$208 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Thistle Marble Arch

4 stars
View map of Bryanston Street,, Marble Arch, London, W1H 7EH

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Thistle Marble Arch

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HUMOUD
Business
Kuwait
Jul 3, 2013

evre thng is good

Location of the very excellent beginning of Oxford Street shopping and nearby of Allbeckadley for Nightlife and bars downright accommodation for it again Thanks to everyone who nominated me hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Agnes from HK
Business
San Francisco, California
Jun 27, 2013

Tour of the UK

We stayed in the Thistle twice on this trip. On the first stay, check in was slow, we asked for a double bed but got to twins, and the bathroom didn't work well. On our second stay the check in went well and the staff was very helpful. The room was also much better. The location is great for tourists, there are good reasonably priced restaurants in the area, and the price is okay for London.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About four blocks away there is a street with 6-8 good small restaurants (ask for directions to Cote). Many of them have a reduce price menu if seated before 7 PM.

Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
City specialist
Business
Preston England
Jun 25, 2013

Perfect location, tired rooms

Helpful friendly check-in staff in this very large hotel just off Oxford street between Marble Arch and Bond street tube stations. Bathrooms clean and fairly modern, rest of the room quite tired. Small but we expected this. Ok for quick trip to a show or shopping. Would use again if price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pub very close by serves good value food from 12 til late

Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sales woman
Business
Northern Ireland
May 24, 2013

Disappointing

Very busy reception both checkin and checkout. Got good deal via E Bookers but paid to "upgrade" in order to check in early Shower door and shower tray filthy. Shower not powerful and water luke warm. Furniture tired. Nail polish stains on coffee table. Air con noisy and rattled all night. As cost of upgrade £70 would have expected water in room. Sat in coffee lunch for 20 mins at lunchtime waiting to be served. Left hungry as had meeting to attend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lolo Ali
Business
qatar
May 16, 2013

training staff

all the staff they don't know any thing even there managers except one Indian manger I met him one time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eleven xmas
Business
athens
May 3, 2013

great location

stayed a night in a twin room as the dbs were fully booked. clean spacious and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike the European Trvlr
Business
Baltimore, Maryland, U.S.A.
May 1, 2013

Great Hotel, If You Have Realistic Expectations

We stayed at the Thistle Marble Arch from April 12-15, 2013. PLUSES - Location - Right next to Oxford Street and the Marble Arch tube station. This has to be one of the best locations in London. Right on Main Street! The front desk - Our flight arrived at 6 a.m., so we tried to check in at 9 a.m. They worked with us and found us a room, even at that early hour. That was much appreciated. Value - We were very happy with the value. When you consider the location and the price, its hard to beat the value. MINUSES - Two minor ones. Furnishing and Carpets - The hotel needs an update. There was a leak in the cieling outside of our room that you could tell had been there for awhile. The furnishings in the room could also use an update. TV - The hotel has like 10 Arab channels. That's ok, but can we get at least one American one? I don't think that's asking too much. In summary, It not the Ritz, but we weren't looking for the Ritz.It's more like the Hampton Inn. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to a friend, and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

This doesn't really relate to the hotel, but we got a London Pass for sightseeing. It worked out great for us. See the Churchill War Rooms..they were fascinating!

Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Archr1066
Business
Dothan, AL, USA
Apr 14, 2013

Rating the Thistle Marble Arch Hotel

Our stay at the Thistle Marble Arch in March was great. The hotel was very clean and well maintained. The staff could not have been better. We would certainly stay their again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ek Sultan
Business
USA
Apr 13, 2013

Comfort (not luxury) and excellent location

please get me well, this hotel is excellent value because its very comfortable and very well located it has minuses like strange shower/water separator, hard-to-open windows and lack of polished stylish look but all little details -room size, light/hairdryer outlets, cosmetics, safe, bed linen- all good very comfy beds, spent all day in room :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Oxford street, Marble Arch

Review of Thistle Marble Arch

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jobone2
Business
Hong Kong
Mar 15, 2013

3* Hotel @ London 4* Prices

Firstly, do not be fooled by the guarantee that Thistle have on their website: "Best price guarantee, you won't find us cheaper anywhere else". Every site that I looked at were cheaper, I booked with e-bookers. My colleagues and I booked a total of four bedrooms, all were separate bookings. One of them who is also a close friend and I travelled to London together by train arriving at the hotel just prior to 11am. They had one room which he got and so was handy for me to leave my bag in until my own room was ready. We had to wait in the foyer for a colleague who was 15 minutes away, to arrive. We decided to have a coffee, upon looking at a price of £4.50 + 12.5% service charge for a cappuccino we decided not to and a small cake was nuts in price. The hotel could learn from the principle that a smaller percentage profit is better than a larger percentage profit of nothing! As a marketing man I immediately carried out research through observation, only one couple were drinking a beverage out of about 20 occupied tables around the foyer, a story in itself! This actually had the effect on us that we did not even bother to look at the menu for the hotel restaurant for our evening meal. We did however have one drink in the bar that evening and having been charged 12.5% service charge for ordering at the counter which came to just over £4 for 2 minutes work, one wonders if the bar staff really are being paid £120 per hour? This is a Ryanair practice, the price you see is not the price you pay! Legislation needs to be brought in to outlaw this type of fraud as is common practice in large cities. My bedroom was very small, the quality of the TV was just about fair enough, and the bathroom could do with updating the decor. However, the shower was fantastic and the free hi-speed wifi is excellent. Pity the shampoo and shower gel were of a very standard quality. (The wifi would want to be free, having paid €185.00 for room only). The bed and aircon were also fantastic. As we were all on a room only basis, we headed out the door and across Oxford street, to North Audley street for breakfast, a 3 minute walk. There are lots of restaurants to choose from and full breakfast was good value at £7.00. When booking my room, and having looked at several sites, it appeared that breakfast at this hotel is in the region of £20. All of the staff that we met at the hotel were excellent. The main asset that this hotel has is its location. I would recommend this hotel, purely on location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast on Audley Street, hotel is robbery and remember the 12.5% service charge!

Back to menu Return to top