$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Thistle Piccadilly

4 stars
Coventry Street, London, W1D 6BZ
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
36 reviews
Great location

Very convenient for traveling around to all the sites we wanted to see. Tube stations are nearby,... See full review

  • Jnsko
  • Jun 12, 2014
Amazing hotel.

Stayed here for a night in London. It has the best location and staff. Room was super clean and... See full review

  • Johnk2244
  • Apr 30, 2014
This is an amazing hotel, located in the centre of London, just a few minutes walk to Piccadilly Circus, Trafalgar Square and Theatre Land. It is walking distance to Oxford Street, Covent Garden and Regent Street so an ideal location for your stay in London. Rooms are air conditioned, with free toiletries and some have views over Leicester Square. The House Lounge Bar and Restaurant is the ideal venue to get away from the crowds and enjoy a relaxing drink and evening meal in comfort taking in the action of Leicester Square on our live link Screen. Situated next to Leicester Square the contemporary refurbished Thistle Piccadilly has an authentic Victorian exterior that states it's presence as a West End hotel. The Thistle Piccadilly is a non-smoking hotel

Hotel Map

51.5102 -0.1316
Area served
At Thistle Piccadilly, you have many of London's most famous landmarks on the doorstep, just a stone's-thrown from Piccadilly Circus, this is a perfect base from which to enjoy the West End's superb shopping, theatres and other attractions.
Nearby airports
From London Heathrow, the Heathrow Express runs direct to London Paddington in just 15 minutes (20 from Terminal 5), with a train every quarter of an hour. The Gatwick Express runs a similar service into London Victoria from London Gatwick.
Area description
With its authentic Victorian exterior, Thistle Piccadilly fits right in among its genteel neighbours on one of London's most famous streets. Fortnum & Mason, the Royal Academy, Hatchards (Britain's oldest bookshop) and the boutiques of the Burlington Arcade are all within a short stroll, as is the quintessential London landmark, Piccadilly Circus.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Thistle Piccadilly also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Thistle Piccadilly Rooms

Standard Double
Our Standard rooms have everything you need for a relaxed and comfortable stay. Quiet, spacious and decorated in a warm and welcoming colour palette, they are a welcome sight for any traveller.
Deluxe Double
All the comforts and amenities of our Standard bedrooms, and then some. More space means there's room for a double bed and a large work desk. When you've finished checking your emails via our wi-fi broadband connection, you can lie back and watch your favourite channel on your LCD TV. Complimentary newspaper and toiletries are provided.
Executive King
Larger than our Standard rooms, providing space for a King bed, a large work desk and completed with a state of the art LCD TV. In addition to wi-fi broadband internet access, full tea- and coffee-making facilities you'll also receive complimentary magazines and newspaper. And of course, all the hotel's other facilities are at your disposal as well as access to the nearby health & fitness centre and complimentary access to wi-fi in the hotel lobby.
Junior Suite
Our Junior Suites are our largest, most indulgent room; perfect for working, marking a special occasion or enjoying a longer stay. All rooms reflect a contemporary colour palette, complemented by bold, vibrant fabrics, have a king-size bed, a sofa bed and a seating area. Boasting a state of the art plasma TV, i-pod docking station, bathrobe and slippers as well as complimentary water and chocolates for a perfect stay. Complimentary wifi in the lobby of the hotel is available as is our 24 hour guest relations team. Access to a local Health and Fitness Club with it's pool and most up to date gym equipment is also included. Spacious, discreet and self-contained, it's everything a Junior Suite should be.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Leicester Square: 0 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.2 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.2 mi
  • West End: 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.3 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.3 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Leicester Square: 0 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • London Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 0.1 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • National Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Trafalgar Square: 0.2 mi
  • Canada House Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Nelson's Column: 0.2 mi
  • West End: 0.3 mi
  • Institute of Contemporary Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Admiralty Arch: 0.3 mi
  • British Music Experience: 0.3 mi
  • British Optical Association Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Charing Cross station: 0.3 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • Port of London: 0.3 mi
  • London School of Economics: 0.3 mi
  • Benjamin Franklin House: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.3 mi
  • Soho: 0.3 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.4 mi
  • Thomas Neal Centre : 0.4 mi
  • Adelphi Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.4 mi
  • London Transport Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old Operating Theatre Museum and Herb Garret: 0.5 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.5 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.5 mi
  • Dominion Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • St James's Park: 0.5 mi
  • Courtauld Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • London Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Transport Museum: 0.5 mi
  • London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine: 0.5 mi
  • the Strand: 0.5 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.6 mi
  • Cabinet War Rooms and Churchill Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Aldwych Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • St. James's Park: 0.6 mi

Dining

House Lounge
Located right in the heart of London, House Lounge, the restaurant and bar at Thistle Piccadilly is perfectly placed for a light meal during the day, drinks after work or dinner before the show.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Thistle Piccadilly

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.3

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thistle Piccadilly

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Birmingham,Al
Jan 1, 2011

Great place to stay!

