$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 24, 2014

Thistle Kensington Gardens

4 stars
104 Bayswater Road, London, W2 3HL
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
34 reviews
Awesome!

Great location. Close enough to sites and attractions but far enough away from all the crowdedness. See full review

  • KirstenJ
  • May 22, 2013
Great location for getting around London.

Everyone was very friendly and polite and our room was upgraded and featured a King size bed. Very... See full review

  • Donni
  • Feb 8, 2013
Recently refurbished to the highest standards, Thistle Kensington Gardens has the best of London right on the doorstep. Hyde Park is literally across the road from the hotel, with the West End shops and theatres just 15 minutes' walk or a short cab ride away. Close to the hotel is Kensington Palace, which was home to Diana, Princess of Wales, and the famous Gardens that give us our name. Thistle Kensington Gardens has 175 rooms, including spacious executive bedrooms offering wonderful views over Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens. We also have function rooms, the largest seating 45 people theatre-style, suitable for any occasion from business meetings to wedding receptions. For guests travelling by car, we have on-site parking available; London Paddington mainline station is less than a mile away, while Queensway and Lancaster Gate tube stations are both within a short walk. The Thistle Aberdeen Altens is a non-smoking hotel

Thistle Kensington Gardens Rooms

Standard Twin
Our Standard Twin rooms have everything you need for a relaxed and comfortable stay. Quiet, spacious, with two single beds and decorated in a warm colour palette, they are a welcome sight for any traveller. And when you've finished checking your emails or surfing the net via our BT Openzone wireless broadband connection, you can relax in the ensuite bathroom with your complimentary toiletries. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Radio Room Safe Work Desk
Deluxe Double With View
All the comforts and amenities of our Standard bedrooms, and then some. Recently refurbished with a simpler, more contemporary colour palette, complemented by bold, vibrant fabrics, our Deluxe Double rooms with fantastic views overlooking Hyde Park, offer a large work desk and a state of the art LCD TVs as well as wireless broadband connection giving you access to your emails and the internet. Facilities Available: Bathrobes BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Radio Room Safe Work Desk
Deluxe Double
All the comforts and amenities of our Standard bedrooms, and then some. Recently refurbished with a simpler, more contemporary colour palette, complemented by bold, vibrant fabrics, our Deluxe Double rooms offer a large work desk and a state of the art LCD TVs as well as wireless broadband connection giving you access to your emails and the internet. Facilities Available: Bathrobes BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Radio Room Safe Work Desk
Deluxe Twin
All the comforts and amenities of our Standard bedrooms, and then some. Recently refurbished with a simpler, more contemporary colour palette, complemented by bold, vibrant fabrics, our Deluxe Twin rooms offer a large work desk, state of the art LCD TV and wireless broadband connection giving you access to your emails and the internet. Facilities Available: Bathrobes BT Openzone Wi-Fi (chargeable) Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV with Freeview Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Larger Room Radio Room Safe Work Desk
Family Room (Sleeps 3)
You may not be travelling light these days, but with our Family rooms, you can still stay in comfort. All out rooms have a double bed with a roll away bed. Our rooms are also equipped with a well-appointed ensuite bathroom, LCD TV, in-room safe and BT Openzone wireless broadband connection. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Radio Room Safe Work Desk
Executive King
When you fancy a real treat our Executive King rooms offer the perfect retreat at the end of a hectic day. Recently refurbished to reflect a more contemporary look, complemented by bold, vibrant fabrics, they're larger than our Standard rooms, providing space for a king-size bed and a large work desk. All rooms boast an LCD TV and complimentary toiletries and bathrobes. Plus you'll have wi-fi broadband internet access and an in-room safe to store your valuables. Facilities Available: Bathrobes BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board King Sized Bed Larger Room Radio Room Safe Small Bottle Mineral Water Work Desk
Standard Double
Our Standard rooms have everything you need for a relaxed and comfortable stay. Quiet, spacious and decorated in a warm colour palette, they are a welcome sight for any traveller. Boasting LCD TV, an in-room safe and wireless broadband connection giving you access to your emails and the internet, our Standard Doubles are perfect for business or leisure. Facilities Available: BT Openzone Wi-Fi Coffee and Tea Making Facilities Complimentary Toiletries Direct Dial Telephone Flat Screen LCD TV With Free View Hairdryer Iron & Ironing Board Radio Room Safe Work Desk

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Thistle Kensington Gardens also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

51.5105 -0.184
Area served
Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park.
Nearby airports
London Heathrow.
Area description
Recently refurbished to the highest standards, Thistle Kensington Gardens has the best of London right on the doorstep. Hyde Park is literally across the road from the hotel, with the West End shops and theatres just 15 minutes' walk or a short cab ride away. Close to the hotel is Kensington Palace, which was home to Diana, Princess of Wales, and the famous Gardens that give us our name.

