$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 26, 2014

Thistle Marble Arch

4 stars
Bryanston Street,, Marble Arch, London, W1H 7EH
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
71 reviews
Family gathering

Excellent for sight seen and shopping, the room is very comfortable and the staff is very helpful See full review

  • Super saudi
  • Jun 14, 2014
Lovely hotel

A beautiful hotel conveniently located close to the major stores on Oxford street. The check-in was... See full review

  • KEC9
  • Dec 5, 2013
Shopper's delight Art Deco-style luxury hotel on Oxford Street

Offering 4-star comfort in the heart of London's prime shopping district, the Thistle Marble Arch offers nearly 700 spacious and contemporary rooms, all boasting every conceivable amenity and convenience. Three distinct drinking/dining venues cater to a variety of tastes and preferences, from traditional afternoon tea to a more formal evening meal. Finally, a 24/7 concierge staff will tend to your every need and 24-hour room service ensures every body clock is well nourished.

Highlights
  • Video conferencing available (requires 48 hours notice)
  • Prime location overlooking Oxford Street and Marble Arch
  • The largest air-conditioned guest rooms in London
Rooms

The Thistle Marble Arch overlooks Oxford Street and Marble Arch and boasts the largest air-conditioned rooms in London. Contemporary layouts with seating areas provide guests with well-deserved spacious comfort. The 692 rooms, including 202 executive rooms and suites, all feature Wi-Fi (fees apply), satellite TV, coffee and tea making facilities, luxury toiletries, newspaper, mini-bar, vibrating pillows and walk-in shower.  

Features

The Thistle Marble Arch, located on Oxford Street near Park Lane, is a 4-star Art Deco-style luxury hotel that pampers guests with all of the style and grandeur of yesteryear with the comforts and conveniences of the modern day.

Business and leisure go hand-in-hand with nearly 700 spacious bedrooms, all comfortably decorated and boasting every conceivable amenity and convenience.

An on-site fitness center is the perfect place to work off that extra clotted cream-topped slice of pie, though with Hyde Park just across the street, a scenic, outdoor walk is within easy reach.

The hotel offers three distinct dining experiences: The Carvery, a 1930s-themed London restaurant, serves a classic carvery buffet; Glenn Miller's Bar, a traditional London bar adorned with music memorabilia of the American jazz musician, is the ideal place to enjoy a drink or light meal; and The Lounge, a leather sofa-adorned lobby bar, is the perfect place to grab a quick bite or relax for afternoon tea.

Transportation
  • Bond Street tube station (0.3 mi./0.5 km)
  • Marble Arch tube station (0.1 mi./0.2 km)
  • Heathrow Airport (12.9 mi./20.8 km)
Attractions
  • Hyde Park (0.5 mi./0.8 km)
  • Marble Arch (1.4 mi./2.3 km)
  • Oxford Street (0.6 mi./0.9 km)
Business
  • Four large suites and 16 meeting rooms
  • Full-service special events staff
  • State-of-the-art audio/visual facilities 

