$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Thistle Kensington Gardens

4 stars
104 Bayswater Road, London, W2 3HL
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
42 reviews
Excelente hotel mera central line and all conections

Excelent hotel, excelent staff. Very well located, near queensway station (central line and all... See full review

  • Matias.Castellanos
  • Aug 24, 2014
Great

I was very pleased with the hotel. The staff was very helpful. The breakfast was very good. The... See full review

  • BILLC239485
  • May 22, 2014
Posh hotel with free Wi-Fi near the lush Kensington Gardens

A contemporary hotel close to lush London parks yet within convenient distance of top local attractions, Thistle Kensington Gardens makes for an ideal starting point for exploring the heritage-rich England capital. Tourists staying at this posh retreat wander around Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park, admire the cityscape aboard London Eye and view collections at Tower of London and Victoria and Albert Museum.

 

Guests have restful sleep at the comfortably appointed accommodations after a long day touring around the city.  Corporate visitors can hold meetings at the function rooms that can hold up to 45 people. This stylish property features the on-site The Brasserie that serves tasty meals and refreshing drinks. Parking (fees apply) and hotel-wide Wi-Fi access are also offered for a more convenient stay.

3 Reasons To Stay
  • Easy access to Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park
  • Free unlimited Wi-Fi access
  • Three meeting rooms and an on-site restaurant
Thistle Kensington Gardens Rooms

Thistle Kensington Gardens provides 175 rooms and suites appointed with modern amenities, coffee- and tea-making facilities, direct-dial telephone, flat-screen TV, iron/board, hairdryer, safe deposit box, work desk and en suite bathroom. Room service and accessible units are available.

Things To Do
  • Kensington Gardens (0.5 km/0.3 mi)
  • Hyde Park (1.3 km/0.8 mi)
  • Victoria and Albert Museum (1.7 km/1.1 mi)
  • Madame Tussauds London (2.4 km/1.5 mi)
  • Buckingham Palace (3.0 km/1.9 mi)
  • Trafalgar Square (3.8 km/2.4 mi)
  • Westminster Abbey (4.1 km/2.6 mi)
  • Palace of Westminster/Big Ben (4.3 km/2.7 mi)
  • London Eye (4.5 km/2.8 mi)
  • Tate Modern, London (5.8 km/3.6 mi)
  • Tower of London (7.4 km/4.6 mi)

Hotel Map

51.5105 -0.184
Area served
Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park.
Nearby airports
London Heathrow.
Area description
Recently refurbished to the highest standards, Thistle Kensington Gardens has the best of London right on the doorstep. Hyde Park is literally across the road from the hotel, with the West End shops and theatres just 15 minutes' walk or a short cab ride away. Close to the hotel is Kensington Palace, which was home to Diana, Princess of Wales, and the famous Gardens that give us our name.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Thistle Kensington Gardens also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Thistle Kensington Gardens Rooms

