$174 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Thistle Marble Arch

4 stars
Bryanston Street,, Marble Arch, London, W1H 7EH
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
66 reviews
Perfect break

The hotel is located in a perfect location. Perfect for either business or shopping. The hotel is... See full review

  • Yiannos
  • Oct 2, 2014
Excellent hotel

Only stayed for one night but the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and professional. The room... See full review

  • Great White 55
  • Jul 22, 2014
Shopper's delight Art Deco-style luxury hotel on Oxford Street

Offering 4-star comfort in the heart of London's prime shopping district, the Thistle Marble Arch offers nearly 700 spacious and contemporary rooms, all boasting every conceivable amenity and convenience. Three distinct drinking/dining venues cater to a variety of tastes and preferences, from traditional afternoon tea to a more formal evening meal. Finally, a 24/7 concierge staff will tend to your every need and 24-hour room service ensures every body clock is well nourished.

Highlights
  • Video conferencing available (requires 48 hours notice)
  • Prime location overlooking Oxford Street and Marble Arch
  • The largest air-conditioned guest rooms in London
Rooms

The Thistle Marble Arch overlooks Oxford Street and Marble Arch and boasts the largest air-conditioned rooms in London. Contemporary layouts with seating areas provide guests with well-deserved spacious comfort. The 692 rooms, including 202 executive rooms and suites, all feature Wi-Fi (fees apply), satellite TV, coffee and tea making facilities, luxury toiletries, newspaper, mini-bar, vibrating pillows and walk-in shower.  

Features

The Thistle Marble Arch, located on Oxford Street near Park Lane, is a 4-star Art Deco-style luxury hotel that pampers guests with all of the style and grandeur of yesteryear with the comforts and conveniences of the modern day.

Business and leisure go hand-in-hand with nearly 700 spacious bedrooms, all comfortably decorated and boasting every conceivable amenity and convenience.

An on-site fitness center is the perfect place to work off that extra clotted cream-topped slice of pie, though with Hyde Park just across the street, a scenic, outdoor walk is within easy reach.

The hotel offers three distinct dining experiences: The Carvery, a 1930s-themed London restaurant, serves a classic carvery buffet; Glenn Miller's Bar, a traditional London bar adorned with music memorabilia of the American jazz musician, is the ideal place to enjoy a drink or light meal; and The Lounge, a leather sofa-adorned lobby bar, is the perfect place to grab a quick bite or relax for afternoon tea.

Transportation
  • Bond Street tube station (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • Marble Arch tube station (0.1 mi./0.2 km)
  • Heathrow Airport (12.9 mi./20.8 km)
Attractions
  • Hyde Park (0.5 mi./0.8 km)
  • Marble Arch (1.4 mi./2.3 km)
  • Oxford Street (0.6 mi./0.9 km)
Business
  • Four large suites and 16 meeting rooms
  • Full-service special events staff
  • State-of-the-art audio/visual facilities 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Thistle Marble Arch also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Thistle Marble Arch Rooms