Thistle Marble Arch Rooms

Executive King Room
For added luxury, stay in an Executive room at Thistle Marble Arch. You can access the Club Lounge to treat yourself to complimentary breakfast, drinks and snacks. Facilities in every room include flat-screen TV, BT Openzone wireless internet access, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Room service is available 24- hour a day and a gym workout room is available for residents. Double bed, sleeps 2 Facilities Available: BT Open zone Wi-Fi (chargeable) Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Hairdryer Flatscreen TV Iron & Ironing Board Work Desk Complimentary access to the gym Refrigerator In-room safe 24 Hour Room Service Seating Area in Room Access to the Executive Lounge
Executive Double Room
For added luxury, stay in an Executive room at Thistle Marble Arch. You can access the Club Lounge to treat yourself to complimentary breakfast, drinks and snacks. Facilities in every room include flat-screen TV, BT Openzone wireless internet access, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Room service is available 24- hour a day and a gym workout room is available for residents. Double bed, sleeps 2. Facilities Available: BT Open zone Wi-Fi (chargeable) Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Hairdryer Flatscreen TV Iron & Ironing Board Work Desk Complimentary access to the gym Refrigerator In-room safe 24 Hour Room Service Seating Area in Room Access to the Executive Lounge
Standard Double Room
Make yourself comfortable in your standard room at Thistle Marble Arch. Facilities in every room include flat-screen TV, BT Openzone wireless internet access, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Room service is available 24- hour a day and a gym workout room is available for residents. Double bed, sleeps 2. Facilities Available: BT Open zone Wi-Fi (chargeable) Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Hairdryer Flatscreen TV Iron & Ironing Board Work Desk Complimentary access to the gym Refrigerator In-room safe 24 Hour Room Service Seating Area in Room
Standard Twin Room
Make yourself comfortable in your standard room at Thistle Marble Arch. Facilities in every room include flat-screen TV, BT Openzone wireless internet access, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Room service is available 24- hour a day and a gym workout room is available for residents. Twin beds, sleeps 2. Facilities Available: BT Open zone Wi-Fi (chargeable) Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Hairdryer Flatscreen TV Iron & Ironing Board Work Desk Complimentary access to the gym Refrigerator In-room safe 24 Hour Room Service Seating Area in Room
Deluxe Double Room
Spread out in your spacious Deluxe room at Thistle Marble Arch. Facilities in every room include flat-screen TV, BT Openzone wireless internet access, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Room service is available 24- hour a day and a gym workout room is available for residents. Double bed, sleeps 2. Facilities Available: BT Open zone Wi-Fi (chargeable) Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Hairdryer Flatscreen TV Iron & Ironing Board Work Desk Complimentary access to the gym Refrigerator In-room safe 24 Hour Room Service Seating Area in Room
Deluxe Twin Room
Spread out in your spacious Deluxe room at Thistle Marble Arch. Facilities in every room include flat-screen TV, BT Openzone wireless internet access, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Room service is available 24- hour a day and a gym workout room is available for residents. Twin beds, sleeps 2. Facilities Available: BT Open zone Wi-Fi (chargeable) Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Hairdryer Flatscreen TV Iron & Ironing Board Work Desk Complimentary access to the gym Refrigerator In-room safe 24 Hour Room Service Seating Area in Room
Executive Twin Room
For added luxury, stay in an Executive room at Thistle Marble Arch. You can access the Club Lounge to treat yourself to complimentary breakfast, drinks and snacks. Facilities in every room include flat-screen TV, BT Openzone wireless internet access, air-conditioning and tea and coffee making facilities. Room service is available 24- hour a day and a gym workout room is available for residents. Twin beds, sleeps 2. Facilities Available: BT Open zone Wi-Fi (chargeable) Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Hairdryer Flatscreen TV Iron & Ironing Board Work Desk Complimentary access to the gym Refrigerator In-room safe 24 Hour Room Service Seating Area in Room Access to the Executive Lounge

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Thistle Marble Arch also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

51.5143 -0.1575
Area served
London, Marble Arch, Hyde Park, Covent Garden, Piccadilly Circus, Leicester Square, Trafalgar Square
Nearby airports
Heathrow Airport, (LHR), 18.00, SW, miles; Gatwick Airport, (LGW), 35.00, S, miles; Luton Airport, (LTN), 33.00, NW, miles; Stansted, (STN), 37.00, NE, miles.
Area description
Thistle Marble Arch is just a walk or short taxi ride from the busy streets of Covent Garden and the theatrical excitement of Shaftsbury Avenue. Overlooking Oxford Street, this hotel occupies an unrivaled position from which to enjoy London's unique attractions. Marble Arch Underground Station is a one minute walk and Bond Street Underground Station is a 5 minute walk.