Standard Twin
Our Standard Twin rooms have everything you need for a relaxed and comfortable stay. Quiet, spacious, with two single beds and decorated in a warm colour palette, they are a welcome sight for any traveller. And when you've finished checking your emails or surfing the net via our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection, you can relax in the ensuite bathroom with your complimentary toiletries. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Radio Room Safe Work Desk
Deluxe Double With View
All the comforts and amenities of our Standard bedrooms, and then some. Recently refurbished with a simpler, more contemporary colour palette, complemented by bold, vibrant fabrics, our Deluxe Double rooms with fantastic views overlooking Hyde Park, offer a large work desk and a state of the art LCD TVs as well as wireless broadband connection giving you access to your emails and the internet. Facilities Available: Bathrobes BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Radio Room Safe Work Desk
Deluxe Double
All the comforts and amenities of our Standard bedrooms, and then some. Recently refurbished with a simpler, more contemporary colour palette, complemented by bold, vibrant fabrics, our Deluxe Double rooms offer a large work desk and a state of the art LCD TVs as well as wireless broadband connection giving you access to your emails and the internet. Facilities Available: Bathrobes BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Radio Room Safe Work Desk
Deluxe Twin
All the comforts and amenities of our Standard bedrooms, and then some. Recently refurbished with a simpler, more contemporary colour palette, complemented by bold, vibrant fabrics, our Deluxe Twin rooms offer a large work desk, state of the art LCD TV and wireless broadband connection giving you access to your emails and the internet. Facilities Available: Bathrobes BT Openzone Wi-Fi (chargeable) Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV with Freeview Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Larger Room Radio Room Safe Work Desk
Family Room (Sleeps 3)
You may not be travelling light these days, but with our Family rooms, you can still stay in comfort. All out rooms have a double bed with a roll away bed. Our rooms are also equipped with a well-appointed ensuite bathroom, LCD TV, in-room safe and BT Openzone wireless broadband connection. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Radio Room Safe Work Desk
Executive King
When you fancy a real treat our Executive King rooms offer the perfect retreat at the end of a hectic day. Recently refurbished to reflect a more contemporary look, complemented by bold, vibrant fabrics, they're larger than our Standard rooms, providing space for a king-size bed and a large work desk. All rooms boast an LCD TV and complimentary toiletries and bathrobes. Plus you'll have wi-fi broadband internet access and an in-room safe to store your valuables. Facilities Available: Bathrobes BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board King Sized Bed Larger Room Radio Room Safe Small Bottle Mineral Water Work Desk
Standard Double
Our Standard rooms have everything you need for a relaxed and comfortable stay. Quiet, spacious and decorated in a warm colour palette, they are a welcome sight for any traveller. Boasting LCD TV, an in-room safe and wireless broadband connection giving you access to your emails and the internet, our Standard Doubles are perfect for business or leisure. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Radio Room Safe Work Desk

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Queensway: 0.2 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.4 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.8 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.9 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.9 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1 mi
  • Queensway: 0.2 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.4 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.8 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.9 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.9 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1 mi
  • Science Museum London: 1 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 1 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 1.1 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 1.1 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.1 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 1.1 mi
  • National Art Library: 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.3 mi
  • Portobello Market: 1.3 mi
  • Maida Vale: 1.3 mi
  • Portobello Road: 1.3 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 1.3 mi
  • Selfridges: 1.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.4 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 1.5 mi
  • London Business School: 1.5 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 1.5 mi
  • Bond Street London: 1.5 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.5 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 1.5 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.6 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Westfield Shopping Centre : 1.6 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 1.7 mi
  • Chelsea: 1.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our largest function, the Park & Porchester Room, seats up to 45 people theatre-style, making it suitable for presentations and larger meetings, with views over Kensington Gardens. We have a further room suitable for board and team meetings, training sessions, presentations, interviews and private dining. Large windows let in lots of natural light, helping to keep everyone feeling fresh - and superb views over Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens make this a wonderful venue fir a wedding reception. All our meeting rooms come fully equipped with Air-conditioning LCD projector and screen BT Openzone wireless internet access

Dining

The Brasserie
The Brasserie offers all your food and drink requirement in one location. Whether you are looking for a ideal place to friends and colleagues, relax after work or for a pre-theatre drink. Alternatively, you can dine in confort and choose from an enticing menu and wine list.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Thistle Kensington Gardens

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
No Nickname Available
London, England
Oct 18, 2011

Perfect Night Away

The hotel was located close to the tube and buss lines. Lots of great places to eat nearby. The staff was very friendly and professional. I do not have any negative comments about our expereince with this hotel. It was as close to perfect as it could be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Al the Art Guy
Medina, Texas
Oct 30, 2012