We were here over New years eve. The location is great, the staff is super! Convenient to all the West End attractions. I'm coming back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Thistle Piccadilly

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Niyant Kumar
San Francisco, California
Jul 15, 2014

Air conditioning does not work and hotel staff was extremely rude!

TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE!! The hotel staff was extremely rude. Overall experience was appalling as A/C did not work the entire duration of our stay. Not worth the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Thistle Piccadilly

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
International Tours
Business
London
Mar 5, 2011

Ignores Do Not Disturb sign

These people ignore the Do Not Disturb sign. Just when I'm trying to overcome some jet lag, the hotel staff keep knocking on my door to inquire if I need anything. Just as I'm getting back to sleep, the phone rings and they again are inquiring if I need anything. Yes, I do need something. SLEEP!!! You won't get any sleep in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Thistle Piccadilly

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
International Tours
Business
London
Mar 5, 2011

Ignores Do Not Disturb sign

These people ignore the Do Not Disturb sign. Just when I'm trying to overcome some jet lag, the hotel staff keep knocking on my door to inquire if I need anything. Just as I'm getting back to sleep, the phone rings and they again are inquiring if I need anything. Yes, I do need something. SLEEP!!! You won't get any sleep in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Thistle Piccadilly

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DisappointedTraveler2013
USA
Nov 26, 2013

Unwilling

We unfortunatley had to cancel our reservation the week before and the hotel would not refund one cent of our reservation. We spent $200 on nothing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Thistle Piccadilly

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
International Tours
London, UK
Mar 5, 2011

NO RUNNING WATER! Shower, toilet...

No running water! I wish I knew before I used the toilet. Now just imagine how bad it can get. Staff offered to bring up bottled water, but what I need is another hotel!!! Beware! This hotel is notorious for having water problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Thistle Piccadilly

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
International Tours
London, UK
Mar 5, 2011

NO RUNNING WATER! Shower, toilet...

No running water! I wish I knew before I used the toilet. Now just imagine how bad it can get. Staff offered to bring up bottled water, but what I need is another hotel!!! Beware! This hotel is notorious for having water problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Thistle Piccadilly

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Feb 8, 2011

Thistle Picadilly

Thistle Picadilly in my opinion is way overpriced for what you get. I have stayed at both the Thistle Picadilly and Thistle Trafalgar which are only 2 blocks away from each other. The quality of the room was poor with the carpet being dirty, a chair that was stained and stunk. The furniture was beat up. I could understand their conditions if they were there for the cheap traveler needing basic accommodations and cheap prices. The noise level was bad and when I asked for a quieter room they said they were all about the same. If your are looking for something in this location definitely go to the Thistle Trafalgar or look at other options for the price. I also found a great difference in the staff between the two hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I would recommend two places for dining not too far: For a good all day breakfast meal and good people watching try Balan's Cafe. For some good Italian, I recommend Amalfi's.

Review of Thistle Piccadilly

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Feb 8, 2011

Thistle Picadilly

Thistle Picadilly in my opinion is way overpriced for what you get. I have stayed at both the Thistle Picadilly and Thistle Trafalgar which are only 2 blocks away from each other. The quality of the room was poor with the carpet being dirty, a chair that was stained and stunk. The furniture was beat up. I could understand their conditions if they were there for the cheap traveler needing basic accommodations and cheap prices. The noise level was bad and when I asked for a quieter room they said they were all about the same. If your are looking for something in this location definitely go to the Thistle Trafalgar or look at other options for the price. I also found a great difference in the staff between the two hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I would recommend two places for dining not too far: For a good all day breakfast meal and good people watching try Balan's Cafe. For some good Italian, I recommend Amalfi's.

Review of Thistle Piccadilly

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ThinkJudd
Temecula CA
Jun 19, 2014

Very Central but Very Blah

London hotels are crazy expensive so it's tough holding them to the same standard as (say) an average US city. The Thistle is a large older hotel with a tiny lobby deep in the center of Londons west end. It's on the edge of Chinatown and Leicester Square which makes it very noisy at almost any time day or night. The rooms are OK...clean, small and entirely uninspired. It doesn't offer any included luxury other than free wifi and the mandatory tea making essentials. The staff were pleasant....the Hotel is what it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the world famous Wang Kei....cash only, crazy rude service but awesome food.

Review of Thistle Piccadilly

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kentucky USA
Aug 10, 2009

London Calling

A very good hotel located in the heart of London. It is very close to theaters and the nightlife of London. Air conditioned and clean. The house keeping staff are excellent. You can walk to most attractions in the city right from here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located between Piccadilly Circus and Leicester square tube stations. Very lively area at night and lots of things nearby Trafalgar Square, Soho, China town, Covent Garden. Excellent location and easy to take the tube to and from the airport....use the piccadilly line. It takes about 45 minutes and costs 3.80 pounds.

Back to menu Return to top