$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Thistle Kensington Gardens

4 stars
View map of 104 Bayswater Road, London, W2 3HL

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Thistle Kensington Gardens

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Al the Art Guy
Business
Medina, Texas
Oct 30, 2012

Perfect location

I had a great experience at the Thistle Kensington Gardens - I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to visit the westend. It was close enough to Paddington Station to walk in about 15 minutes with luggage. The staff was accomidating allowing me to check into my room early - I was wiped -out and needeed to shower and rest before starting my sight seeing. I had a room overlooking Kensington Gardens - a fantastic view of the park and skyline beyond. Cleaning staff did a great job of tidying up and upper staff followed up to make sure the room was cleaned to my satisfaction. Perfect first visit to London

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Portabello Road antique shopping - especially Chloe Alberry shop. It has a nice mix of contemporary hardware and vintage objects. The staff was very accomidating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ioan
Business
Athens, Greec
Dec 7, 2012

3 days in London

Very good value for money,good location,nice view, the only thing missing,free wi-fi access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JulieRC.
Business
Aviano, Italy
Dec 13, 2012

Loved our stay!

The facilities were clean and beautifully decorated for the holidays. The location was great. Just a few minutes walk to the Queensway tube station and situated directly above a gas station/food store with fresh fruit, vegetables, sandwiches, bakery items, and much more. We walked Hyde Park every morning. My only issue was the added expenses of breakfast (10 GBP per person) and parking (24 GBP per 12-24 hours). I would recommend this hotel to those who are not worried about cost of stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anne R
Business
Lisbon, Portugal
Feb 19, 2013

Weekend getaway

Very good location and overall pleasant, clean premises. Only drawback is the fact that there is a petrol station underneath the hotel building, which isn't very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NaiNai
Business
Manchester, UK
Feb 26, 2013

Great Hotel, Great Location

Would definitely recommend this hotel for stays in the capital. It's easy to get to central London as it's on a few stops on the tube which is only a few minutes walk away. The staff we encountered were all very friendly and helpful. The double room was very small, but the less time spent in the room the better eh!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

First Floor Restaurant, Portobello Road. A gorgeous hidden treasure!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kmacke200
Business
Scotland
Feb 28, 2013

Lovely - on the inside.

We spent 4 days at the this hotel, it was lovely. The only drawbacks were that the corridors perhaps were a little small, my boyfriend could touch the ceiling with his head! Also the outside of the building doesn't look much like an hotel - the petrol station really ruins it. The room service was very expensive though - £5 tray charge?? Apart from that - great service, lovely, clean room with an exceptional view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The concierge gives you a map with 20% off ots of attractions! Make sure you use it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cole
Business
Dublin Irl
Mar 7, 2013

London overnight

Friendliest staff; smallish but very comfortable room; excellent location for central London; VG value . Breakfast was remarkablygood and we ahve recommended this hotel to friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two Days in FL
Business
Lisbon, Portugal
Feb 27, 2013

Cozy

Incredible location, next restaurants, supermarkets, shopping center and opposite to the footpath through hyde park to regent street. Nice room (not very big), nice staff, excellent cleanliness. One suggestion - lifts should be segmented to the different floors, otherwise it takes too long to go up or down (walking down 9 floors with hand luggage and ruck sack is quite uncomfortable).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hung Tao

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dnyc
Business
CT
Mar 13, 2013

Good But Not Great

The hotel staff was top notch and extremely helpful. All things pertaining to them is what you would hope when going to London your first time. My main complaint with the room was the cleanliness of it. Though housekeeping came and cleaned the room daily, the carpet had stains all over and clearly needed to be cleaned with something more than a vacuum. Also the bedsheets, in particular the pillow covers, were not the cleanest looking either. However, the location was great, and if you know what to expect concerning the size of London hotel rooms, the size is not a big deal but definitely not what your use too if you stay at a 4 star hotel in America.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

A nice thing about this hotel is that it is close to Kensington Palace, Kensington Gardens, Royal Albert Hall, and four great museums are not too far away: British Museum, Victoria and Albert Museum, Natural History Museum, and the Science Museum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anloui
Business
Rotherham
Mar 19, 2013

perfect getaway

we booked this hotel for my birthday weekend celebration in London, on arrival the staff were really friendly, we went up to our room which although it was small it served for purpose, it was next to kensingtom garden and with in walking distance to surrounding areas, great value for money but punfortunatly no breakfast included, this was £10 extra per person per day, no thanks, can get cheaper elsewhere, would definatly recommend and go again :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

almost everything in london is a clost to this hotel if you are prepared to walk, took us 1hr15mins to walk to the London eye

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top