Nearby points of interest

  • Queensway: 0.2 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.4 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.8 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.9 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.9 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1 mi
  • Queensway: 0.2 mi
  • Lancaster Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Kensington Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Whiteleys Shopping Centre : 0.4 mi
  • Kensington Palace: 0.5 mi
  • Paddington Station: 0.6 mi
  • Albert Memorial : 0.6 mi
  • High Street Kensington: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Albert Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Polish Institute and Sikorski Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Royal College of Music Archives and Museum of Instruments: 0.8 mi
  • City of Westminster: 0.9 mi
  • Imperial College London: 0.9 mi
  • Notting Hill: 1 mi
  • Hyde Park: 1 mi
  • Science Museum London: 1 mi
  • Showroom Gallery: 1 mi
  • Baden-Powell House Exhibition: 1.1 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Gloucester Road: 1.1 mi
  • Marble Arch: 1.1 mi
  • Victoria and Albert Museum: 1.1 mi
  • National Art Library: 1.1 mi
  • Harrods: 1.2 mi
  • Knightsbridge: 1.2 mi
  • Park Lane: 1.3 mi
  • Portobello Market: 1.3 mi
  • Maida Vale: 1.3 mi
  • Portobello Road: 1.3 mi
  • Lords Cricket Ground: 1.3 mi
  • Selfridges: 1.4 mi
  • Baker Street: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Corner: 1.4 mi
  • Sherlock Holmes Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Wallace Collection: 1.5 mi
  • London Business School: 1.5 mi
  • Earls Court Exhibition Centre: 1.5 mi
  • Bond Street London: 1.5 mi
  • Wellington Arch: 1.5 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 1.5 mi
  • Cadogan Hall: 1.6 mi
  • Handel House Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Westfield Shopping Centre : 1.6 mi
  • Royal Academy of Music: 1.7 mi
  • Chelsea: 1.7 mi

Dining

The Brasserie
The Brasserie offers all your food and drink requirement in one location. Whether you are looking for a ideal place to friends and colleagues, relax after work or for a pre-theatre drink. Alternatively, you can dine in confort and choose from an enticing menu and wine list.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our largest function, the Park & Porchester Room, seats up to 45 people theatre-style, making it suitable for presentations and larger meetings, with views over Kensington Gardens. We have a further room suitable for board and team meetings, training sessions, presentations, interviews and private dining. Large windows let in lots of natural light, helping to keep everyone feeling fresh - and superb views over Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens make this a wonderful venue fir a wedding reception. All our meeting rooms come fully equipped with Air-conditioning LCD projector and screen BT Openzone wireless internet access

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Thistle Kensington Gardens

Overall score

3.9 / 5
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

5
Cbaum3
London, England
Jun 27, 2012

Great location

Comfortable room, great location! Across the street from Hyde Park

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

5
KirstenJ
Dallas, TX, USA
May 22, 2013

Awesome!

Great location. Close enough to sites and attractions but far enough away from all the crowdedness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

5
Cbaum3
London, England
Jun 27, 2012

Great location

Comfortable room, great location! Across the street from Hyde Park

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

5
Frequent McFlier
Cork, Ireland
May 29, 2012

Perfect spot for long weekend

The location is super, can't fault it one bit. Close to the tube and overlooking Kensington Gardens. A bit of street noise from cars, but a quiet area overall. Staff were very friendly, beds very comfortable, and overall good hotel, would certainly recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great area for ethnic foods, we had Lebanese and Greek food just minutes away.

Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

5
Donni
Southampton
Feb 8, 2013

Great location for getting around London.

Everyone was very friendly and polite and our room was upgraded and featured a King size bed. Very comfortable room and suited our purposes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go to Leicester Square for good priced theatre tickets if you want them at short notice.

Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

5
Happy Pair
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 28, 2011

1st time to London

What a lovely hotel! We expected that our room would be petite in size b/c it is the European way. We had a double bed and loved our room. So modern and clean! Great tub for soaking weary walking muscles. Brilliant white linens, hot pot for tea and coffee, great view. (If you are an American who has an extra large car and thinks your bedroom needs to be as big as an apartment you are going to whine... but good luck fitting into the toilets in any restaurant, bar or public facility in this city. ) We loved this location! The shoppette located next to the hotel had little sandwiches and salads that we took to Hyde Park, across the street, for lovely little meals. Very pleasant staff- very prompt, helpful and friendly. We loved our stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

5
Carltonvan
PR
Aug 7, 2012

London 2012

Excellent location!!! Maids kept room very clean. Friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

5
No Nickname Available
London, England
Oct 18, 2011

Perfect Night Away

The hotel was located close to the tube and buss lines. Lots of great places to eat nearby. The staff was very friendly and professional. I do not have any negative comments about our expereince with this hotel. It was as close to perfect as it could be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

4
Al the Art Guy
Medina, Texas
Oct 30, 2012

Perfect location

I had a great experience at the Thistle Kensington Gardens - I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to visit the westend. It was close enough to Paddington Station to walk in about 15 minutes with luggage. The staff was accomidating allowing me to check into my room early - I was wiped -out and needeed to shower and rest before starting my sight seeing. I had a room overlooking Kensington Gardens - a fantastic view of the park and skyline beyond. Cleaning staff did a great job of tidying up and upper staff followed up to make sure the room was cleaned to my satisfaction. Perfect first visit to London

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Portabello Road antique shopping - especially Chloe Alberry shop. It has a nice mix of contemporary hardware and vintage objects. The staff was very accomidating.

Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

4
Geo.
Scotland
Sep 24, 2013

Relaxing Weekend

Had an enjoyable 2 night stay. Location perfect, Will use hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Thistle Kensington Gardens

Reviewer score

4
Two Days in FL
Lisbon, Portugal
Feb 27, 2013

Cozy

Incredible location, next restaurants, supermarkets, shopping center and opposite to the footpath through hyde park to regent street. Nice room (not very big), nice staff, excellent cleanliness. One suggestion - lifts should be segmented to the different floors, otherwise it takes too long to go up or down (walking down 9 floors with hand luggage and ruck sack is quite uncomfortable).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hung Tao

Back to menu Return to top