Nearby points of interest

  • Marble Arch: 0.1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.2 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.2 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.3 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.4 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.4 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.5 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.6 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.7 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Marble Arch: 0.1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 0.2 mi
  • Selfridges: 0.2 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.3 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 0.3 mi
  • Bond Street London: 0.4 mi
  • Park Lane: 0.4 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Baker Street: 0.5 mi
  • Oxford Street: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 0.6 mi
  • University of Westminster: 0.7 mi
  • Oxford Circus: 0.7 mi
  • Red Mansion Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 0.7 mi
  • Photographers Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • London Palladium: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Arcade : 0.8 mi
  • Carnaby Street: 0.8 mi
  • Kingly Court : 0.8 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 0.8 mi
  • Regent Street: 0.8 mi
  • Piccadilly: 0.8 mi
  • London Business School: 0.9 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Academy of Arts: 0.9 mi
  • Fitzrovia: 0.9 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Green Park: 0.9 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.9 mi
  • Royal College of Physicians Museum: 1 mi
  • Piccadilly Theatre: 1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.1 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.1 mi
  • Soho: 1.1 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Shaftesbury Avenue: 1.1 mi
  • University of London: 1.1 mi
  • London Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Buckingham Palace: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Leicester Square: 1.2 mi

Dining

Glenn Miller Bar
The Glenn Miller Bar is aptly named after the American jazz musician. This London bar is a unique venue with a collection of memorabilia and provides an ideal place in which to relax and enjoy a drink or a light meal.
The Marmor Grill
The Marmor Grill takes its name from the Latin for marble. The restaurant follows a 1930's theme, which is subtle yet comes through not only in the furniture and dcor but also in details such as the glassware and cutlery. The restaurant serves fantastic dishes to suit any taste pallet and all ingredients are locally sourced Open for breakfast and dinner, this is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a delicious meal.
Costa Coffee Bar
Start your day with a feshly brewed coffee, tea or snack from Costa Coffee at the Thistle Marble Arch.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Thistle Marble Arch has 20 meeting rooms, the largest of which seats 400 theater style. All of the meeting rooms have air-conditioning and BT Openzone wireless internet access. You can choose from a wide range of refreshments, including healthy options, and make use of the Marmor Grill Restaurant, Lounge and Glenn Miller's Bar. And whether you're planning a board meeting or a birthday bash, our dedicated Meetings & Events team will help you from start to finish.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Thistle Marble Arch

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike the European Trvlr
Baltimore, Maryland, U.S.A.
May 1, 2013

Great Hotel, If You Have Realistic Expectations

We stayed at the Thistle Marble Arch from April 12-15, 2013. PLUSES - Location - Right next to Oxford Street and the Marble Arch tube station. This has to be one of the best locations in London. Right on Main Street! The front desk - Our flight arrived at 6 a.m., so we tried to check in at 9 a.m. They worked with us and found us a room, even at that early hour. That was much appreciated. Value - We were very happy with the value. When you consider the location and the price, its hard to beat the value. MINUSES - Two minor ones. Furnishing and Carpets - The hotel needs an update. There was a leak in the cieling outside of our room that you could tell had been there for awhile. The furnishings in the room could also use an update. TV - The hotel has like 10 Arab channels. That's ok, but can we get at least one American one? I don't think that's asking too much. In summary, It not the Ritz, but we weren't looking for the Ritz.It's more like the Hampton Inn. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to a friend, and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

This doesn't really relate to the hotel, but we got a London Pass for sightseeing. It worked out great for us. See the Churchill War Rooms..they were fascinating!

Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Archr1066
Dothan, AL, USA
Apr 14, 2013

Rating the Thistle Marble Arch Hotel

Our stay at the Thistle Marble Arch in March was great. The hotel was very clean and well maintained. The staff could not have been better. We would certainly stay their again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ek Sultan
USA
Apr 13, 2013

Comfort (not luxury) and excellent location

please get me well, this hotel is excellent value because its very comfortable and very well located it has minuses like strange shower/water separator, hard-to-open windows and lack of polished stylish look but all little details -room size, light/hairdryer outlets, cosmetics, safe, bed linen- all good very comfy beds, spent all day in room :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Oxford street, Marble Arch

Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jobone2
Business
Hong Kong
Mar 15, 2013