Executive King Room
For added luxury, stay in an Executive room at Thistle Marble Arch. You can access the Club Lounge to treat yourself to complimentary breakfast, drinks and snacks. Facilities in every room include flat-screen TV, BT Openzone wireless internet access, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Room service is available 24- hour a day and a gym workout room is available for residents. Double bed, sleeps 2 Facilities Available: BT Open zone Wi-Fi (chargeable) Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Hairdryer Flatscreen TV Iron & Ironing Board Work Desk Complimentary access to the gym Refrigerator In-room safe 24 Hour Room Service Seating Area in Room Access to the Executive Lounge
Executive Double Room
For added luxury, stay in an Executive room at Thistle Marble Arch. You can access the Club Lounge to treat yourself to complimentary breakfast, drinks and snacks. Facilities in every room include flat-screen TV, BT Openzone wireless internet access, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Room service is available 24- hour a day and a gym workout room is available for residents. Double bed, sleeps 2. Facilities Available: BT Open zone Wi-Fi (chargeable) Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Hairdryer Flatscreen TV Iron & Ironing Board Work Desk Complimentary access to the gym Refrigerator In-room safe 24 Hour Room Service Seating Area in Room Access to the Executive Lounge
Standard Double Room
Make yourself comfortable in your standard room at Thistle Marble Arch. Facilities in every room include flat-screen TV, BT Openzone wireless internet access, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Room service is available 24- hour a day and a gym workout room is available for residents. Double bed, sleeps 2. Facilities Available: BT Open zone Wi-Fi (chargeable) Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Hairdryer Flatscreen TV Iron & Ironing Board Work Desk Complimentary access to the gym Refrigerator In-room safe 24 Hour Room Service Seating Area in Room
Standard Twin Room
Make yourself comfortable in your standard room at Thistle Marble Arch. Facilities in every room include flat-screen TV, BT Openzone wireless internet access, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Room service is available 24- hour a day and a gym workout room is available for residents. Twin beds, sleeps 2. Facilities Available: BT Open zone Wi-Fi (chargeable) Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Hairdryer Flatscreen TV Iron & Ironing Board Work Desk Complimentary access to the gym Refrigerator In-room safe 24 Hour Room Service Seating Area in Room
Deluxe Double Room
Spread out in your spacious Deluxe room at Thistle Marble Arch. Facilities in every room include flat-screen TV, BT Openzone wireless internet access, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Room service is available 24- hour a day and a gym workout room is available for residents. Double bed, sleeps 2. Facilities Available: BT Open zone Wi-Fi (chargeable) Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Hairdryer Flatscreen TV Iron & Ironing Board Work Desk Complimentary access to the gym Refrigerator In-room safe 24 Hour Room Service Seating Area in Room
Deluxe Twin Room
Spread out in your spacious Deluxe room at Thistle Marble Arch. Facilities in every room include flat-screen TV, BT Openzone wireless internet access, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Room service is available 24- hour a day and a gym workout room is available for residents. Twin beds, sleeps 2. Facilities Available: BT Open zone Wi-Fi (chargeable) Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Hairdryer Flatscreen TV Iron & Ironing Board Work Desk Complimentary access to the gym Refrigerator In-room safe 24 Hour Room Service Seating Area in Room
Executive Twin Room
For added luxury, stay in an Executive room at Thistle Marble Arch. You can access the Club Lounge to treat yourself to complimentary breakfast, drinks and snacks. Facilities in every room include flat-screen TV, BT Openzone wireless internet access, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Room service is available 24- hour a day and a gym workout room is available for residents. Twin beds, sleeps 2. Facilities Available: BT Open zone Wi-Fi (chargeable) Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Hairdryer Flatscreen TV Iron & Ironing Board Work Desk Complimentary access to the gym Refrigerator In-room safe 24 Hour Room Service Seating Area in Room Access to the Executive Lounge

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Marble Arch: 0.1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.2 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.2 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.3 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.4 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.4 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.5 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.6 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.7 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.2 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.2 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.3 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.4 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.4 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.5 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.6 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.7 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.7 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.8 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.8 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.8 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 0.8 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.8 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.9 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Green Park: 0.9 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.9 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 1 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.1 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.1 mi
  • Soho: 1.1 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 1.1 mi
  • University of London: 1.1 mi
  • London Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Leicester Square: 1.2 mi

Dining

Glenn Miller Bar
The Glenn Miller Bar is aptly named after the American jazz musician. This London bar is a unique venue with a collection of memorabilia and provides an ideal place in which to relax and enjoy a drink or a light meal.
The Marmor Grill
The Marmor Grill takes its name from the Latin for marble. The restaurant follows a 1930's theme, which is subtle yet comes through not only in the furniture and dcor but also in details such as the glassware and cutlery. The restaurant serves fantastic dishes to suit any taste pallet and all ingredients are locally sourced Open for breakfast and dinner, this is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a delicious meal.
Costa Coffee Bar
Start your day with a feshly brewed coffee, tea or snack from Costa Coffee at the Thistle Marble Arch.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Thistle Marble Arch has 20 meeting rooms, the largest of which seats 400 theater style. All of the meeting rooms have air-conditioning and BT Openzone wireless internet access. You can choose from a wide range of refreshments, including healthy options, and make use of the Marmor Grill Restaurant, Lounge and Glenn Miller's Bar. And whether you're planning a board meeting or a birthday bash, our dedicated Meetings & Events team will help you from start to finish.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Thistle Marble Arch

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lolo Ali
Business
qatar
May 16, 2013

training staff

all the staff they don't know any thing even there managers except one Indian manger I met him one time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grant Brighton
Business
Brighton UK
Jul 18, 2013

Filthiest hotel I've stayed at in a long time

I paid £150 for a night - fairly standard for a night in central London and the room was disgusting. Hairs everywhere and so many in the plug hole for the shower it would overflow within minutes. Reception really couldn't care less when I complained - just said "I'm sorry about that" and then a smile - no offer to sort. Aircon is so noisy you can't have it on and sleep, walls are paper thin. I've complained separately to the hotel and will not be staying here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
deaconh3
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Mar 2, 2012