Perfect location

I had a great experience at the Thistle Kensington Gardens - I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to visit the westend. It was close enough to Paddington Station to walk in about 15 minutes with luggage. The staff was accomidating allowing me to check into my room early - I was wiped -out and needeed to shower and rest before starting my sight seeing. I had a room overlooking Kensington Gardens - a fantastic view of the park and skyline beyond. Cleaning staff did a great job of tidying up and upper staff followed up to make sure the room was cleaned to my satisfaction. Perfect first visit to London

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Portabello Road antique shopping - especially Chloe Alberry shop. It has a nice mix of contemporary hardware and vintage objects. The staff was very accomidating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geo.
Scotland
Sep 24, 2013

Relaxing Weekend

Had an enjoyable 2 night stay. Location perfect, Will use hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two Days in FL
Lisbon, Portugal
Feb 27, 2013

Cozy

Incredible location, next restaurants, supermarkets, shopping center and opposite to the footpath through hyde park to regent street. Nice room (not very big), nice staff, excellent cleanliness. One suggestion - lifts should be segmented to the different floors, otherwise it takes too long to go up or down (walking down 9 floors with hand luggage and ruck sack is quite uncomfortable).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hung Tao

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gets around and around
MKE, WI
Oct 2, 2012

Conveniently located

Overall a very good experience. The only negative is the extra charge for internet usage. Come on people it is the 21st century, bandwidth does not cost that much and provides your guests many benefits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Best tube stop is Queensway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MZ the Solo Traveler
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 6, 2014

Lovely hotel, nice location

What a fantastic time! Highly recommend the hotel, especially for a London novice like myself. Quite comfortable with state of the art bathrooms, and helpful staff. What a great value. I loved my stay. And the location is perfect--right across from Kensington Gardens. It's close to public transportation--several city bus lines stop right in front of the hotel. (And a couple of tour bus lines, too.) And it's just a short walk to the Central and District Tube stops. If I had to come up with one criticism, it's that the in-room entertainment was lacking. Not a big deal, but it would have been nice to relax in the room at night watching a movie. (Not be limited to local TV.) One last tidbit for Peter Pan fans -- if you're considering this hotel, you probably already know about the Peter Pan statue in Kensington Gardens. But don't miss the chance to stroll by author JM Barrie's house... It's one block east, at the corner of Bayswater & Leinster Terrace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you love ice cream, you will absolutely die for Fenton's ice cream shop!! (So much better than anything we have here in The US.) It's on Bayswater road, by the Queensway tube stop. Do not miss it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anloui
Rotherham
Mar 19, 2013

perfect getaway

we booked this hotel for my birthday weekend celebration in London, on arrival the staff were really friendly, we went up to our room which although it was small it served for purpose, it was next to kensingtom garden and with in walking distance to surrounding areas, great value for money but punfortunatly no breakfast included, this was £10 extra per person per day, no thanks, can get cheaper elsewhere, would definatly recommend and go again :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

almost everything in london is a clost to this hotel if you are prepared to walk, took us 1hr15mins to walk to the London eye

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runner99
Denver, Colorado
May 19, 2013

Good for London

Great location, two tube stations and bus stop immediately available. If you like to run this is the best location you can ask for. 30 feet from Hyde Park/Kensington Gardens and short run to Knotting Hill and Regents Park. Bicycle station 100 feet from front door. Rent bikes for the day for only 2 pounds. Staff was excellent. Room was London style room, small but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Puchkat
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 29, 2013

Great Location, New facilities, Small Basic Rooms

The Thistle is a great hotel to stay in if you want to be in the center of London (zone 1 Queensway tube stop) and don't plan to be in the room most of the time (very small, not suitable for big suitcases...). On the up side- the rooms are new which is a big thing in London. Shower pressure was very low, probably the worst thing I can say about the room. Staff is super nice and helpful. Breakfast is available upon request.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anne R
Lisbon, Portugal
Feb 19, 2013

Weekend getaway

Very good location and overall pleasant, clean premises. Only drawback is the fact that there is a petrol station underneath the hotel building, which isn't very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search