3* Hotel @ London 4* Prices

Firstly, do not be fooled by the guarantee that Thistle have on their website: "Best price guarantee, you won't find us cheaper anywhere else". Every site that I looked at were cheaper, I booked with e-bookers. My colleagues and I booked a total of four bedrooms, all were separate bookings. One of them who is also a close friend and I travelled to London together by train arriving at the hotel just prior to 11am. They had one room which he got and so was handy for me to leave my bag in until my own room was ready. We had to wait in the foyer for a colleague who was 15 minutes away, to arrive. We decided to have a coffee, upon looking at a price of £4.50 + 12.5% service charge for a cappuccino we decided not to and a small cake was nuts in price. The hotel could learn from the principle that a smaller percentage profit is better than a larger percentage profit of nothing! As a marketing man I immediately carried out research through observation, only one couple were drinking a beverage out of about 20 occupied tables around the foyer, a story in itself! This actually had the effect on us that we did not even bother to look at the menu for the hotel restaurant for our evening meal. We did however have one drink in the bar that evening and having been charged 12.5% service charge for ordering at the counter which came to just over £4 for 2 minutes work, one wonders if the bar staff really are being paid £120 per hour? This is a Ryanair practice, the price you see is not the price you pay! Legislation needs to be brought in to outlaw this type of fraud as is common practice in large cities. My bedroom was very small, the quality of the TV was just about fair enough, and the bathroom could do with updating the decor. However, the shower was fantastic and the free hi-speed wifi is excellent. Pity the shampoo and shower gel were of a very standard quality. (The wifi would want to be free, having paid €185.00 for room only). The bed and aircon were also fantastic. As we were all on a room only basis, we headed out the door and across Oxford street, to North Audley street for breakfast, a 3 minute walk. There are lots of restaurants to choose from and full breakfast was good value at £7.00. When booking my room, and having looked at several sites, it appeared that breakfast at this hotel is in the region of £20. All of the staff that we met at the hotel were excellent. The main asset that this hotel has is its location. I would recommend this hotel, purely on location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast on Audley Street, hotel is robbery and remember the 12.5% service charge!

Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Esmet
Giza,Egypt
Mar 13, 2013

Shoppers street

It s location is perfect ,comfort hotel with helpful staff and free wi fi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Oxford street

Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Serbese
Sakarya, Turkey
Feb 27, 2013

Overall Very Impressed..!

Great location, good breakfast and big rooms. Will come again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pete B
Business
Dorset
Feb 20, 2013

good location

Great location for shops ,we found the food and service good in the restaurant in the evening,try the olive starter if you are hungry !! i found service charge was added to all items including the bar although not ticked on the signed for bill,the bed room only had a bath with shower over,no shower cubical room which i would have thought an executive room would have had !tiles grout needed a good clean.only found out that we had a lounge to use in the executive rooms when it was to late,but was not told so failed to have time to try it .Breakfast i think was a bit overpriced at £12.00 and £17.00 if not pre booked and an extra cost on top for egg Benedict etc,found the buffet cooked food to be cold and bacon hard.The breakfast experience was far to busy with long queue's it would be better to have a booked time slot as the seating was limited due to the size of the restaurant. If i stayed again the coffee bar would be fine for a light breakfast and not so busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Big Hotel right in the center.

Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JoTony
Kent, UK
Feb 12, 2013

Great Location, Stylish, Friendly Staff

Fabulous 1920's style, great location on doorstep of Marble Arch Underground Station. We arrived on a very busy Saturday with a Wedding Reception in progress but staff were very friendly and helpful. Good standard of decor and cleanliness in the room. Will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wexman
Wexford
Jan 16, 2013

Mr. John

Exellent Location, Rooms , bed and Shower exellent, needs new windows for sound transfewr and heat loss, check in and out was first class. Bar meals were very slow and was not good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MDDEM
Washingotn, DC
Jan 16, 2013

Good value in the West End

After a long search for a reasonably priced hotel, I found a deal advertised for the Thistle in Marble Arch. While we certainly did not have the best room in the hotel for the price we paid, we got a very roomy and comfortable space. It felt a little outdated, maybe in need of a little refresh but it was adequately clean and nice a quiet. Perfect price and location for these tourists!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Portman for a nice breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice.

Back to menu Return to top