Busy hotel, good location but busy

The staff is very helpful, professional and friendly. This is a huge hotel and it's busy! There is a lot of construction in the area so it's a bit loud. I was awaken on Saturday at 7:30am with construction on Portman street. The interior rooms are probably better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jobone2
Business
Hong Kong
Mar 15, 2013

3* Hotel @ London 4* Prices

Firstly, do not be fooled by the guarantee that Thistle have on their website: "Best price guarantee, you won't find us cheaper anywhere else". Every site that I looked at were cheaper, I booked with e-bookers. My colleagues and I booked a total of four bedrooms, all were separate bookings. One of them who is also a close friend and I travelled to London together by train arriving at the hotel just prior to 11am. They had one room which he got and so was handy for me to leave my bag in until my own room was ready. We had to wait in the foyer for a colleague who was 15 minutes away, to arrive. We decided to have a coffee, upon looking at a price of £4.50 + 12.5% service charge for a cappuccino we decided not to and a small cake was nuts in price. The hotel could learn from the principle that a smaller percentage profit is better than a larger percentage profit of nothing! As a marketing man I immediately carried out research through observation, only one couple were drinking a beverage out of about 20 occupied tables around the foyer, a story in itself! This actually had the effect on us that we did not even bother to look at the menu for the hotel restaurant for our evening meal. We did however have one drink in the bar that evening and having been charged 12.5% service charge for ordering at the counter which came to just over £4 for 2 minutes work, one wonders if the bar staff really are being paid £120 per hour? This is a Ryanair practice, the price you see is not the price you pay! Legislation needs to be brought in to outlaw this type of fraud as is common practice in large cities. My bedroom was very small, the quality of the TV was just about fair enough, and the bathroom could do with updating the decor. However, the shower was fantastic and the free hi-speed wifi is excellent. Pity the shampoo and shower gel were of a very standard quality. (The wifi would want to be free, having paid €185.00 for room only). The bed and aircon were also fantastic. As we were all on a room only basis, we headed out the door and across Oxford street, to North Audley street for breakfast, a 3 minute walk. There are lots of restaurants to choose from and full breakfast was good value at £7.00. When booking my room, and having looked at several sites, it appeared that breakfast at this hotel is in the region of £20. All of the staff that we met at the hotel were excellent. The main asset that this hotel has is its location. I would recommend this hotel, purely on location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast on Audley Street, hotel is robbery and remember the 12.5% service charge!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
doowopbob
Business
jackson, N>J>
Sep 24, 2014

not that good

hotel was under renovations which it needed badly. there was to much outside functions in the hotel like wedding, business meeting and parties. rooms were far from elevators. would not recommend. resturant in hotel has limited menu and the wait for the food was to long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

good selection of eateries within a few blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob's Your Uncle
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 1, 2011

so-so, noisy

The location is convenient, right off the Marble Arch tube and near shopping if that's your thing. Our first night was very noisy--there was a party or noise from a nearby club that kept me up all night. It was also a long walk from the elevator to our room, and it was difficult to get our luggage in from the ground floor to reception. We stayed in the east end near the Tower Hill tube and I liked that area and hotel (the Mint) much better. It was also less expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

take the tube up to Bond Street and walk back along Oxford to the Hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KLaw1
Business
St Paul, MN, USA
Dec 18, 2011

Decent hotel

Friendly staff. Good room service. Spacious room. Decent sized bathroom. Furniture in hotel room was a little outdated and the bathroom floor wasn't the cleanest but overall it's a pretty good hotel. Little noisy because you can hear the doors slamming but I only noticed it because I was napping during the day. I didn't have a problem with noise at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are right on Oxford Street... Shop away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tommyboy's Friend
Business
New Jersey
May 2, 2012

Great location...that's all you're paying for.

Hotel staff is indifferent. Concierge has good attitude, but that's it. Bar staff needs training in learning to be polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It's all right there. Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joe from Beijing
Business
Beijing, China
Sep 25, 2012

Two nights' Stay

I had a bad foot with a broken toe. Due to the hotel being very full I could only be given a room that was almost the most distant from the lift,talking around 5 minutes to walk from the lift to my room. The room was small and basic with very little space to move around in. The bed was clean and comfortable. However, the hotel's bell boys were absolute gentlemen - having very heavy baggage they were extremely efficient and very polite - perhaps this hotel best point. The location of this hotel is excellent for shopping and this advantage I guess is why it is worth putting up with what would otherwise not be a hotel of the standard I would choose to stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right in one of the very best shopping locations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jameslondon
Business
Europe
Jan 15, 2013

Great location but rooms and cleanliness - shabby

rooms and cleanliness - shabby. the entrance and lobby is nice. but the hallways and rooms look old and sloppy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top