Archaeology Collections: 0.8 mi
  • Euston: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of the Order of St John: 0.8 mi
  • School of Oriental and African Studies: 0.8 mi
  • Farringdon: 0.8 mi
  • Birkbeck: 0.8 mi
  • Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology: 0.9 mi
  • Sir John Soane's Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Museum: 0.9 mi
  • British Museum: 0.9 mi
  • University College London: 0.9 mi
  • Grant Museum of Zoology: 0.9 mi
  • London Astoria: 1 mi
  • University of London: 1 mi
  • London Theatre: 1 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 1 mi
  • Fleet Street: 1 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • St Bartholomew's Hospital Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Old Bailey: 1.1 mi
  • Twinings Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Trinity College of Music: 1.1 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of London Docklands: 1.1 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 1.1 mi
  • Temple church: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of London: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 1.2 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Barbican Art Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 1.2 mi
  • Soho: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jeannie1
Nottingham
Sep 20, 2011

Dont pay more than £12!

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Luckily it was only an overnight stay - but that was enough! It totally needs a revamp; it is basic to the point there wasn't even a phone to contact reception (probably intentional); and so noisy. All night there were police sirens blaring, drunks singing outside (it was a Wednsesday evening) and somebodys tv on loud all night. The following day I received an email saying rooms at this hotel were being sold for £12 (I paid £80) which is more or less what a room is worth here!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ardmore, PA
Aug 7, 2011

Disappointment

I was disappointed in their approach and also in [...] failure to add my request for an early check-in. I was immediately charged 10 GBP which in US dollars was about $16.00. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ardmore, PA
Aug 7, 2011

Disappointment

I was disappointed in their approach and also in [...] failure to add my request for an early check-in. I was immediately charged 10 GBP which in US dollars was about $16.00. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GLENBOUK
SHEFFIELD
Jul 5, 2011

Not great, but not so bad!

When I booked I wanted breakfast including. Unfortunately I booked, but did not get the breakfast, it was room only after the manager confirmed that this has happened before with certain third party booking agents. Be sure you check everything fully.Don;t stay on the fifth floor.It seems the nosiy people stay there.Also, the room I had was poorly decorated, looked like it had been white-washed in five minutes.The bathroom had mould spores.The lights had broken lamps.The TV had an aerial that was faulty. There were no bedside tables...though there were signs that once they were present. It was also very noisy from traffic too, even with the windows closed. Breakfasy had to be purchased.It was poor quality in terms of the powdered orange juice, the toaster was really, really slow,NOT WORTH paying for. Go down the street and pay £4.95, best quality. Plus side: staff were polite and MOVED me to another floor, which had imprived decor, but still mould in the bathroom and curtains that did not match and were two sizes. Not so laughable when you pay over £400 for five nights. Not happy on the whole and the hotel shows obvious signs that they are not spending on repairs and cut-backs on staff numbers. They could not cope at breakfast!! I will copy this to[...]Travelodge and also my credit card company.In closing.BEFORE you PAY, check the room and what you have paid for is inclusive.It is not the worse hotel, keep to the chains in London, but don't tolerate poor standards and poor rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dine i the city, the local places mainly are poor.

Review of Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roger A.
Lexington, VA
May 1, 2011

London Experience

We arrived mid-morning from the US and were told that we could not have our room until 3:00 p.m. and needed to pay £10 to store our baggage. Our room was small – just enough space for 2 twin beds and a desk – no chair, no phone, no toiletries. It was pretty clean except for some mildew around the window and corners of the bath. Housekeeping was good and kept the place tidy. Major complaint was noise – we could hear everyone walking by our door. But it was London and we could not expect much more for the price. We chose this hotel due to its closeness to St Pancras International railway station as we planned a one-day excursion to Paris on the Eurostar. The neighborhood was safe with numerous, good-value diners close by. I would stay there again if I needed a clean budget hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good value family-owned restaurants close by. Check their menus posted on their windows.

Review of Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roger A.
Lexington, VA
May 1, 2011

London Experience

We arrived mid-morning from the US and were told that we could not have our room until 3:00 p.m. and needed to pay £10 to store our baggage. Our room was small – just enough space for 2 twin beds and a desk – no chair, no phone, no toiletries. It was pretty clean except for some mildew around the window and corners of the bath. Housekeeping was good and kept the place tidy. Major complaint was noise – we could hear everyone walking by our door. But it was London and we could not expect much more for the price. We chose this hotel due to its closeness to St Pancras International railway station as we planned a one-day excursion to Paris on the Eurostar. The neighborhood was safe with numerous, good-value diners close by. I would stay there again if I needed a clean budget hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good value family-owned restaurants close by. Check their menus posted on their windows.

Review of Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milan, Italy
Dec 12, 2010

Decent accomodation

The hotel was ok, the room was very clean and the location is very convenient (walking distance from Kings' Cross railroad station and subway (ok: underground or tube! you ain't in NY :) ). WiFi was a bit of a nuisance and the overall hotel building need a bit of refurbishing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milan, Italy
Dec 12, 2010

Decent accomodation

The hotel was ok, the room was very clean and the location is very convenient (walking distance from Kings' Cross railroad station and subway (ok: underground or tube! you ain't in NY :) ). WiFi was a bit of a nuisance and the overall hotel building need a bit of refurbishing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
farhang
los angeles
Oct 18, 2010

the good, the bad, and the really ugly

1) The time for check in was 3:00 p.m., otherwise an extra £10.00 fee was supposed to be paid, in case the traveler had approached the reception desk before that specific time. 2) Room service was poor...the only items in the bathroom included soap & tissue. Shampoo is supposedly one of the basic items in any basic 2 star hotel, but upon asking the reason for lack of this Item, the response from receptionist referred to the hotel policies!!! 3) Wi-Fi (wireless internet connection)was not free, and the price was £ 1.00 per 20 minutes, comparing to internet café locations in that area, as well as the other zones, with the same price for half an hour. 4) There were 3 elevators in the hall way, but 2 of them were out of order; it took a long time to get to the ground floor or to any other floor. 5) Some of the rooms were located in a section entitled: "Millennium rooms", where the traveler had to use the stairways before and after leaving the elevator, and this was really cumbersome when one had to carry heavy luggage. 6) Now, the positive point was that despite the Hotel was in the neighborhood of kings cross station, and In spite of being located in a populated and crowded area, our room was somehow cozy and noise was not an issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
farhang
los angeles
Oct 18, 2010

the good, the bad, and the really ugly

1) The time for check in was 3:00 p.m., otherwise an extra £10.00 fee was supposed to be paid, in case the traveler had approached the reception desk before that specific time. 2) Room service was poor...the only items in the bathroom included soap & tissue. Shampoo is supposedly one of the basic items in any basic 2 star hotel, but upon asking the reason for lack of this Item, the response from receptionist referred to the hotel policies!!! 3) Wi-Fi (wireless internet connection)was not free, and the price was £ 1.00 per 20 minutes, comparing to internet café locations in that area, as well as the other zones, with the same price for half an hour. 4) There were 3 elevators in the hall way, but 2 of them were out of order; it took a long time to get to the ground floor or to any other floor. 5) Some of the rooms were located in a section entitled: "Millennium rooms", where the traveler had to use the stairways before and after leaving the elevator, and this was really cumbersome when one had to carry heavy luggage. 6) Now, the positive point was that despite the Hotel was in the neighborhood of kings cross station, and In spite of being located in a populated and crowded area, our room was somehow cozy and noise was not an issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top